The Watch Thread - Part 4

TeenTitan01

Relax la bro, i take it that she should have better horology knowledge than most of us to get to do what she does? N if she doesn't she has the louder last laugh being able to try and critique watches and get paid for it

she mentioned her magazine owner. maybe they both got one leg.....? =:p

but if so, dah-amm bad taste man! don't say give free ah, pay me also dun want ah! :vijayadmin:

TeenTitan01

which other watch forums / website u all follow for all kinds of watches?

wah, there're simply too many...

here's just a few off the top of my head...

for the top tiers, there's PuristSPro: http://www.watchprosite.com/?show=forumlist.classic&fi=7

then there's Su Jia Xian (must support local mah!): Watches by SJX

Hodinkee: HODINKEE - Wristwatch News, Reviews, & Original Stories

a few covering a broader ranger including less atas brands...

Watch U Seek: http://www.watchuseek.com/home

A Blog To Watch: aBlogtoWatch World's Most Popular Watch Blog

Watch Time: WATCHTIME.COM | AMERICA'S NO. 1 WATCH MAGAZINE

and of course required reading on the recommended reading list is the acerbic but always entertaining curmudgeon, The Watch Snob: Watch Snob - AskMen

go knock yourself out! :D

hwaa

i only read hodinkee sometimes cos he do microbrands as well.

then wus.

no more.

TeenTitan01

u guys just make me guilty.........

now back to deciding betweem jlc reverso first followed by a yacht master few years later, or the other way round

:(:(:(

/.troll mode ON.

for the instant recognition (at least among the parvenu, plebians & peasants), status affirmation & envy inducing mileage per dollar spent, nothing less than a blingy rolex yellow-gold day-date with president bracelet can satisfy the insecure, confidence-lacking brand ***** in you.

or else in rose/pink gold if you're more self-conscious and less attention-seeking.

cheap cheap lah. less than $40K after the standard discounts for a brand new basic DD with no diamonds. cheaper if you go gray market. cheaper still if you go for older, pre-owned, classic ones with the stick indices.

just make sure you go for the fluted bezel for the iconic blingy rolex look. no discreet domed or even bark bezel, ok? and no rolex oyster bracelet - not loud enough, lol.

forget the white gold/platinum. for the ridiculous amounts you pour in, the ignorant will mistake that for s/steel. these are reserved for the really loaded who are into stealth wealth.

/.troll mode OFF.
/.flameproof suit. ON. :D

ps. mai angwee. just taking the mickey out of you as i've noticed from your posts that you're indeed an insecure, confidence-lacking brand *****, education & occupation notwithstanding.

protip: stay away from your shallow, superficial colleagues. and gain better, more sophisticated friends. better yet, develop your own confidence. it comes from within. not from any brand or acquisition.

All in a Day

/.troll mode ON.

for the instant recognition (at least among the parvenu, plebians & peasants), status affirmation & envy inducing mileage per dollar spent, nothing less than a blingy rolex yellow-gold day-date with president bracelet can satisfy the insecure, confidence-lacking brand ***** in you.

or else in rose/pink gold if you're more self-conscious and less attention-seeking.

cheap cheap lah. less than $40K after the standard discounts for a brand new basic DD with no diamonds. cheaper if you go gray market. cheaper still if you go for older, pre-owned, classic ones with the stick indices.

just make sure you go for the fluted bezel for the iconic blingy rolex look. no discreet domed or even bark bezel, ok? and no rolex oyster bracelet - not loud enough, lol.

forget the white gold/platinum. for the ridiculous amounts you pour in, the ignorant will mistake that for s/steel. these are reserved for the really loaded who are into stealth wealth.

/.troll mode OFF.
/.flameproof suit. ON. :D

ps. mai angwee. just taking the mickey out of you as i've noticed from your posts that you're indeed an insecure, confidence-lacking brand *****, education & occupation notwithstanding.

protip: stay away from your shallow, superficial colleagues. and gain better, more sophisticated friends. better yet, develop your own confidence. it comes from within. not from any brand or acquisition.

Think u read too much watch snob

Paladium

dah-ammm..... the affected accent, verbal cliches and unsophisticated, unfiltered babbling instead of a measured, composed response worthy of haute horology is cringe-inducing. arrrggghhh................!

no pinkerton syndrome here, but compare her to the ang mo?! bleh!

and she's an editor-in-chief? either stick to the printed page and don't embarrass yourself before a camera or for gawd's sake, take some interview, elocution and presentation lessons. stat.

Haha seen her in person before, her red hair isn't that bright in real life. Any way I read a few of her articles before and they are quite decent. As for her choices I disagree with the day dates, sorry I don't like the paddle pop route rolex took with the day dates. And although there were lots of fuss for the black shield it didn't sing to me. The dark side of the moon is delicious though so that is a clear winner to me between the two.

Paladium

ah! a fellow gentlemen of refinement! :)

the jlc mut pc certainly impressed me far more than the iwc gaudy monstrosity.

so there i was the other day at jlc's MBS boutique hoping to catch a glimpse & cop a feel their boutique only s/s model.

the scoundrels! they told me it will only come in in mar! o_0... wtf?!

disappointed....................!!!

I also want to take a look and try on the SS model. We should go together. =:p

xtwis7

Uninspiring choices... And pls stop messing around with your hair...

Wah, she has a tongue stud. She looks more like a biker than some watch journalist. Of course she knows her stuff but that's that.

RaId3n

any pros know shops that sell Muhle? Haven got a chance to check out their watches as they do not have AD in SG. Thanks!

ForThePride

Hi sorry this may be off topic but since this is the watch thread after all. Can anyone recommend where would a good place be to get a Suunto Core watch in Singapore. Preferably as reasonably priced as possible.
Suunto Core Blue Crush - Suunto

Thanks in advance.

Paladium

Hi sorry this may be off topic but since this is the watch thread after all. Can anyone recommend where would a good place be to get a Suunto Core watch in Singapore. Preferably as reasonably priced as possible.
Suunto Core Blue Crush - Suunto

Thanks in advance.

I may be wrong about this but isn't suunto overpriced in SG? My friends who have suunto bought theirs online.

rboyboy

Yes, for those with money to burn...

Tadaaa.... Haldimann H9 reduction watch

a watch with a opaque glass that does not show time....
wear this watch only when you reach nirvana...:s13::s13:

curry nah like that also can,i rather use black tape on my bambino :s13:

yattokame

May not be getting a watch for my wife after all.

"You buy watches for others because you yourself like watches. I'd rather have another nice bag."

Going to Chanel later.

All in a Day

May not be getting a watch for my wife after all.

"You buy watches for others because you yourself like watches. I'd rather have another nice bag."

Going to Chanel later.

"You buy watches for others because you yourself like watches." Exact words of my wife too haha.

balzebub

What a pity, they should have used a lower table. But it's ok, at most watch two times, one to focus on watches and another.. :s12:

Haha ya man they should use lower table...kinda zoned out after a while, all the watches featured i can never afford to buy one...so just focus on the other...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.