The Watch Thread - Part 4

zzyzx

If u can bring us all into SICC (am sure u can since u suggested it?), it will be a nice venue (and an eye opener at least for me). I need to lompang somebody's car in/out though. Too far in to walk! And must tell us the dress code cos we don't want to be left at the door!

SICC security very on the ball btw.. LOL..

All in a Day

bro All in a Day, i wholeheartedly agreed with you!

however, in the interest of public education to raise/maintain the general standards of horological awareness, appreciation and attention to detail, it's important to know the rules first before/in order to break them, no? :D

it would be a terrible faux pax if a watch wearer straps on something in ignorance especially in a setting/situation that matters, whether here or elsewhere.

it may show up his lack of etiquette, finesse & breeding.

knowing what's appropriate will set you apart from the parvenu ignoramii.

just sayin.

:D

Agree too! Good learning for everyone. I bought my NOMOS Orion after learning about dress watches (in lieu of an unattainable Calatrava).

TeenTitan01

speaking of dress code...... I received an invite from Munich automobile for a function where the dress code is "urban edge" I was like WTF is that????
end up never go.:s22:

i think it means minimum no stuffy 3 piece suit, and no tie.

maybe the fashionistas here may care to comment.

unker here to lkk & stuffy to be hot & trendy anymore. maybe. roflmao.

All in a Day

aiyoh! just taking the mickey out of tag/iwc for trying to overreach, yet not quite succeeding...

as iceflight dai kor dai said, would you downgrade to iwc for your a perpetual calender-chronograph now that you've your sports pp nautilus? that would be odd right, since a dress complication timepiece should be the most atas watch in a gentleman's collection.

imo, your dress complication should at least be a patek philippe, vacheron constantine, audemars piguet, a lange & sohne, piaget, chopard, etc.

serious.

:)

For those of us still haven't reach PP level yet, better climb slowly and enjoy some of the lesser brands 1st. Otherwise buy PP liao cannot "downgrade" anymore.. hehehe

Daniel.Y

What a surprise I got after not watching over this thread hl for just a couple of days.. I have to cover over 80 pages. Lots of hidden dragon here. Full of admiration.

TeenTitan01

For those of us still haven't reach PP level yet, better climb slowly and enjoy some of the lesser brands 1st. Otherwise buy PP liao cannot "downgrade" anymore.. hehehe

well bro All in a Day, that's certainly one approach (and a valid one).

on the other hand, there's a school of thought (not necessarily valid) that eschews the middle rungs and "go for the best and ignore the rest". that way, the amount otherwise spent of watches like tag, iwc, etc (sorry tag/iwc owners, no offence but the troll in me just can't resist it, roflmao) can be channeled into a watch/watches "that matters".

ok, i said it.

i've put my flamesuit on and is ready to be flamed & skewered.

please be gentle!

xtwis7

1. Paladium
2. Henabi
3. Aerolord
4. All in a Day
5. Yattokame
6. xtwis7

But so far it seems that those who are attending are all those extremely high lebel bros. As much as I feel confident about myself, one would naturally feel a slight hint of pressure when you're surrounded by watches worth more than a house if you add them up.

Just my 2 cents so I may give this a miss cause this thought is just quite unsettling.

yattokame

1. Paladium
2. Henabi
3. Aerolord
4. All in a Day
5. Yattokame
6. xtwis7

But so far it seems that those who are attending are all those extremely high lebel bros. As much as I feel confident about myself, one would naturally feel a slight hint of pressure when you're surrounded by watches worth more than a house if you add them up.

Just my 2 cents so I may give this a miss cause this thought is just quite unsettling.

where got? all the dai gor dai and dai dai gor havent put their names down.
you only have me the "dai kor" (underwear). skarly someone comes in with every single OPUS from the Harry Winston collection.

...............That guy, we call him "Laughing gor" (undercover)

Henabi

1. Paladium
2. Henabi
3. Aerolord
4. All in a Day
5. Yattokame
6. xtwis7

Xtwis7... don't feel unsettled or disturbed. Join me join me.
I will wear G shock or my 25hours..

SICC... wah...

