The Watch Thread - Part 4

TeenTitan01

yah my wife says it looks like LV logo

ok is there a macdonald's nearby? wanna grab some ketchup and chilli sauce to go with the grass. :s13:

mai kong chio lah.

even if grass, your type of grass is the atas type like wheatgrass: all healthy & wealthy one siboh? roflmao!

huat ah!

Jeremy1

the only relative downside is its use of eta as its movement.

if it uses it's own movement, it'll be a superior choice to a sub even if it's priced the same for it lacks the annoying fake/homage baggage of rolex, and also the mafiaso/parvenu brand-***** wannabe associations. rolex is a good watch which unfortunately is overpriced, overhyped & overexposed.

But a modified ETA or other movement as long as it's 30% and above is considered a inhouse movement ?

Jeremy1

Guys.
Just tell me wheres the biggest field in sg? I need to eat grass for the next 3 yrs. :(

Hahahahaha......

Really. No more watches for the next few years. Enough is enough.
Wife doesnt like the diamond VI dial.....and she wants a black dial. Black dial doesnt come with dia VI but shes ok with it.

When I am ready to get my AP, please pm me your dedicated SA.

Sure can get very good price one mentioning your name.

:D

chengkhi

Guys.
Just tell me wheres the biggest field in sg? I need to eat grass for the next 3 yrs. :(

Hahahahaha......

I don't understand ... why 3 years figure ? pluck from air or use 36mths installment :s13:

CNY gatherings in your family must be blink blink everywhere, all diamonds and Rolexes ...:D Huat ah !!

yattokame

I don't understand ... why 3 years figure ? pluck from air or use 36mths installment :s13:

CNY gatherings in your family must be blink blink everywhere, all diamonds and Rolexes ...:D Huat ah !!

Haha pluck from air lah.
Okok next 10yrs hahaha

All in a Day

I think the ADs are losing AP soon. AP seems to wanna sell on their own; like VW.

Worldwide or only in Singapore? Hard to imagine. Not an expert, so no brands come to my mind that are sold w/o ADs.

No doubt AP will sell regardless AD or boutique exclusive.. Assuming the motivation for this decision is purely economics (the criteria to qualify as AD is quite strict as it is so don't think it's got to do with brand image, except perhaps for inaccessible yet important markets), am just thinking the implication is that AP can make more $ selling themselves (which involve setting up shop and ongoing operational and staff costs) vs simply make margin from AD plus whatever fees they charge for retaining a shop as AD.

Jeremy1

Worldwide or only in Singapore? Hard to imagine. Not an expert, so no brands come to my mind that are sold w/o ADs.

No doubt AP will sell regardless AD or boutique exclusive.. Assuming the motivation for this decision is purely economics (the criteria to qualify as AD is quite strict as it is so don't think it's got to do with brand image, except perhaps for inaccessible yet important markets), am just thinking the implication is that AP can make more $ selling themselves (which involve setting up shop and ongoing operational and staff costs) vs simply make margin from AD plus whatever fees they charge for retaining a shop as AD.

There is always Grey Dealera around........................:D

All in a Day

Is there anything bad about Watch Companies owned by Swatch Group ? :s8:

Isn't it better in term of financial position ? ;)
There are perceptions that certain 'values' associated with watch brands may be overshadowed or neglected by 'commercialised' marketing strategy of the Swatch group after they have been taken over.

Don't have enought knowledge or experience to comment whether there is truth in that.

But one thing for sure, many people do find a standalone family brand having more heritage and quality than a brand under Swatch group.

Test yourself: If you are now told that PP is under Swatch group (everything else about the brand and watches remain exactly the same and unchanged), will u still view PP the same?

Jeremy1

There are perceptions that certain 'values' associated with watch brands may be overshadowed or neglected by 'commercialised' marketing strategy of the Swatch group after they have been taken over.

Don't have enought knowledge or experience to comment whether there is truth in that.

But one thing for sure, many people do find a standalone family brand having more heritage and quality than a brand under Swatch group.

Test yourself: If you are now told that PP is under Swatch group (everything else about the brand and watches remain exactly the same and unchanged), will u still view PP the same?

True to say that but it's really pretty hard to stay on it's own especially most of the watch making companies are small in size.

Just wondering who will be next in line to be taken over.................:o

chengkhi

If this is true, probably Sg only, AP themselves probably do not have the reach yet of any ADs in big countries.

Sg is easy as it is a small place. I think consumers are smart now in a globalized world, if AP takes away the dealership from local ADs and tries to control the prices here for bigger margin, we probably turn to grey.

Jeremy1

Grey dealers get from ADs themselves. If no AD then there will be no grey.. perhaps only pre-owned market.

Actually don't know about others, but I don't mind getting a pre-owned one if condition is good and u can save quite an amount of $$$.

I guessed people ( don't say about collector ) who owned luxury watches do take care of their watch as it's a valuable item in their life.

;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.