The Watch Thread - Part 3

taeception

Have you went down to personally try out the tissot watches? they might look fantastic in pictures, but it really depends went you see it for yourself in real.

Only saw the visodate so far.. classy but I am afraid it may be too formal sometimes. Thats why looking at other options. If none then its that liao, looking at that watch for almost a year alr!

alwj1989

hmm.. interesting.. i got mine at THG a month back and it comes with a different deployment clasp. did you request for the smaller one?

the earlier ones all had your clasp on. think they changed it to the butterfly clasp in the later batch.

kehyi4

Sian deciding between cw malvern c5, tisdot visodate or prs516 ugh.. sibei hard choice sia. Will it be suitable for moi age? Moi haben 20.. :/ or im better off wif something else. Less than $800..
If you are under 20, I think a sportier looking watch will suit you better, unless you are the kind that looks 10 years older than you are... ;)

Of the three you listed, I think the PR516 is the sportier one. Which particular PR516 have you been eyeing? Not sure how much they cost, but a PR516 quartz chrono blue would be sweet.

tissot-t044-417-21-041-00-t-sport-prs516-quartz-chrono-blue-index-davis-1101-26-DAVIS@6.jpg

how, btw, if you're going to boleh-land some time soon, you can buy from Tissot ADs there. It'll be cheaper than buying in S'pore, with discounts factored in. That's how I got my Visodate :)

kenkaw

thanks for the review bro. this tissot is one im looking at too. price reasonable and great movement. cant believe the visodate only cost slightly less. do show some actual wrist shots too as o n ly concern is its too dressy for causual wear.
The Tissot Powermatic 80 in black is probably too dressy for 'casual' wear. Getting the version with the silver dial might work better if you want to wear it in less formal situations. Best way is to try out the watch in the store.

taeception

If you are under 20, I think a sportier looking watch will suit you better, unless you are the kind that looks 10 years older than you are... ;)

Of the three you listed, I think the PR516 is the sportier one. Which particular PR516 have you been eyeing? Not sure how much they cost, but a PR516 quartz chrono blue would be sweet.

tissot-t044-417-21-041-00-t-sport-prs516-quartz-chrono-blue-index-davis-1101-26-DAVIS@6.jpg

how, btw, if you're going to boleh-land some time soon, you can buy from Tissot ADs there. It'll be cheaper than buying in S'pore, with discounts factored in. That's how I got my Visodate :)

Hmm the reason why I am not looking at a sporty watch is because my current citizen watch is sporty already, hence looking at something more simple. Also I would prefer an automatic, all my watches are quartz so far.. The prs I am currently looking at is this: Tissot PRS 516 No money for boleh-land la hahaha! So the visodate is not a recommended choice? Because I am currently looking at the hamilton jazzmaster viewmatic and that now.. worried about hamilton's price :( is there any good place here to buy hamilton watches? Particularly, this model: http://www.hamiltonwatch.com/en/gents/american-classic/jazzmaster/viewmatic-auto/H32455585 hope it won't be too small for me tho, although my wrist is ridiculously small, lesser than 6 inches.. :p

kehyi4

Hmm the reason why I am not looking at a sporty watch is because my current citizen watch is sporty already, hence looking at something more simple. Also I would prefer an automatic, all my watches are quartz so far.. The prs I am currently looking at is this: Tissot PRS 516 No money for boleh-land la hahaha! So the visodate is not a recommended choice? Because I am currently looking at the hamilton jazzmaster viewmatic and that now.. worried about hamilton's price :( is there any good place here to buy hamilton watches? Particularly, this model: Hamilton Watch · Viewmatic Auto hope it won't be too small for me tho, although my wrist is ridiculously small, lesser than 6 inches.. :p
In that case, the PRS516 you've picked is, i think, a good choice. It's simple but not boring, classy with a bit of sporty feel. The blue dial also makes it younger and more interesting than a plain black dial. Should be suitable for you. While I like my Visodate v much, it'll probably give a more 'mature' (ie ah pek) feel :s13: too bad you're not going boleh-land. I saved about $100 buying there.

As for whether 37mm is too small, I think it's unlikely to be too small for typical Asian wrists. But best way to see is to try. In any case, internet picture and actual on-wrist look can be very different. Always a good idea to try in shop.

taeception

In that case, the PRS516 you've picked is, i think, a good choice. It's simple but not boring, classy with a bit of sporty feel. The blue dial also makes it younger and more interesting than a plain black dial. Should be suitable for you. While I like my Visodate v much, it'll probably give a more 'mature' (ie ah pek) feel :s13: too bad you're not going boleh-land. I saved about $100 buying there.

As for whether 37mm is too small, I think it's unlikely to be too small for typical Asian wrists. But best way to see is to try. In any case, internet picture and actual on-wrist look can be very different. Always a good idea to try in shop.

