The Watch Thread - Part 3

xtreamzz

i see.. the mako blue is definitely more attractive to me especially with a leather NATO strap:

6187409010_e2a8465db5_b.jpg

patryn33

I did come across a few hamilton watch but they are all above 1.3k. The design of cyma looks good but i do not know how reliable is it compare to seiko which is renowned in watch industry.

cyma is so rare that none of them wear it before?

Going rare go micro brands! Cyma is just rare here and not loved, it's like titoni. All runs on eta much like those micro brands
Ie
Chris ward
Time factors
Stowa
Uhr.info

Or ulu brand such as epos, frederique constant, louis erard

solidifry

Going rare go micro brands! Cyma is just rare here and not loved, it's like titoni. All runs on eta much like those micro brands
Ie
Chris ward
Time factors
Stowa
Uhr.info

Or ulu brand such as epos, frederique constant, louis erard

I have never heard of all these brands before. Haha. Though cyma is a Swiss watch, I don't where is it made from. If it is from Swiss, then it might be worthwhile to buy it.

balzebub

Recommend chinese watches...seagull dress watch with hacking and winding st21 movement...cheap alternative to tissot leloc etc..
7D8F4B08-C47D-4EA6-A8B2-8569E90011AD-293-00000016A4286210_zps907335b8.jpg

balzebub

Nope, only change battery twice...
anyway quartz dont really need to service, not much mechanical parts.

true but quartz also got moving parts similar to mechanical watch and those need to be lubricated from time to time, if you notice that your battery life is decreasing between battery changes then it is time to get the movement serviced or even replaced. And best to also get your watch tested for water resistance.....i ever took my 10 year old quartz hamilton into water and bam....it drowned,simply because the seals and gaskets cannot make it liao...

balzebub

reading through this thread i see many HWZers with really expensive watches..rolex..JLC..pams....etc easily in the 5 digit price range type, i mean seriously are Singaporeans making that much money?

iamvintage

nah... I'm not earning big bucks.. don't have to carry a branded watch around to show off. =P however, the next watch that I might buy is seiko monster. most probably getting an orange one. so instead of spending so much on a single watch, where I have nobody to impress other than myself, I will be spending money on different watches to suit my daily outfit. :p

That's another way of buying watches. Some people like to buy one or two expensive watches to pamper themselves. While others, like yourself, buy many value for money watches. The most important common factor between both types of buyers is that they are enjoying their time pieces :)

iamvintage

my wrist can't pull off diver watches
and they're too heavy for me

Actually the Orient diver watches are not very big. Some of them are about 40mm (excluding the crown) so they fit Asian men's wrist quite well. They are not as heavy as they look too. Weight is also less of an issue if you opt for a snug strap.

Seannie

That's another way of buying watches. Some people like to buy one or two expensive watches to pamper themselves. While others, like yourself, buy many value for money watches. The most important common factor between both types of buyers is that they are enjoying their time pieces :)

How about another group of people like myself who dont earn tat much but still wanna wear a decent presentable best valued watch, just one and only one till it gets spoilt? Not watch lover nor work really needs me to wear one but feels that a working man should at least wear a watch out of respect for other watch wearers / lovers.

Seannie

reading through this thread i see many HWZers with really expensive watches..rolex..JLC..pams....etc easily in the 5 digit price range type, i mean seriously are Singaporeans making that much money?

The people here who posts those rolex and luxury watches here are the elites lar. Singaporeans who are not making that much money will be struggling with their workload no free time come here all the time tok abt super atas watches. I myself no $ but after seeing the JLC posted here cannot tahan oso. If got extra $ to throw i will whack in the distant future, if i can one day make it like these rich guys here.

Seannie

Recommend chinese watches...seagull dress watch with hacking and winding st21 movement...cheap alternative to tissot leloc etc..
7D8F4B08-C47D-4EA6-A8B2-8569E90011AD-293-00000016A4286210_zps907335b8.jpg

Why the sea gull look alike with tissot lelicle?! Tamade. Tissot oso wanna imitate?!

Seannie

Cyma is for noobs.

Get seiko/tissot better

Yes noob, get a tissot. Quoting ahboy, it offers the best bang for buck and swiss made, you can get one for $500. I look look see see this thread for a few months ended up choosing tissot. One of the rare swiss brand watches u can get under 1k.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.