The Watch Thread - Part 3

iamvintage

Hi guys, I've been eyeing the new Sub for a long time (also considering the black/blue GMT2)

But there are 2 problems. First, Rolex do not come with glass back and that is a major turnoff. I like admiring the movements on my current Oris BC3. To me, not having a glass back is like buying a Ferrari 458 and not having a window to see the engine. As a result, I may consider the Omega planet ocean.

Secondly Rolex, submariners especially, seem to be so common nowadays I see them more often than Tissots. And for that my GF also hates them.

I'm hoping to get a decent watch by the time I turn 30 early next year. Any good alternatives or encouragement to convince me to get that Rolex would be most welcome!

You can easily get a sapphire display back. JW for example sells it and they will assemble it for you and include a water resistance test.

For the second part, a bit harder :s13: depending on your budget, how about the Omega Dark Side of the Moon? It'll be in singapore at the end of the year. If you're into Rolexes, can have a look at the Explorer I or Explorer II too. Still common but slightly less common than the Submariner :s13:

winorlose

For the price of a Rolex Sub (not sure which variant you are looking at), you can consider a few other under-rated models such as the JLC Master Compressor.

poison you abit. such a beauty.

Its true, everyone knows about "lolek" or a "oh-bi-ga" only. You tell someone a normal person about jaeger-lecoultre, they will tell you simi lai eh..only enthusiasts will know the different watch brands like AP, PP, AP etc. Wear to market nobody will know also. hahaha As long as you like it, suits you. just hoot la

Either that just hoot a Steinhart Ocean 1. Wear and see it until you sian of the look. Won't tear your wallet with 1 big hole.

http://www.steinhartwatches.de/en/diver-watch.html

2057951298AnniTriton_01.jpg

610023722ocean_blk_01.jpg

Jaeger-LeCoultre-Navy-SEALS-Chronograph-1.jpg

mcdive2.jpg

winorlose

Or you can consider what i purchased recently. IWC Aquatimer chrono 3767 :D

90t94m.jpg

Recently tried the Oris Prodiver Titanium and didn't like it cause so light!

UpperCut

You can easily get a sapphire display back. JW for example sells it and they will assemble it for you and include a water resistance test.

For the second part, a bit harder :s13: depending on your budget, how about the Omega Dark Side of the Moon? It'll be in singapore at the end of the year. If you're into Rolexes, can have a look at the Explorer I or Explorer II too. Still common but slightly less common than the Submariner :s13:

Thanks for all the comments and recommendations!
Actually some of the other watches on my consideration list include the IWC Portugese Chrono(Voljoux), JLC Hometime, Reverso , Cartier Santos 100, Zenith El Primero Chronomaster .

I didn't know JW has glass backs, I go there almost every Thursday afternoon since my office is just 5 mins away.
How much do they charge? Will that affect the water resistance?

Omega Dark side of the moon looks great but the fact that its full ceramic seems to put it in a different price bracket. And for that I'd could go for a Daytona or a modified sub in PVD

ahboy82

For the price of a Rolex Sub (not sure which variant you are looking at), you can consider a few other under-rated models such as the JLC Master Compressor.

poison you abit. such a beauty.

Its true, everyone knows about "lolek" or a "oh-bi-ga" only. You tell someone a normal person about jaeger-lecoultre, they will tell you simi lai eh..only enthusiasts will know the different watch brands like AP, PP, AP etc. Wear to market nobody will know also. hahaha As long as you like it, suits you. just hoot la

Either that just hoot a Steinhart Ocean 1. Wear and see it until you sian of the look. Won't tear your wallet with 1 big hole

mcdive2.jpg

this looks good. wat's the price?

iamvintage

Actually some of the other watches on my consideration list include the IWC Portugese Chrono(Voljoux), JLC Hometime, Reverso , Cartier Santos 100, Zenith El Primero Chronomaster .

I didn't know JW has glass backs, I go there almost every Thursday afternoon since my office is just 5 mins away.

Omega Dark side of the moon looks great but the fact that its full ceramic seems to put it in a different price bracket. And for that I'd could go for a Daytona or a modified sub in PVD

Based on your choices, the IWC and Cartier are great choices. But then I'm biased :s13: the JLC too grows on you after a while, so does Zenith (and I'm not helping. Good headache.)

Iirc, JW charges about $200. Shouldn't affect the water resistance as they test it.

