The Watch Thread - Part 3

Henabi

Buying a watch as a gift. Besides bencoolen...any other place?
Budget abt 300-400

hwaa

Buying a watch as a gift. Besides bencoolen...any other place?
Budget abt 300-400

mustafa? quite a variety of range. orient is there as well. orient, citizen, tissot, seiko, casio.. price is very good there.

edchys

75zq.jpg

Henabi

mustafa? quite a variety of range. orient is there as well. orient, citizen, tissot, seiko, casio.. price is very good there.

I been buying watches from Mustafa which are usually 10-15% lower than retailers but since I'm not really an expert when it comes to sourcing for value-for-money watches... better ask you all experts here who definitely have more lobang than me

balzebub

I been buying watches from Mustafa which are usually 10-15% lower than retailers but since I'm not really an expert when it comes to sourcing for value-for-money watches... better ask you all experts here who definitely have more lobang than me

But watches from mustafa is gray market or ?

balzebub

SINN looks nice, but heard many bad feeback on their quality now a days, and almost every SINN i see being sold pre-owned has been repaired before one..? Any SINN owners can share their experiences? Was thinking of picking up a used U2..

Henabi

not sure. I usually go Mustafa buy fashion brands which are quartz movement like adidas, casio, guess.

a few times quite tempted to hoot RW, rado or tissot in mustafa but just dont feel safe

hwaa

not sure. I usually go Mustafa buy fashion brands which are quartz movement like adidas, casio, guess.

a few times quite tempted to hoot RW, rado or tissot in mustafa but just dont feel safe

hmm.. why dun feel safe leh? its warranty by their respective agent one mah..

i think its cheap becos they are able to get in bulk compared to smaller retailers..

hwaa

i know it comes with warranty, considered gray? unless some audio stuffs, prior to buying they will tell u its export set with no warranty then its buy at yr own risk..

evets

SINN looks nice, but heard many bad feeback on their quality now a days, and almost every SINN i see being sold pre-owned has been repaired before one..? Any SINN owners can share their experiences? Was thinking of picking up a used U2..

i got my sinn u1 sdr in 2009...so far so good.

but i dont wear it often..one or 2 days a month....despite the minimal usage..the rubber strap already start to look wore out....

have u check THG?

takuyazzz

just sold my 1yr plus U1 a few weeks back, didnt have any problems with it

SpOrTsTeR79

i know it comes with warranty, considered gray? unless some audio stuffs, prior to buying they will tell u its export set with no warranty then its buy at yr own risk..

Thanks. Wana order the ovum, but looks like it's back logged.

balzebub

hmm.. why dun feel safe leh? its warranty by their respective agent one mah..

i think its cheap becos they are able to get in bulk compared to smaller retailers..

actually as long as got official warranty card that is stamped by a authorized dealer for that watch brand and is dated correctly, then should be safe. BUT i have ever been mislead by shop in Singapore whose name i shall not post here; they claimed the watch is not gray market, got warranty with distributor in singapore etc, even had warranty card dated and stamped by the shop. I trusted them, didn't check through that brand's authorized dealer list, so when i took the watch for repair at the brand's service centre it was thrown back at me, sorry we can repair but u need to pay as this was not purchased from our of our dealers blah blah...So always check and double check before paying..

takuyazzz

anyone ordered the new bronze Steinhart Nav.B Handwind? hand itchy again...zzz

dmitri

Had my Sinn U1 SDR for more than 1.5 years, no problems whatsoever but have since traded it off for something else.

Only complaints: Sub-par lume and bead-blasted finishing on the bracelet means it's impossible to self-maintain (as compared to polished / brushed surfaces). Oh and the silicon strap is a bit of a lint-magnet.

ComicBoy

I've actually got a couple of SINNs and they are all working well.

I think the issue with some owners is not that the quality is bad but is that if you want to send the watch for servicing, they will need to send it to Germany as they don't have the expertise here, especially the Hydro models. Servicing can take up to 6 months.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.