The Watch Thread - Part 4

darkgarnezh

do you all think Glashutte Original will start to get more popular or will it stay the poorer cousin of Lange?

trd2970

What would you recommend to someone with a 15k +/- budget looking for a dressy watch with leather strap. Brand of watch important. just would like to get some ideas

Stretch your budget a bit and go for a pp calatrava!

iceflight

perpetual for that price... hard to complain lar :s13:

Perpetual complication at this price, cannot beat....

May I know what is your wrist size ?

I think if u can wear a RM011, shouldn't be any problem wearing the AP one ?

The RM011 is really big in size to my eye.

RM 11 is big, but I like..... AP big but I dun like....... That's all lah.... Hahahaha...

Please no offense to those bros with AP here,...

Henabi

Perpetual complication at this price, cannot beat....

RM 11 is big, but I like..... AP big but I dun like....... That's all lah.... Hahahaha...

Its normal i guess each of us here definitely will appreciate some and diss some...

For me...i cant appreciate mont blanc, breitling, chopard, Bell & Ross and IWC.
Then there will be people here who dont like rolex or PP or RM

Jeremy1

Actually the more I see the RM011, the more I like it.......................:D

richard-mille-rm011-4.jpg

But at $100 over K.........................:s31:

Only the very rich can afford it, even if I strike Toto First Prize also have to think twice......................:s13:

Jeremy1

do you all think Glashutte Original will start to get more popular or will it stay the poorer cousin of Lange?

I think this is a hard question to answer. All depend on the company marketing strategy.....................;)

I also saw some brands were popular but getting not so down the year.

Jeremy1

So many into luxury dress watch, guess most of you are high profile white collar worker......................:)

Moi only wear T-shirt and Jean so a dress watch is a NO NO to me.......................:D

Time to show some nice sport watch pictures..........................:s12:

blancpain-fifty-fathoms-5015-3630-52-0409-3.jpg

AP-ROO-chrono-timepieces.jpg

patryn33

Tissot I know is called traditional perptual calendsr.
Raymond weil I think is Maestro Moon Phase*

Tissot trad perpetual calendar is quartz - just usd$400++

No perpetual leh
http://www.raymond-weil.com/en/mens-watches/watch-finder/maestro/maestro-2839-stc-00659/
http://www.ablogtowatch.com/raymond-weil-maestro-automatic-moon-phase-watch-review/

All in a Day

Lange's popularity is 2-fold. People who appreciate it's style, history, technicality and people who appreciate simply because it is an ALS and for the prices they command (these are like people who buy rolex simply for the brand but they are higher up the curve).

For GO to get "more popular" or emerge against ALS is an uphill task. Try to go more upmarket and it could get the type of flak like IWC and omega if the product does not justify the pricing. Even if the product matches up pricing, it will need to outdo the expected comparisons with ALS, which is very tough.

I suspect the luxury watch industry is such that most players are happy with the unspoken "equilibrium" and "ranking" within. More so for german/glashutte brands which is a more niched market.

The only possibility I can think of is if the GO senator somehow achieves cult status through a fragment of pop culture that is entirely incidental and unplanned for.

Henabi

Tissot trad perpetual calendar is quartz - just usd$400++

No perpetual leh
http://www.raymond-weil.com/en/mens-watches/watch-finder/maestro/maestro-2839-stc-00659/
http://www.ablogtowatch.com/raymond-weil-maestro-automatic-moon-phase-watch-review/

No wonder so cheap lah....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.