The Watch Thread - Part 3

CallmeZen

anyone know if its possible to change the strap of GC 44500G?

Sorry uh peasant, not so elite like rolex or iwc.

javincho

Of course, another photo to illustrate what ive said...

But its all about swag.

8xspyf.jpg

Gangnam is now outdated..... Rollie move over......., Now comes the BALLie-Pop Style.... !!!

Sexy ladies....., SWop, SWop, SWop....

patryn33

What to look out for when buying pre-owned watches? e.g. last servicing date, whether original papers available... and so forth.

The in-house warranty is usually 6 months to 1 year only. Is that long enough?

Last service date with service papers is very impt
Papers is impt too, box good to have
In house warranty means little if u have all the above
If the last service date it 4 yrs ago, 1 yr warranty no use to me as I still need to pay $$$ to get it service

javincho

Uncle: My company is looking for ambassador for new Sea collection. Sly has PAM, James has OMG, who do u think is suitable icon?

12-yr Nephew: Oh I know your brand.....I like SuperHeroes very much and think Aquaman fits as he can stay underwater for very long....

U: so which actor in mind do u think can be one?

N: U lor.... !!

U: Why me??

N: That uncle said so lor.... it is for uncle n nerd... not for real men.... I also can because i'm yr Nephew and begins the same as Nerd.

U: Wow... so since we need 3 actors as a team.... u, me and let's ask that uncle to join us too... joyride for sure :)

javincho

Both looks good to me :s13:

What to look out for when buying pre-owned watches? e.g. last servicing date, whether original papers available... and so forth.

The in-house warranty is usually 6 months to 1 year only. Is that long enough?

U have the answers.... :)

Priority is to check physical condition, authenic with documentation including warranty card even expired.... as long as u get from recognised or established 2nd hand shops.... Gd Luck :)

javincho

lol thats what my gd friend n wife told me when i wanted to buy n finally got one ball watch.

true leh, still not daring to go oversea with my tt rolex as what u stated esp up north. tink i very kiasi..

At least our BALLs are well-insured treasure ..... :) better than those paper COE $80K+ worthless after 10 yrs......

Why carry Rolex or other luxury watch to overseas.....?? No need to impress or attract attention.... U got cash is KING.

As for me... G-shock is enough.

javincho

Ah beng sell handphone also got Rolex. Students also got Rolex.

What I'm saying is, just buy what you like. But if you think your status is instantly elevated by wearing a Rolex, then think again.

Sometimes it depends on the customer. I wouldn't rush to serve someone who's wearing a Rolex/basic Panerai/entry-level IWC - most likely already spent his savings to buy a "nice watch".

Wearing cheap watch - Maybe looking to buy his first serious watch.

Wearing seriously expensive watch - then all sales people will rush over.

If focus to to impress and show yr "status", get a fake Rolex or other high-end luxuries.... quality of some imitation is so good now that even normal Sales or outsiders have difficulty at first to differentiate real or not.....

U can save hard cash for other stuff and get twice the attention to meet yr objective.... :)

javincho

bro, how many are in the watch trade??? don forget a large proportion of our population could not afford branded watches...so when see a rolex or wat not, to these people, its a big deal to them lor.

watch salesperson wanna gauge whether u are a serious customer(meaning can afford kind), then they give better treatment. They usually gauge by the watch u wear la. At least for me and ahboy experiences
Some car salesperson are also like that...if u drive a hyundai getz and walk into C&C to view merc...many will jus go thru motion to serve u.

It is well known fact that ppl tends to judge the book by the cover.... be it sales, customers, friends, relatives etc.,

"The elite vs neighbourhood school effect" is also one of the examples... better, smarter & intelligent breed from elite perception???

javincho

wa jialuk cos 3 out of the 4 u mentioned i like. really interested to know what watch u appreciate. JLC, Zenith, PP?

He is in love with Tissot Visodate based on his positive & encouraging reviews.... and of course maybe his PAM ... for macho man's image like Sly. :)

javincho

Chris> dun get me wrong, i not against u. i follow your post in this thread alot even on the pXXoy thread. cheers.

Bro,, relax lah... Chris is pioneer shifu & watch guru whom has open heart.... individual's opinion sharing is great info to know each other in watch community better.... :)

As long as u like yr watch/ brand, final decison is still yrs whether to buy or not.... :)

javincho

That's what you were saying mah. You said when you wear your nice watch, ppl treat you differently.

What I meant is, people aren't so easily impressed anymore. So just wear what you like. Ball, Patek, whatever.

If someone else is impressed, that's just a bonus.

I'm impressed...... with yr reply :)

ahboy82

That's what you were saying mah. You said when you wear your nice watch, ppl treat you differently.

What I meant is, people aren't so easily impressed anymore. So just wear what you like. Ball, Patek, whatever.

If someone else is impressed, that's just a bonus.

I'm impressed...... with yr reply :)

i'm impressed with his reply too. he seems to imply that ppl will wear expensive watches just to get better treatment from ppl, especially from those sales ppl.

in fact i did the opposite, i first hunted for my watch looking like a beggar and i especially got "beggar" type of service from Cortina Watch Raffles City Shopping Centre, so i decided to skip them and instead went over to millenia walk both hourglass and cortina where i had much better service there. i ended up buying from one of them.

i especially feel that those younger sales ppl tend to give better service than those older or more laojiao ones, maybe due to the fact that those laojiao have been in this trade for quite some time. however i will nvr give my money to those stuck up sales ppl, just looking at their stuck up faces make me dulan already, still look at what watch?

ahboy82

He is in love with Tissot Visodate based on his positive & encouraging reviews.... and of course maybe his PAM ... for macho man's image like Sly. :)

well he also recommended baume and mercier, something which i am seriously looking at now. :(:(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.