The Watch Thread - Part 3

ahboy82

if you are very particular about quality and tactile feel, this isnt the watch for you. the watch is very light, it lacks heft and weight of a solid watch. the finishing is not as remarkable as omega.

the crystal has a domed convex surface, there is difficultly reading time at side angles.

however, if you discount the above, it remains a good product.

there is another alternative. 2.2k after discount if you can bargain smartly.

BM_Stageteaser_classima_8731.jpg

baume-et-mercier

kohchris, sic lobang. i interested in the baume piece u posted. even though it is so similar to my portofino i still feel like adding it to my collection damn it:(:(

Milo-Dino

Gd buy.... understand if correct, it now sells RP $3600 with 20% off.
It is better to get it earlier as SWISS watches' pricing keep going up or discount cut by retailers.

Wow price went up??

Anyway, just to not mislead anyone, ball is american but the movement is ETA.

Quite sad I somehow chipped a small portion of my bezel at work the other day. But the glass still looks wonderful. Wonder if I can send in for polish for free since it is still under the 3 years warranty

patryn33

its mishandled not covered by warranty. warranty is for manufacturing defects.

Ball watch is Amercian much like Hamilton, but much like Hamilton their HQ is in Switzerland today. to me they are Swiss company with American heritage

javincho

Bro how does this 9% cash rebate works?

I can't seem to find any info on this. Can explain or point me to the relevant link?

Thanks

Sorry I was out & tks to Bro Skeleton for replying you.

1. Must use OCBC card with interest free installment to qualify
2. Min $3K purchase after all net discount
3. Max 9% rebate is $540 capped at $6K. :)
4. Rebate back to your credit.
5. Pls check out more at Cortina; hope there is one that u like :)
6. Ends at 31 Jan'13

javincho

Wow price went up??

Anyway, just to not mislead anyone, ball is american but the movement is ETA.

Quite sad I somehow chipped a small portion of my bezel at work the other day. But the glass still looks wonderful. Wonder if I can send in for polish for free since it is still under the 3 years warranty

Sad to hear this.... :s11: Hope it will not deter u from getting another luxury timepiece in future...

javincho

their deville series is godlike i must say....but really expensive :(:(

With their latest new collection & "EXTRA" pricing strategy, Omega is definitely trying to compete, benchmark and move up to higher end Tier1 or 2 Prestige ladder ... but somehow I think it still not there yet.... :)

thinkalot28

Sorry I was out & tks to Bro Skeleton for replying you.

1. Must use OCBC card with interest free installment to qualify
2. Min $3K purchase after all net discount
3. Max 9% rebate is $540 capped at $6K. :)
4. Rebate back to your credit.
5. Pls check out more at Cortina; hope there is one that u like :)
6. Ends at 31 Jan'13

Thanks javincho and skeleton.

This is seriously tipping me towards my first purchase!

thinkalot28

Anyone can share any secrets on how to wring more discounts from those salespersons in shops like Cortina, Sincere and THG? Hehe

javincho

kohchris, sic lobang. i interested in the baume piece u posted. even though it is so similar to my portofino i still feel like adding it to my collection damn it:(:(

Pls try at Cortina MBS... there is Citicard promotion up to 32% off for selected B&M watches around $2K+ range... I think that model is in the list. Pls check it out :)

javincho

nice try there, u mention if buy the 5k watch now, then wait another 8 to 10 years before committing again. not easy u noe, 8 to 10 years leh, not 8 to 10 mths ok. talk is always easier than action, trust me, i been there before so i know it. LOL!

look for a 2 to 3k watch first bah, then slowly slowly increase yr collection. :D:D

Agree... once hooked, u wil be eyeing next purchase within 1 year or so.... after getting yr $1k¬5K range watch.

javincho

i am looking at under 10K... Chopards preowned and Rolex preowned

The rest i am looking at under 7-8K for lesser brands (Dont really mind ETA)

Judging from my shopping i might go for a GMT Master IIC

s.12_longines_grande_zb_braun.jpg

That Longines is very nice..... believe after net discount, u can get at <$4K... gd value :)

javincho

u like the explorer 2? yea it is at 10k, well nvr say nvr as long as u save up u can afford it 1 fine day. i personally dun like it, feel no love for it when it is on my wrist as compared to the portofino. LOL!

Tks... Yes, this will be my "holy grail" for Explorer II white dial :)
I will work towards that as need to also climb ladder too :)

Portofino is really one of excellent choices for luxury dress watch... much better against JLC or Omega in that design and value.... i think :)

javincho

similar design that you like from other brands:

Hamilton Jazzmaster Maestro Chrono

H32766513_2.jpg

Louis Erard 1931 Chronograph

le-73228aa01bdc52.jpg

Archimede Classic Chronograph (Online brand)

758_archimede-klassik-chronograph-cerna-cerny-remen-2.jpg

All within your budget (a fraction of the cost of the Tag). Do note that the models from Louis Erard and Hamilton do not have seconds (hand or sub-dial) indicator. The Archimede has a sub seconds dial while the Tag has a second hand.

Of the given selection, I will choose Hamilton.

javincho

Tag heuer owners -

luxury seekers with a prudent budget. Doesn't believe in paying the price of a franck muller/panerai for an ETA driven watch

Because seiko, tissot and hamilton are too mainstream.

Get a Visodate and solve everything.... :)

javincho

do you all think Omega SMP 2254 is worth going at $2200?

It seems Omega 2254 price will only go up and not coming down anymore.

2254-50%20on%20leather%202005-1231%20sp-350%20003%20pc-crop.jpg

480016d1311787124-if-you-had-$2500-spend-today-what-would-you-get-omega2254.jpg

This should be used piece as no longer available as NEW anymore.
At $2.2K or $2K better, i think worth buying for its design.. classic look..... it is also one of better sought-after vintage seamaster and its value should go up & up away :)

javincho

Pls check condition clearly for used pieces. Any defects, visual cracks might affect the resale value in future..... If not, that Omega smp is gd choice.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.