Yup, Dark Side of the Moon is pricey. Should retail around $15k. Which is around twice the current Moon Watch.

patryn33

1st I thought santos 100 is steel back.
With santos and iwc expensive all based on eta
Jlc is best decorated next is the zenith chronomaster

Changing to display back I am pretty certain it will affect the water resistance. If u wanna swim it dive don't do it. Wash hands ok. Rolex movement are not pretty to look at anyway.

iamvintage

Or you can consider what i purchased recently. IWC Aquatimer chrono 3767 :

Recently tried the Oris Prodiver Titanium and didn't like it cause so light!

Aquatimer is sibei chio. Unfortunately it's a bit big on my wrist, or so I tell myself. I love the day and date positioning. The metal bracelet looks good too and so does the leather strap

iamvintage

1st I thought santos 100 is steel back.
With santos and iwc expensive all based on eta
Jlc is best decorated next is the zenith chronomaster

Changing to display back I am pretty certain it will affect the water resistance. If u wanna swim it dive don't do it. Wash hands ok

Yup, the Santos 100 is steel back.

Not so sure how much it'll affect the water resistance but swimming shouldn't be an issue. Not so sure about diving due to the slight increase in pressure. But don't think it should be an issue too because most divers are unlikely to reach such great depths.

SpOrTsTeR79

Hi guys, I've been eyeing the new Sub for a long time (also considering the black/blue GMT2)

But there are 2 problems. First, Rolex do not come with glass back and that is a major turnoff. I like admiring the movements on my current Oris BC3. To me, not having a glass back is like buying a Ferrari 458 and not having a window to see the engine. As a result, I may consider the Omega planet ocean.

Secondly Rolex, submariners especially, seem to be so common nowadays I see them more often than Tissots. And for that my GF also hates them.

I'm hoping to get a decent watch by the time I turn 30 early next year. Any good alternatives or encouragement to convince me to get that Rolex would be most welcome!

I was in yr situation recently. The value n originality of the sub made me pull the trigger. Nv regret my choice. Get it over n done it, once n for all. Once of d nicest diver watch around. It certainly makes your 30th birthday w a Big Bang.

Although the omega po n Tudor blackbay still interests me, but looking at my sub, makes me thinks agin if I ever need another diver watch. It's the sorta things.... That once u hv it, nothing else comes close.

patryn33

Yup, the Santos 100 is steel back.

Not so sure how much it'll affect the water resistance but swimming shouldn't be an issue. Not so sure about diving due to the slight increase in pressure. But don't think it should be an issue too because most divers are unlikely to reach such great depths.

Water resistance is measured pulling the water in still water. Diving there is water current and movement it adds more pressure. There have interesting test in watchtime mag that some watch cannot tahan diving at certain depts.

Anyway it's mech leak just pay another $300-500 it get it service. Watch not broke

natas

oh i like the 3717 actually but hard to find now.
cos of the date window compared to 3777.

but i like the bracelet most :D

Ya 3717 old model, difficult to find. 3777, my friend got it for $6500 :eek: Dunno why, IWC pilot series loves to display 3 dates.. :D

Explorer.... esp white dial. :D

Everything is inflated today vs 10 yrs ago.
That's what we call inflation.

Minor inflation is good for economic. :D If prices remain the same for past 10 yrs, then the country is not developing and standstill. :eek:

UpperCut

Water resistance is measured pulling the water in still water. Diving there is water current and movement it adds more pressure. There have interesting test in watchtime mag that some watch cannot tahan diving at certain depts.

Anyway it's mech leak just pay another $300-500 it get it service. Watch not broke

I think as long as moisture doesn't get in when rinsing under tag water should be ok. Nobody takes a sub to dive lah. It's like our SUVs never goes offroad even if its meant for it

iamvintage

Good info :)

qweiop

does a movement need time to settle before it becomes accurate? i have a eta movement and aft about 3 days my watch is about 3 minutes faster. I use those internet websites to synchronise the time. Not sure is it considered accurate.

laopokcar_g

hello fellas.

any good 2nd hand shops to recommend. i see one or two shops in bencoolen. would prefer a shopping centre where's there's a cluster of them so it's more efficient

thanks in advance

iamvintage

does a movement need time to settle before it becomes accurate? i have a eta movement and aft about 3 days my watch is about 3 minutes faster. I use those internet websites to synchronise the time. Not sure is it considered accurate.

There shouldn't be a movement settle time, even if there is, a minute a day seems pretty off. If that a brand new watch?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.