The Watch Thread - Part 3

kenkaw

AlexanderShorokhoff1.jpg

AlexanderShorokhoff2.jpg

Alexander Shorokhoff Avantgarde Regulator
- Manual Wind made in Germany by a Russian using a nicely decorated Russian movement.

Very interesting face - classy with a hint of the whimsical. Love the enamel-like glossy cream white dial and the shapes of the dark blue minute and hour hands. Red second hand adds a dash of colour.

Leather strap is unbelievable. It is the thickest amongst my watches but is so soft and supple straight from the store as to be almost unreal :eek:. Would not have believed that a leather strap could be so supple until I felt this !

Overall a very nice time piece although it is missing a quick date set function - so typical of Russian movements ... sigh. Purchased from Red Army Watches - S$1,798 (RRP before discount).

chromehead

was it due to cost-saving or the plastic did serve a purpose?

plastic back in the early days were high tech materials and expensive.

i think the Delrin plastic brake is still in use for its better wear and self lubricating properties vs metal

calibre 1861

engtat7

only thing that make me think twice about Tissot perpetual calendar is that it's not automatic.. =X

yappy2662

pmed u..

think the blue gives it a more sportier look

there r rumors of upcoming

black red combo, pepsi combo, green black combo

have to wait until rolex managed to incorporate those color into the bezel :s13:

Hi

Mind PM me on the pricing too

Thanks in advance

patryn33

AlexanderShorokhoff1.jpg

AlexanderShorokhoff2.jpg

Alexander Shorokhoff Avantgarde Regulator
- Manual Wind made in Germany by a Russian using a nicely decorated Russian movement.

Very interesting face - classy with a hint of the whimsical. Love the enamel-like glossy cream white dial and the shapes of the dark blue minute and hour hands. Red second hand adds a dash of colour.

Leather strap is unbelievable. It is the thickest amongst my watches but is so soft and supple straight from the store as to be almost unreal :eek:. Would not have believed that a leather strap could be so supple until I felt this !

Overall a very nice time piece although it is missing a quick date set function - so typical of Russian movements ... sigh. Purchased from Red Army Watches - S$1,798 (RRP before discount).

U sure?? Only the chrono uses a 3133 others is based of eta or Unitas

KohChris

$300

nEO_IMG_Rolex-Submariner-16610-LV1.jpg

actually, i dunno whether you all stupid or wad la.

Why bother to buy real one when can buy fake one.
Real and fake oso same 1.

Tiger-in-the-woods

$300

nEO_IMG_Rolex-Submariner-16610-LV1.jpg

actually, i dunno whether you all stupid or wad la.

Why bother to buy real one when can buy fake one.
Real and fake oso same 1.

Not really..

1. Rolex watches are fitted with a sapphire crystal (the glass face
of the watch) that can only be scratched with a diamond.

2. The ‘cyclops’ date window in a real version is dead centred above the number.

3. The quality of the printing on the dial should be perfect, with indicators and type evenly spaced and no fuzzy edges.

4. The genuine Rolex movement sweeps smoothly round at about 28,800 revs per hour – each second is broken down into eight steps. Even when a fake uses a Swiss-made movement, the second hand’s ticking is usually visibly jerky.

5. Over where ‘Swiss made’ appears, the brand’s logo is
laser-etched into the crystal. In a genuine Rolex, this is made
up of hundreds of dots set at different heights throughout the crystal
(so it doesn’t create a weakness in the glass) and as such is barely visible – to see it clearly you have to look through a loupe (the small magnifying glass used by jewellers and watchmakers).

Read more: An idiot's guide to buying a fake Rolex | Mail Online

But I know where u r coming from...........

prayhard83

plastic back in the early days were high tech materials and expensive.

i think the Delrin plastic brake is still in use for its better wear and self lubricating properties vs metal

calibre 1861

Icic.. thanks. I'm.wearing the tissot prs516 on eta 7750 movement and read that 7750 has some plastic parts..

Seannie

My new $400 watch, swee bo? :s34:
[/IMG]

Jin swee. Actually even if stand close to you (half a meter away) I oso can't tell whether real or fake. And most strangers usually don't stand tat close to u. Unless v close frens, or your partners then can notice the fine details.

Seannie

only thing that make me think twice about Tissot perpetual calendar is that it's not automatic.. =X

Quartz not better meh? Honestly, even if I can afford more expensive watches, I wouldn't want or see the need to do that becos most of time the reasons for the high value usually not practical for layman use. I rather buy a few more of the cheapskates in place of an expensive.

I had previous experiences of buying something real expensive but end up discover not really practical to use. Only swee to see but not swee to use.

seaknight

Quartz not better meh? Honestly, even if I can afford more expensive watches, I wouldn't want or see the need to do that becos most of time the reasons for the high value usually not practical for layman use. I rather buy a few more of the cheapskates in place of an expensive.

I had previous experiences of buying something real expensive but end up discover not really practical to use. Only swee to see but not swee to use.

Not talking about the price, but mechanical perpetual is an art. Basically, any type of mechanical complication in a watch is like a 7 wonders of the horology world.

flame2000

My new $400 watch, swee bo? :s34:

Fake%20Rolex%20Submariner%20Ceramic%20Blue%20Face%20High%20Quality%20watch.jpg

Your $400 Rolex Sub has a bezel lume pip that looks like a pimple about to burst. That's one obvious tell tale sign. :)

Below is what a genuine one looks like. Seriously, when one buys a genuine Rolex, it's paying for the movement inside the oyster case, not for the outer looks.

rolexpip_zps2f57618c.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.