The Watch Thread - Part 3

bberry

ball easily 20%. :)

btw, any comments on breitling.. think something like this..

my breitling chronomat already more than 10 years...have not service before...the ******* pin even came out once when i wanted to adjust the time (i jus shove it back).
Just a few days back, i changed the strap again.

But still working fine ah...am wearing it now. :D

patryn33

U carefully with it washing hands?
10 yrs and running does not mean its in great shape, only way to tell is look at the movement closely

Velton

my breitling chronomat already more than 10 years...have not service before...the ******* pin even came out once when i wanted to adjust the time (i jus shove it back).
Just a few days back, i changed the strap again.

But still working fine ah...am wearing it now. :D

seems like very well-built..hehe..

bberry

U carefully with it washing hands?
10 yrs and running does not mean its in great shape, only way to tell is look at the movement closely

normal usage, some splash sure have.
great shape or not, never mind...at least stilll working la.

jus sharing with Velton that at least for my breitling, still can tahan 10 years plus without much care.

DaBenDan

I will never touch ball watches ; its not for real men

KohChris bro, sometimes your post really makes me chuckle! :s22:
You are really tactless when it comes to your point of view.

Let me add: I will never touch Panerai watches ; its for realmen-wanna-be

KohChris

chris, why so?

Seems like i deleted it a little too late...wanted to avoid inflamming people's feelings(ball owners)

Ball is owned by a HK coy which bought the rights to use the defunct swiss company name.

The factory, DNA, reputation, marketing is entirely different.
The real ball watch is dead long ago.

Besides, which self-respecting man will buy a ball watch? Ball is a pun for testicles, or a word used to describe a round spherical object that 3 year old kids play.

How can a man command respect or be satki in a restaurant when he got his ball on his hand? What will the people think when they see the word ball inscribed on the dial?

Can this man be taken seriously?

Can't imagine John Travolta or James Bond endorsing ball watches.

Velton

Seems like i deleted it a little too late...wanted to avoid inflamming people's feelings(ball owners)

Ball is owned by a HK coy which bought the rights to use the defunct swiss company name.

The factory, DNA, reputation, marketing is entirely different.
The real ball watch is dead long ago.

Besides, which self-respecting man will buy a ball watch? Ball is a pun for testicles, or a word used to describe a round spherical object that 3 year old kids play.

How can a man command respect or be satki in a restaurant when he got his ball on his hand? What will the people think when they see the word ball inscribed on the dial?

Can this man be taken seriously?

Can't imagine John Travolta or James Bond endorsing ball watches.

ok i got it.. :o

PS.. edited yr post. :)

DaBenDan

realmen-wanna-be --- how/what to check??? :s22:

You need to ask him:
sylvester-stallone-880327004.jpg

Anyway, no offence to Panerai owners, I just being stupid here. To each his own. :)

KohChris

KohChris bro, sometimes your post really makes me chuckle! :s22:
You are really tactless when it comes to your point of view.

Let me add: I will never touch Panerai watches ; its for realmen-wanna-be

No ****, i had a Pam and its 1xxx better than a Ball.

You CANNOT imagine the amount of attention you get from ladies in the CBD.
Even the GCPs like Panerai.

There is undeniable immense powerful presense with Hublots/Panerais and the aura is immediately felt.

You wear a tailored shirt and pants, wear a Radiomir, drive an Audi..man, even girl in the CBD would wanna **** you.

That is the TRUTH.

A Ball watch is usually worn by an uncle or a nerd. True story.

KohChris

In fact, none of my friends are illogical enough to wear a Ball.

All of them wears breitling, omega, panerai, bvlgari, sinn and baume & mercier.

Only 1 acquaintance wears a Ball watch and he has 3 kids already.

DaBenDan

No ****, i had a Pam and its 1xxx better than a Ball.

You CANNOT imagine the amount of attention you get from ladies in the CBD.
Even the GCPs like Panerai.

There is undeniable immense powerful presense with Hublots/Panerais and the aura is immediately felt.

You wear a tailored shirt and pants, wear a Radiomir, drive an Audi..man, even girl in the CBD would wanna **** you.

That is the TRUTH.

A Ball watch is usually worn by an uncle or a nerd. True story.

*Starts browsing Panerai catalogue*

xtwis7

A cui guy with money wear Pam also no use unless the girl really got stamp.

bberry

Though i always advice people to buy what they like, as long as they can afford, but the fact is that many other people still judge you based on what you wear, clothes, watch, jewellery, shoes, etc.

my weekend attire is normally t-shirt, bermuda, slippers ($2 kind) and when shopping at branded shops, no one bother about me, eventhough its my wife who is shopping and i accompanying her.

but when i wear the same attire and my Sub Date, customer service level suddenly went up a few notches.

So bro chris is correct that watch brand does matter...some brands jus turn the gers on more than others :s13:

natas

Some like PAM but I dun like their design. It is just personal preferences.

xtwis7

Though i always advice people to buy what they like, as long as they can afford, but the fact is that many other people still judge you based on what you wear, clothes, watch, jewellery, shoes, etc.

my weekend attire is normally t-shirt, bermuda, slippers ($2 kind) and when shopping at branded shops, no one bother about me, eventhough its my wife who is shopping and i accompanying her.

but when i wear the same attire and my Sub Date, customer service level suddenly went up a few notches.

So bro chris is correct that watch brand does matter...some brands jus turn the gers on more than others :s13:

True to that definitely. The more sophisticated ladies. But I think if I show my gf a PAM, she won't know what's it. Rolex would probably come to her mind first.

On a more serious note, sg retailers ought to retrain their staff and get this stuck up attitude/culture out of the way. Even if I were to return to a retailer for a second time more well-dressed, I won't let them have my money if that's the kind of service they offer. High mark ups + poor service = double thumbs down.

room55

Been a really long time lurker here and the latest thread exchange on Ball watch really made me LOL!!!

Btw, non Ball owner here =:p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.