The Watch Thread - Part 3

voltshin

will this confirm your next purchase?

one of the reason why i bought it is because of this picture. look very nice with some long sleeves t shirt.

Rolex+Explorer+1.jpg

yattokame

nice!

I had a similar encounter.
I thought I wanted the 116520 but turns out it's not for me; then I almost gave up on the daytona until one day I saw one of those TV ads with this guy in a long sleeved shirt and a TT white face daytona. The same day I went and tried one; seems to match me well, and bought it on the spot :)

The explorer I is a very neat and clean piece, but do try it physically and see if it matches your skin tone, etc.

All the best!!!

dominicwor2

nice!

I thought I wanted the 116520 but turns out it's not for me; then I almost gave up on the daytona until one day I saw one of those TV ads with this guy in a long sleeved shirt and a TT white face daytona. The same day I went and tried one; seems to match me well, and bought it on the spot :)

The explorer I is a very neat and clean piece, but do try it physically and see if it matches your skin tone, etc.

All the best!!!

the main particular reason why i got my eyes on & eventually hooted an exp I was purely due to kimura's endorsement in love generation :s22: ok pretty silly.

siam first before kohchris comes in :s13:

billovee

one of the reason why i bought it is because of this picture. look very nice with some long sleeves t shirt.

Rolex+Explorer+1.jpg

strangely, after i got explorer 2, i feel like i prefer explorer 1 LOL.

cowed77

If I don't like the numbers, and prefer just batons/markers, I will hv to go for the datejust issit?

Myst90

Hi, I know this is abit of a stupid qns, but may I ask if the watches of switzerland outlet in tampines is reliable? :o:o
TIA.

iamvintage

Hi, I know this is abit of a stupid qns, but may I ask if the watches of switzerland outlet in tampines is reliable? :o:o
TIA.

Not a stupid qn lah. Don't see why they're not reliable. One of the bigger watch chains around. Quite a good and wide selection of watches too. Ask them if they've got any credit card promos, can save quite a bit at times

Pagani_Z0nda

It adds confidence and determination.

Rolex+Explorer+1.jpg
Swee swee pic. It oozes class......
I don't need any more poison to confirm my next purchase :s13:

Pagani_Z0nda how? :s13::s13:
Kena poison liao..... the only antidote is to hoot it.
nice!

All the best!!!
The only thing i yet to do is TRY on my hand...
the main particular reason why i got my eyes on & eventually hooted an exp I was purely due to kimura's endorsement in love generation :s22: ok pretty silly.

siam first before kohchris comes in :s13:
Seems alot of Exp 1 fans....
strangely, after i got explorer 2, i feel like i prefer explorer 1 LOL.
The exp II is looks too 'complicated' for me... the numberings on the bezel. I like SIMPLE.

billovee

Swee swee pic. It oozes class......

Kena poison liao..... the only antidote is to hoot it.

The only thing i yet to do is TRY on my hand...

Seems alot of Exp 1 fans....

The exp II is looks too 'complicated' for me... the numberings on the bezel. I like SIMPLE.

After I get explorer 2 I find it complex and I want simple.

I scare I get simple, I want complex.

I think exp 1 look simple I neat.

Maybe cos im looking for my next dress watch but definitely not rolex.

Explorer 1 seem to be like towards dress watch while explorer 2 more towards sporty.

iamvintage

After I get explorer 2 I find it complex and I want simple.

I scare I get simple, I want complex.

I think exp 1 look simple I neat.

Maybe cos im looking for my next dress watch but definitely not rolex.

Explorer 1 seem to be like towards dress watch while explorer 2 more towards sporty.

Can consider the IWC Portofino. Simple and classy watch, especially with the leather strap version. At 40mm, it's relatively small by IWC standards

flame2000

Can consider the IWC Portofino. Simple and classy watch, especially with the leather strap version. At 40mm, it's relatively small by IWC standards

Except that the IWC Portofino is overpriced with a modified ETA2892 movement, whereas the Rolex Explorer houses a true a Rolex in-house caliber. That alone is enough to warrant a price premium over the Portofino. :D
A Zenith Captain Elite might be a better choice over the Portofino.:)

yattokame

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/archive/sa...iation-20130727

Published July 27, 2013

It's time to learn the fine art of watch appreciation

By arthur lee

arthurl@sph.com.sg

A PIECE OF JOY
Mr Choo (left) and Mr Chong at the BT Luxe Night. Mr Chong spoke on the art of collecting watches at the event. - PHOTO: ARTHUR LEE

SOME 100 business leaders turned up for the BT Luxe Night at the Lexus showroom on Thursday and learnt more about the fine art of watch appreciation.

"The art of collecting watches: of passion, complications, more complications and chasing the wind" was the theme taken by well-known watch expert Peter Chong.

He said that a fine timepiece essentially reflects the history and tradition of the house. Then come the precious materials used, the manufacture, finishing, complication and rarity.

When it comes to making a purchase, his advice is to buy what you like but not immediately. One should visit the shop, look at the selection and try the pieces on. Then focus on two or three that you like. Go home and come back the following week to buy the one that captures your imagination.

A watch is not essential for us to tell the time. It remains an item of luxury, to remind one to take time to enjoy the beauty of craftsmanship, he said.

It is also one of the few pieces of jewellery a gentleman can wear without drawing undue attention. Wear a watch because it brings one joy and pleasure to have a piece of fine work on one's wrist.

While fine timepieces can make good investments, one should also choose carefully because a wrong choice can result in sharp losses. It is also a non-liquid asset as rare items require rare collectors. Like everything else, getting in and out at the right time is very important.

William Choo, commercial director, Lexus Singapore, said: "We are very pleased to be able to extend our Lexus style of bespoke hospitality in treating all our customers, as we would a guest in our home, to all the BT CEOs present at tonight's event".

Guests also had the rare opportunity for a up-close look at the award-winning Lexus LF-LC concept coupé specially flown in and displayed locally for the first time.

ChildAid prodigy Asami Wada performed two violin solo recitals.

voltshin

Except that the IWC Portofino is overpriced with a modified ETA2892 movement, whereas the Rolex Explorer houses a true a Rolex in-house caliber. That alone is enough to warrant a price premium over the Portofino. :D
A Zenith Captain Elite might be a better choice over the Portofino.:)

agreed =)
during my time of purchase, i actually asked the AD on IWC pilot chrono and Explorer1. he commented that not very wise to get iwc for the price you getting.

but... you will be the one wearing, so as long as you like it, who cares.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.