TeenTitan01

ok. to clarify...

with lesser people wearing watches now to tell time, has appreciation and knowledge of watches decreased? perhaps, perhaps not.

all of us had to start our watch appreciation journey somewhere, with some having the benefit of position & people around them or even their own research & reading to start them off at a higher (though not necessarily better) footing. (some obnoxious wealthy only buy based on price, resulting in vulgar pieces that are abominations, just to out-peacock each other. they are the same noobs who don't have a clue where the engines of their porsches are located).

but the majority remain clueless, lack the knowledge or just couldn't be bothered about the finer points of mechanical watches like watch nerds/nuts/aficionados/connoisseurs/etc.

those that are starting out are limited by knowledge and are invariably swayed by popular opinion & advertising. which leads them to watches like rolex day-date in yellow gold w/diamonds, tag-heuer, iwc, etc which, in watch connoisseurs' eyes, are not the epitome of horology the ads try to sell you.

true watch connoisseurs, imo, are not into luxury for luxury's sake, but appreciate the value for money aspects of watches especially the ability of a watchmaker to make their own inhouse movements.

that's why brands like seiko, orient are given the nod, even thought they're cheap & affordable because they're honest and don't overcharge you for merely dropping a ready made eta ebache into a case, slap on a swiss made label and charge you a (relatively hefty) sum that does not justify.

likewise luxury brands give value for money for the unique & innovative mechanical design, value add, finesse and prestige they bring to their watches.

but alas, not so for the middle rung brands i'm afraid, but w/ certain iconic watches like omega speedmaster professional moon watch & icons-in-the-making like tudor black bay & tudor pelagos among others being the exception.

Henabi

yeahhh chill.... i also not a fan of TH... nothing but omega speedmaster pro!!!
LOLOLOLOLOL

I'm a TH fan ^.^ and I agree with tt01 gor gor that the formal wear dress code in singapore is really basic.

Guys working in offices in hotter countries like thailand. Indonesia n india Will wear shirt+tie+blazer...

Other countries like taiwan. China. Japan. Korea is no horse run...

yattokame

well bro All in a Day, that's certainly one approach (and a valid one).

on the other hand, there's a school of thought (not necessarily valid) that eschews the middle rungs and "go for the best and ignore the rest". that way, the amount otherwise spent of watches like tag, iwc, etc (sorry tag/iwc owners, no offence but the troll in me just can't resist it, roflmao) can be channeled into a watch/watches "that matters".

ok, i said it.

i've put my flamesuit on and is ready to be flamed & skewered.

please be gentle!

agree. I used to just buy watches that seem affordable so I ended up with quite a bit of safe queens. until recently I started to trim my collection and just settle for the best of what I can afford - hence a huge jump from the santos100 to the nautilus.

Donten

am actually considering trading my swatch irony skeleton but condition not very good. lotsa scratches here and there - who will want it?
havent worn it for..... 6yrs at least hahaha.

strap on your kid. let them learn to tell time.

TeenTitan01

1. Paladium
2. Henabi
3. Aerolord
4. All in a Day
5. Yattokame
6. xtwis7

aiyoh! don't take the gathering as an event to show off to each other lah!

even iceflight dai kor dai also keep reminding us that he's a "small case" & there are higher mountains. (but frankly hor, he is a HUGE "small case" and a BIG mountain already, roflmao). :D

those elite kor kors here who post their atas grail watches are just sharing their joy with us.

from their postings, i'm convinced they're humble, friendly & approachable. otherwise, they won't bother sharing & posting also, right? ;)

just treat it as a gathering of watch nuts/nerds who love to gush about their love of watches and take the opportunity to admire & molest each others' babies with great care and always above a padded tray! and certainly not over any hard surfaces or gawd forbid, the floor, in case clumsiness leads to accidents!.

unker here posted too many inflammatory anti-establishment rants in edmw, so would be missing the gathering to avoid any unnecessary grief, roflmao.

enjoy your gathering folks, and please post fr and photos for unker, can?

thanks!

yattokame

I can bring the watch trays......bought two from Ten10. very good quality.

Need to wear gloves or not?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.