The Watch Thread - Part 3

patryn33

Same here. My very first automatic watch was an Oris big crown with the plexi glass crystal which I got in 1993. And it cost only S$475 back then.:)

U guys very sentimental to 1st brand leh, I got my 1st Swiss a tag back around that time cost $800 for a darn quartz. No love for tag any more. Nice thing about tag, it tahan my NS days.

gt_5454

U guys very sentimental to 1st brand leh, I got my 1st Swiss a tag back around that time cost $800 for a darn quartz. No love for tag any more. Nice thing about tag, it tahan my NS days.

Same here man... Bought my first Swiss Tag back in 1996 and wore it for more than a decade before I started collecting other watches .....and didn't look back at Tag again ..
Still keep it for memory sake but seldom wear it cos its mid size and quartz

Hardy and robust watch that went through thick and thin with me.

Seannie

Looking for the right watch is tough! Am hoping to make the purchase this Saturday but I'm not sure if it will happen. The B&M Cliftons jumped right out at me when I saw it in a magazine. But I was somewhat taken aback by the price. $3000+ is no small change to me so I'd better ask around a bit more ....

me too.. think im along the same line as you. Please let me know after you ask around a bit more, what your views are. Thanks.

Alpha_Hippo

what makes you say that? B&M no good?

3100 for a B&M with no in house movement, compared to a top up for a grand Seiko , which has finishing like a calatrava , in house movement with stricter controls than the cosc.

it is a watch for the purist. Pound for pound.

Samfreak

They move into the fashion watch brand for quite a period and it's very difficult to shake of that image now. :)
I always associate them with Pierre Balmain watches! :D Don't know why?

Pierre Balmain? Yup - that's definitely a fashion brand. I researched the history of B&M and it appears while they did lose their direction somewhat after Cartier acquired them/they had a new CEO, they have always remained a watchmaker.

Samfreak

3100 for a B&M with no in house movement, compared to a top up for a grand Seiko , which has finishing like a calatrava , in house movement with stricter controls than the cosc.

it is a watch for the purist. Pound for pound.

Honestly I'm OK with all those that the B&M lack. Resale value is of no concern to me too. I'm sure the GS is a great watch - for the purist like you mentioned. Problem is the branding - I still associate it with "Japanese" and "budget". I have had two Seikos - my first was given to me on my 21st birthday. Had it for 11 years until it got stolen from my suitcase somewhere between my LA hotel and Changi Airport. I replaced it with another Seiko - a Kinetic - that I still wear today. The heart likes the Clifton but the mind says "Are you sure? Its $3100".

flame2000

Its like our very first girlfriend, tend to have some happy memories. :D

Jeremy1

The Dial Diameter for this brand is too big...................:eek:

groupon got this today..

Luxury Italian Watch: U-Boat Flightdeck Titanium Automatic Chronograph Watch with Courier Service at $2,550 (Worth $7,600)

1370925623065.jpg

1370925623031.jpg

theRenaissance

Came across this while surfing for watches:

ORIENT_BAMBINO_WHOLE1.jpg

ORIENT_BAMBINO_WHOLE5.jpg

Reasonably priced, with a nice clean classic dial. Any thoughts?

Seannie

Honestly I'm OK with all those that the B&M lack. Resale value is of no concern to me too. I'm sure the GS is a great watch - for the purist like you mentioned. Problem is the branding - I still associate it with "Japanese" and "budget". I have had two Seikos - my first was given to me on my 21st birthday. Had it for 11 years until it got stolen from my suitcase somewhere between my LA hotel and Changi Airport. I replaced it with another Seiko - a Kinetic - that I still wear today. The heart likes the Clifton but the mind says "Are you sure? Its $3100".

me too lei. me oso not a watch purist. i just think that if i can have a nice watch for office wear, thats simple & nice will be great for me. Does Hour Glass carry B&M? Where can i get them? What do you think of the Classima series?

To me more precise, i hope to get something which looks simple yet smart & sharp. :)

carlover76

Saw one of my colleague wearing the brand of watch called Panerai and he told me that he spend 10K for this watch. Is this brand very well-known? :s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.