The Watch Thread - Part 3

javincho

I think it can pretty much take care of itself.

The obvious: don't knock it against hard surfaces, try not to drop it on concrete, don't go swimming in it.

Not so obvious: it needs servicing about every 5 years - this is the recurring cost of owning mechanical watches that doesn't seem to get discussed alot.

Leave it at home .... to admire lor.... joking :)

javincho

When prices go up for brands.....is it a local phenomenon or is it happening worldwide?
It's like how vw's prices keep increasing in Singapore while it is still a bread and butter car back in their homeland.

It depends on respective market perception & accepatance by consumers. It could be company corporate marketing strategy, brande popularity demand, raw materials, Swiss cost production etc. For LE, generally it commands premium among all.

As for VW, my China friend told me he will not buy this brand as it is cheap and common over there, while in SG, it is TOP 5 Car Sales and consider to be "German mass-market high-end" for Golf, Jetta, Passat.

javincho

i've seen the ml pontos in person. i really like the fit and everything. just don't really like the price.. $2.6k after 20%discount.

recently saw this hamilton. Its a beauty too. but still its slightly over budget at $1.9k

H325965511_zpsc8d5e3be.jpg

My customer bought this exact ML model in Europe 2 years ago at ¬S$1.6K only. Wow... the jump is quite substanial....

javincho

I will only recommend these 6 brands to anyone looking for a sub 3k watch, new or preowned.

1. Tudor
2. Omega
3. Baume and Mercier
4. Sinn
5. Breitling
6. Tag Heuer

These 6 brands combine brand appeal, design, true value, resale value, recognition and craftmanship. Another 3 secondary brands for your consideration.

Secondary brands

1. Bell and Ross
2. Fortis
3. Oris

Note - BR watches are not the best made ones out there

Though u may not prefer, I will like to call upon BALL too..... as uninvited special guest of honour :)

patryn33

As for VW, my China friend told me he will not buy this brand as it is cheap and common over there, while in SG, it is TOP 5 Car Sales and consider to be "German mass-market high-end" for Golf, Jetta, Passat.

Cheap is relative too. Your china friend maybe looking at BMW. A entry level passet MIC cost them ~220,000 RMB, our Passat is make on Germany cost us sgd$185k with COE

U think china ppl like buying MIC given a choice?

javincho

I heard only the hour glass carries FC, I was looking at the classics manufacture. They don't carry all model so it is good to call and check with them first, if you have a particular model in mind you can ask them to get from their office and to the outlet you wanna visit. Otherwise if they don't have the model they need to order in which takes months probably. Discount they give is around 25%, but hour glass retail prices generally higher compare to other watch shops?

roundabout is one of their series lo, comes with box and a boat.

what is grey btw?

Understand WOS Vivos also carries FC. Though std discount 20%, you can nego for gd at least ¬25% with sales if keen.

javincho

have you seen it in person?

16762_pt6158-ss001-13e_1.jpg

i think visiodate is a better choice.

for ML you have to look at the Masterpiece collection which is out of your budget

For ML similar design/ price range, pls go for B&M or Longines Master.
For value for money at <$1K , Visodate wins the vote.
For tight BUD <$300, Orient Bambino gets thumb up.

javincho

Cheap is relative too. Your china friend maybe looking at BMW. A entry level passet MIC cost them ~220,000 RMB, our Passat is make on Germany cost us sgd$185k with COE

U think china ppl like buying MIC given a choice?

No leh... he is PR here and drives a Toyota Vivos. To him, VW is still VW regardless of manufacturing site :)

javincho

PO has 42mm.... 300m is 41mm.

21230412003001-20.png

I prefer Link.

Understand smp 2254 has been discontinued few years ago. Now is coaxial escapement is more expensive and bracelet is pretty.

Tag Link RP starts from ¬$4200 and like its bracelet too better than AR sister.

javincho

Yes, fit and finish is better than Tissot

Mido is one of the underrated brand but definitely gd value considering one of TOP 10 for COSC volume on the same league with Rolex, Omega, Bretiling etc. One can get it sub $1K range...

patryn33

U not him lah...,
Some ppl just talk talk...
VW cheap in china but on avg VW also cost more than a Toyota in sg.
VM that common leh? Your claim earlier is china so get a uncommon car. I thought Toyota very common in sg too

DempseyRoll

It depends on respective market perception & accepatance by consumers. It could be company corporate marketing strategy, brande popularity demand, raw materials, Swiss cost production etc. For LE, generally it commands premium among all.

Seems like these companies link increase in selling price with increase in prestige....weird...

Vadher

image_zps9a78c4ad.jpg

Saw this at 2.1k, 41mm automatic, don't know what calibre. Worth it? Lazy to go Swatch authenticate because seller seems reputable

Milo-Dino

I will only recommend these 6 brands to anyone looking for a sub 3k watch, new or preowned.

1. Tudor
2. Omega
3. Baume and Mercier
4. Sinn
5. Breitling
6. Tag Heuer

These 6 brands combine brand appeal, design, true value, resale value, recognition and craftmanship. Another 3 secondary brands for your consideration.

Secondary brands

1. Bell and Ross
2. Fortis
3. Oris

Note - BR watches are not the best made ones out there

Iwc not on the list?

Milo-Dino

Iwc AD discount is limited to 10% only?

Maybe I wear very casual and walk in lol

ahboy82

Iwc AD discount is limited to 10% only?

Maybe I wear very casual and walk in lol

no leh. last time i went to several different places to ask and discounts range from 15 to even 20percent.

were u at raffles city? the ADs there suck la. worst experience there.

Milo-Dino

no leh. last time i went to several different places to ask and discounts range from 15 to even 20percent.

were u at raffles city? the ADs there suck la. worst experience there.

I was at cortina millenia. Maybe cause I wear shorts n slippers lol.

20% sounds good...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.