The Watch Thread - Part 4

yattokame

bro, u sure u didn't meant "My wife looks very sexy whilst wearing ONLY her Pam 219".

No offence hor! :D

that was what I thought too.
And I also told him I will wear ONLY the Pam219 for him but he finds me too hairy.

:s13::s13::s13:

TeenTitan01

this tag for dress watch is ke yi ma???

car2114.fc6292.jpg

a chrono not a dress watch, period.

you may still get away with wearing a black sub or black omega speedmaster pro for certain semi-formal events (with say coat & tie), but a simple dress watch in gold is mandatory for formal/black tie events.

the loaded can still get away with an annual or perpetual calender-chronograph in gold and leather strap... or a RM/that pave diamond encrusted watch they're dying to show off. maybe. roflmao.

iceflight

As above, I propose our 1st gathering to be on 29 Mar, Sat afternoon. Probably 1pm-ish till late noon so evening onwards can accompany family, gf, friends, etc.

Venue: Open to suggestions. Somewhere affordable, comfortable, indoors where we can meet away from prying eyes.

Objective: To put a face to our nicks/facilitate watch discussion/share lobangs on watches or otherwise/hands holding, networking, etc.

Anyone in this thread is invited and encouraged to join, regardless what kind of watch you are wearing. I think we generally don't ostracize the brand, type, etc.

Will start a new thread to facilitate discussions once the gathering is confirmed with a healthy number of participants so it doesn't get overwhelmed by the crazy number of posts update daily.

Add your nicks to your list if you are able to make it.

1. Paladium
2. Henabi
3. Aerolord
4. All in a Day
5. Yattokame

My agenda
1) will bring snacks from Japan to share. Tokyo banana is out - short shelf life.
2) those of you who promised to hold my hand better make true your promise. LOL
3) will bring most of my watches as well as magazines and stuff.

Even if the cafe does not chase us out because of (1), they probably will due to (2).

This is interesting, but I can only confirm probably 1 week before the date. I'm usually traveling... at the moment, it seems open.

I'll suggest the cafe at Singapore Island Country Club, either clubhouse, if it's convenient to all, pretty private and no one will chase u out.....

Today the sun hits the watch, and I haven't been wearing for quite a while, this shot really shows the nice dial, everytime I look at it, there isn't another PP that quite look better than this to me...

68d06bf0-ad3d-4599-8b76-5b3c8146e43f.jpg

iV3RsOn

depends on you bah... and how strict you are when it comes to classifying a watch as "Dress watch"

I know those in the forum who are really into watches will not see this TH carrera as a dress watch.

jus being random lah.... randomly beo TH so put here.... LOLOLOL :s13::s13::s13:

iV3RsOn

a chrono not a dress watch, period.

you may still get away with wearing a black sub or black omega speedmaster pro for certain semi-formal events (with say coat & tie), but a simple dress watch in gold is mandatory for formal/black tie events.

the loaded can still get away with an annual or perpetual calender-chronograph in gold and leather strap... or a RM/that pave diamond encrusted watch they're dying to show off. maybe. roflmao.

dun say omega speedmaster pro liao.... i tio poison very deep deep liao...
:(:(:(

Azrielsc

that was what I thought too.
And I also told him I will wear ONLY the Pam219 for him but he finds me too hairy.

:s13::s13::s13:

bro, u sure u didn't meant "My wife looks very sexy whilst wearing ONLY her Pam 219".

No offence hor! :D

No worries lah, not so easily offended. All of us are just joking around. :)

Found out this morning, she took my 389, changed to her red watch strap and went out. I was both pleasantly surprised and a bit shocked....

1. Surprised: She actually paid attention to how to change watch straps.

2. Shocked: SHE TOOK MY 389 OUT and she used a 24mm instead of the 26mm strap. *slap forehead*

So please, anyone who sees her (1.76m tall (with heels) lady with a pam 389 + red watch strap)... please point it out to her!!

Nakedtoes

This is interesting, but I can only confirm probably 1 week before the date. I'm usually traveling... at the moment, it seems open.

I'll suggest the cafe at Singapore Island Country Club, either clubhouse, if it's convenient to all, pretty private and no one will chase u out.....

Today the sun hits the watch, and I haven't been wearing for quite a while, this shot really shows the nice dial, everytime I look at it, there isn't another PP that quite look better than this to me...

