The Watch Thread - Part 3

Cubbie

Radiomir wears pretty small even at 45mm, did u try it on?

Nah din't try on. I actually looking for the PIG 292 but they only left with the normal 292, no more J series (Only 1000 produced).

BTW, you have any friends with Ceramic PAM? Will it chip off easily? I worry the black might be chip off and exposed silver? heard ceramic is quite brittle

takuyazzz

Nah din't try on. I actually looking for the PIG 292 but they only left with the normal 292, no more J series (Only 1000 produced).

BTW, you have any friends with Ceramic PAM? Will it chip off easily? I worry the black might be chip off and exposed silver? heard ceramic is quite brittle

Not too sure abt ceramic PAMs though i have a couple of watches with ceramic bezels. so far so good. Unless the impact is really hard and sharp, i dont think they will chip that easily. Yes the PAM ceramicas are really dope...:)

Cubbie

Not too sure abt ceramic PAMs though i have a couple of watches with ceramic bezels. so far so good. Unless the impact is really hard and sharp, i dont think they will chip that easily. Yes the PAM ceramicas are really dope...:)

Horror story of Ceramic:
Paneristi Public Forum: Advice sought on issue with PAM 292

Hmm............sianz half already. any Radiomir 45mm would you recommend? Prefer clear back case and manual.

ahboy82

WA tag heuer monaco after discount still need to pay abt 6k plus. that's expensive manz.

hwaa

just bought the black sumo, trying to take lume shots using hp.. not easy siar.

1392992_10153387169860118_1084836188_n.jpg

in semi darkness..

1374764_10153387169950118_459191073_n.jpg

in total darkness...

1378038_10153387170030118_222169198_n.jpg

dmitri

just bought the black sumo, trying to take lume shots using hp.. not easy siar.
Forgot you were looking at the Sumo, there's someone offloading a Shogun (SBDC007) in sgroc, could've recommended you to consider that too.

Azrielsc

Horror story of Ceramic:
Paneristi Public Forum: Advice sought on issue with PAM 292

Hmm............sianz half already. any Radiomir 45mm would you recommend? Prefer clear back case and manual.

As you know, Ceramica is not a coating but the entire case body is made out of zirconium oxide powder, which after baking, becomes 5x harder than stainless steel. BUT it does not deform when struck/dropped like stainless steel. You have seen the "horror" story as above.

The only watch that I have that has ceramic is my Pam 389 with a bezel that ceramic insert and it has been holding up well too.

As for straps, there are tons available online! Go to Panerai Watches Source - Complete Panerai Watch Resource Site to read up and then decide. At least, that is what I did. Once you start, you cannot stop! :)

Love the gold hands, hence I managed to get a 351. Seems like a popular choice. But ultimately, shop around and find a partner for your 164! I am actually looking for a painted dial Pam (opposite of you)!

Good luck.

socketer

Yeah, finally got my first PAM after saving up so long :)

264rw2r.jpg

Anyone can guess the model? Time to hoot straps, anyone knows where to get nice strap in SG? Should i go to TANG buckle or stay with Deployment buckle and hoot those Deployment leather strap? Seems uncomfy leh for deployment type :(

:eek::eek: the car is moving when you snapped this???

balzebub

Forgot you were looking at the Sumo, there's someone offloading a Shogun (SBDC007) in sgroc, could've recommended you to consider that too.

Shogun is titanium but still 6R15. feel not worth as twice the price of a sumo

rachdanon

just now went to ion panerai showroom almost hoot the Asso strap sibei chio! $320.

$T2eC16NHJHgFFmN7fo0-BR0gBc0qBg~~60_35.JPG

should i buy Original or third party? After hooting the watch already sibei broke now :(

I don't see the point of buying original leather straps whether PAM or Tag or any brand. Unless its rubber straps yes, which usually also have the deployant clasp and brand name on it to go with.

On PAM, i understand the boutique gives no discount, at least when I inquired about the 305 at ION. What about the ADs, do they give discounts?

dmitri

Shogun is titanium but still 6R15. feel not worth as twice the price of a sumo
The general complaints about it are:

1) Same 6R15 movement as Sumo but nearly double the asking price.
2) Similar handset with the Monster.
3) Lack of sapphire crystal.

I dig the overall aesthetics of the watch though. But certainly it'd be nice if it had an 8L35 for a beating heart. But that might put it in a price bracket nearer to a MM300 (SBDX001).

hwaa

I dig the overall aesthetics of the watch though. But certainly it'd be nice if it had an 8L35 for a beating heart. But that might put it in a price bracket nearer to a MM300 (SBDX001).

the aesthetics of the watch seems quite okay but like not much of an identity i feel..

ComicBoy

i think the PAM looks nicer on Leather, i have the original rubber but don do the PAM justice, makes it looks cheapo :(

Anyone uses the original Rubber strap on PAM?

But if working in environment that sweat alot better stick with Rubber.

It's a diver watch right :p can dive with it on rubber.

I wear my 305 with the rubber strap.

7684509442_cfcf60a708_z.jpg

I think it looks okay, even for office wear but I am also thinking of replacing it with a leather strap. :D

takuyazzz

I wear my 305 with the rubber strap.

7684509442_cfcf60a708_z.jpg

I think it looks okay, even for office wear but I am also thinking of replacing it with a leather strap. :D

nice! i think all submersibles will go really well with rubber straps.

balzebub

Yeah placing the 8L35 will move it up in price immediately, they should just offer it a $200 premium over the sumo, give it it's own unique set of hands and yeah i will go for it. And i really really wish seiko will start luming their bezels as well...

On a side note, anyone know if there are 3rd party bezel inserts available for the sumo that has lume?

balzebub

submersibles go well with leather as well.

32yy.jpg

Yeah most dive watches go well with leather straps as well, lends it a more dressy look. BUT my main gripe is wear and tear on leather straps is fierce and haven't found a truly water resistant or water proof leather strap that i an swim or shower in...

Henabi

nice leather... gator skin?

anyway.. just wanna find out how often do you send in your automatic watches for servicing?

Because my 25hr automatic watch is fast approaching 2 yrs... i'm thinking to send it back to 25hrs for servicing

balzebub

nice leather... gator skin?

anyway.. just wanna find out how often do you send in your automatic watches for servicing?

Because my 25hr automatic watch is fast approaching 2 yrs... i'm thinking to send it back to 25hrs for servicing

is it running too fast? running too slow? Power reserve not as long as when new? If the answer to all of that is a no, then no need to send in for servicing just after 2 years la. Most normal automatic movement can work for years without servicing as long as you don't abuse it, so maybe when you have had it for 4-5 years la.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.