Thanks man haha! Today I just realised that I have been measuring my wrist wrongly.. keep using the measuring tape to go over my wrist and it measured to be 5.7 inches -.- using the string method turns out to be 6.5 inches actually LOL. What a big difference :/ what are your views for the hamilton viewmatic? (bad pun)

LiNuxIDIoT

Hi new to auto watch. It is ok to leave it not moving or do I nid a watch winder? Cox I only wear during occasions.

flame2000

Hi new to auto watch. It is ok to leave it not moving or do I nid a watch winder? Cox I only wear during occasions.

Its ok if it stop, just need to wind a few turn to get it start moving again. Unless you got many automatic watches, I don't see a need to spend extra money on a winder. Most auto (ETA2824) have a power reserve of 38~42hrs and usually can last 1.5 days if fully wind.

LiNuxIDIoT

Its ok if it stop, just need to wind a few turn to get it start moving again. Unless you got many automatic watches, I don't see a need to spend extra money on a winder. Most auto (ETA2824) have a power reserve of 38~42hrs and usually can last 1.5 days if fully wind.

oh so totally ok if I left it stop then when I want to wear then wind it? Most prob only wear like few days a month nia...

kehyi4

Thanks man haha! Today I just realised that I have been measuring my wrist wrongly.. keep using the measuring tape to go over my wrist and it measured to be 5.7 inches -.- using the string method turns out to be 6.5 inches actually LOL. What a big difference :/ what are your views for the hamilton viewmatic? (bad pun)
It looks good too. Dressier than the prs516, but not too formal. However, I'm not too sure how the gold markers would match with the steel case. White date window on a black dial is also a bit :( esp at this quality level.

Personally though I don't favour the Hamilton brand. Americans seem to like it for the American history behind it, but that doesn't mean anything to me. The once-proud US brand has morphed into a generic Swatch-owned Swiss marque. Tissot has better brand recognition around here. It's at least Swiss through and through.

p.s. how can measuring tape and string give different results? :s11:

taeception

It looks good too. Dressier than the prs516, but not too formal. However, I'm not too sure how the gold markers would match with the steel case. White date window on a black dial is also a bit :( esp at this quality level.

Personally though I don't favour the Hamilton brand. Americans seem to like it for the American history behind it, but that doesn't mean anything to me. The once-proud US brand has morphed into a generic Swatch-owned Swiss marque. Tissot has better brand recognition around here. It's at least Swiss through and through.

p.s. how can measuring tape and string give different results? :s11:

Lol thats the funny thing.. measuring tape i just pick the number at where the tape overlaps, while the string I tie around my arm and then spread it straight and measure on a long ruler, and its 6.5 inchs :s11: if measuring tape the overlapp-ed part is 5.8 inches, scarly both also wrong >.< Hmm if I am getting the visodate, I will most probably get the white face, looks more casual IMO. Is there a good place where I can try both, and also at a good price? I would love to look at seiko too, their heritage and brand is what I like, however, most of the designs are either too mature for me, or overly sporty T.T those that are just nice, the price for it is usually enough for me to get a tissot/hamilton..

Pagani_Z0nda

Hi guys.. Any idea when will price increase for Rolex? Enquired some AD but they are unsure themselves.

Intend to get one for my wifey for her birthday in July

dmitri

Hi guys.. Any idea when will price increase for Rolex? Enquired some AD but they are unsure themselves.

Intend to get one for my wifey for her birthday in July
The prices will only go up forseeably. If you're worried, buy now and keep it for July.

billovee

My wrist is 5 inch....just measure.

Im wearing 40mm. I feel just nice and very suitable.

flame2000

wa jin naise leh..........but omega is damn exp now zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Look at it at another angle. I think Omega is the most value for money watches with a true in-house movement (8500 & 8605).
I'll take the PO on bracelet with the 8500 movement anytime. :D

kehyi4

Lol thats the funny thing.. measuring tape i just pick the number at where the tape overlaps, while the string I tie around my arm and then spread it straight and measure on a long ruler, and its 6.5 inchs :s11: if measuring tape the overlapp-ed part is 5.8 inches, scarly both also wrong >.< Hmm if I am getting the visodate, I will most probably get the white face, looks more casual IMO. Is there a good place where I can try both, and also at a good price? I would love to look at seiko too, their heritage and brand is what I like, however, most of the designs are either too mature for me, or overly sporty T.T those that are just nice, the price for it is usually enough for me to get a tissot/hamilton..
if you're open to Seiko, then :cheer:

with the yen at all-time low vs sing dollar, buying direct from Japan is now cheaper than ever. If you're brave enough to buy online and patient enough to wait for shipping, then Rakuten is a good place to start. As for a recommendation, try the SARY003: Made in Japan, 40mm, just over $300 b4 shipping. Classy, with some sporty touches.

Rakuten: Global Market - Shopping Japanese products from Japan
Rakuten: SEIKO mechanical men machine type watch black SEIKO Mechanical SARY003 <size adjustment free of charge
9853e.jpg

tpmmark

went to try this 2 at a shop today =)
still deciding which one for me.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.