Drooling........

natas

Finally, this thread is getting interesting. :s12: No particular person keep condemning about Rolex and keeps promoting Tag :D

Keep it up. I might join the gathering if I am in SG.

No high end watch.... have only mid range IWC 3717, Rolex Exp2, Breitling SO 44.

aerolord

must control.... :eek:...............

Finally, this thread is getting interesting. :s12: No particular person keep condemning about Rolex and keeps promoting Tag :D

No high end watch.... have only mid range IWC 3717, Rolex Exp2, Breitling SO 44.

mai humble :(

TeenTitan01

if anyone wants to start the beat down on tag, just holler.

i'll start the ball rolling. :D

same for iwc as well. :D

no offense to all tag & iwc owners. just trolling & teasing for fun. just like what i regularly do for the rolex yellow gold day-date (w/ diamonds). roflmao.

All in a Day

this tag for dress watch is ke yi ma???

car2114.fc6292.jpg

Strictly speaking, dress watches are exactly that: for dress and to tell time only. How about a day, date complication one might ask? Pretty acceptable to me but maybe not to a purist. Then we move on to chronograph: strictly speaking, a stop watch function have no place as a dress watch.

I keep using the term "strictly speaking" because in this day and age, dress codes (watches or otherwise) have moved with the times. So really, dress watch or not the line is blurred. Try telling fully suited up gents with ROO and PAMs at formal functions that they are not wearing a proper dress watch.

Having a true dress watch probably only matters in "dress" or formal attire/occasions. In that context and in particular for Singapore, dress codes are even more liberally intepreted than elsewhere with weather as the main (and IMO justifiable to an extent) reason. I therefore find it quite ironical to nitpick on the dress watch if the other more prominent aspects of formal dressing are already "off" to begin with.

yattokame

if anyone wants to start the beat down on tag, just holler.

i'll start the ball rolling. :D

same for iwc as well. :D

no offense to all tag & iwc owners. just trolling & teasing for fun. just like what i regularly do for the rolex yellow gold day-date (w/ diamonds). roflmao.

thank you very much lor :s22:

yattokame

Strictly speaking, dress watches are exactly that: for dress and to tell time only. How about a day, date complication one might ask? Pretty acceptable to me but maybe not to a purist. Then we move on to chronograph: strictly speaking, a stop watch function have no place as a dress watch.

I keep using the term "strictly speaking" because in this day and age, dress codes (watches or otherwise) have moved with the times. So really, dress watch or not the line is blurred. Try telling fully suited up gents with ROO and PAMs at formal functions that they are not wearing a proper dress watch.

Having a true dress watch probably only matters in "dress" or formal attire/occasions. In that context and in particular for Singapore, dress codes are even more liberally intepreted than elsewhere with weather as the main (and IMO justifiable to an extent) reason. I therefore find it quite ironical to nitpick on the dress watch if the other more prominent aspects of formal dressing are already "off" to begin with.

speaking of dress code...... I received an invite from Munich automobile for a function where the dress code is "urban edge" I was like WTF is that????
end up never go.:s22:

All in a Day

If u can bring us all into SICC (am sure u can since u suggested it?), it will be a nice venue (and an eye opener at least for me). I need to lompang somebody's car in/out though. Too far in to walk! And must tell us the dress code cos we don't want to be left at the door!

TeenTitan01

bro All in a Day, i wholeheartedly agreed with you!

however, in the interest of public education to raise/maintain the general standards of horological awareness, appreciation and attention to detail, it's important to know the rules first before/in order to break them, no? :D

it would be a terrible faux pax if a watch wearer straps on something in ignorance especially in a setting/situation that matters, whether here or elsewhere.

it may show up his lack of etiquette, finesse & breeding.

knowing what's appropriate will set you apart from the parvenu ignoramii.

just sayin.

:D

TeenTitan01

thank you very much lor :s22:

aiyoh! just taking the mickey out of tag/iwc for trying to overreach, yet not quite succeeding...

as iceflight dai kor dai said, would you downgrade to iwc for your perpetual calender-chronograph now that you've your sports pp nautilus? that would be odd right, since a dress complication timepiece should be the most atas watch in a gentleman's collection.

imo, your dress complication should at least be a patek philippe, vacheron constantine, audemars piguet, a lange & sohne, piaget, chopard, etc.

serious.

:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.