The Watch Thread - Part 4

TeenTitan01

I dont even have a rolex. Wife has two. Mummy also two.

actually you had one, :)

rolex is ok. i just like to take the mickey out of those who are either brand whores who don't know of better, more sound & superior horological offerings, or lack the confidence to carry off a brand that's unfortunately been tainted with its association with the mafiaso/gangsters/ah longs, fake/homage baggage & the unrefined, vulgar brand ***** parvenu.

some of the rolexes i like are:

1. the rolex yachtmaster with blue dial and red seconds hand. looks masculine & striking compared to the emaciated-looking snow white with platinum dial.

2. the white gold daytona with silver pearlescant dial, black roman numerals and red hands on all dials. easy to read and looks the business: masculine & race car sporty.

3. the day-date in pink gold as it blends well with our light asian skin tone without shouting too much. with a soft pink gold dial with stick-style indices and railway track minute chapter ring, with a dome bezel (as opposed to the fluted bezel for less bling), oyster braclet (instead of the president, again for lesser bling factor) and definitely in the 36mm size. i find the DDII to be vulgarly out of proportion esp its bezel, urggh!

4. the datejust 36mm in s/steel or white gold with silver pearlescent dial with the older stick-style indices and railway track minute chapter ring. discreet & classy. can almost pass off as a seiko from a distance.

5. the sub, merely to complete my collection of significant iconic watches along with the likes of the speedy (but only the sandwich will do - no tedious hesalite/polywatch hassle for me - historical accuracy in this instance is over-rated)

oh, and no diamonds, thank you very much. reserve those for the distaff or those distasteful & boorish rapper-gangsters from the 'hood.

yattokame

You had a PP liao, your mum and wife have a Diamond Rolex each liao. :s8:

Who's next on your list ? :s13:

Actually they also have a TT datejust each.

Thats why I got the PP. Once and for all. No need think abt other watches etc (who am i kidding right hahahaha)

chengkhi

Hahaha i wish I that big shot man hahaha

You probably singlehandedly boosted the monthly sales of that outlet with your purchases as well as those friends who bought Daytona etc. They can rest easy in Feb (being a short month) as target was met in Jan. :s13:

Jeremy1

Actually they also have a TT datejust each.

Thats why I got the PP. Once and for all. No need think abt other watches etc (who am i kidding right hahahaha)

I heard people who owned an PP will ventured into more prestige watch like RM and etc after that.......................:)

That's what one of the AD SA told me......................:D

yattokame

I heard people who owned an PP will ventured into more prestige watch like RM and etc after that.......................:)

That's what one of the AD SA told me......................:D

Not at that level yet leh sorry haha
But yes did consider. After I finish the grass in this side. Then go to the grass on the greener side. Hahahha

yattokame

You probably singlehandedly boosted the monthly sales of that outlet with your purchases as well as those friends who bought Daytona etc. They can rest easy in Feb (being a short month) as target was met in Jan. :s13:

No lah too kua zhang hahaha

Their sale volume quite high being an orchard branch

Jeremy1

Not at that level yet leh sorry haha
But yes did consider. After I finish the grass in this side. Then go to the grass on the greener side. Hahahha

Waiting for your new watch soon.......................:D

TeenTitan01

But a modified ETA or other movement as long as it's 30% and above is considered a inhouse movement ?

i respect true 100% in-house movements designed & built from the ground up.

in this regard, from a value-for-money, horologically-sound pov, you cannot go wrong with jaeger-lecoultre.

jlc has so many patents and its movements so well regarded that they were used by many top tier brands like ap, van cleef & arpels, etc. eg. a jlc movement caliber 920 was rebadged as caliber 2121 by ap and used for its iconic royal oak, which saved their bacon back in the days of the quartz crisis, and later the same movement was used by pp for its nautilus.

another well-respected manufacture is piaget.

it's no coincidence that both piaget & jlc is the current top 2 when it comes to the thinnest movements in the world: a technically demanding achievement that is as unforgiving as it is exquisite. it amply demonstrate the capabilities of these 2 well-respected true watchmakers as opposed to assemblers who merely drop a ready-made ebache in their custom cases/dials.

ps. rolex is also a 100% in-house movement, albeit utilitarian, undecorated and boring - but robust & reliable.

balzebub

There are perceptions that certain 'values' associated with watch brands may be overshadowed or neglected by 'commercialised' marketing strategy of the Swatch group after they have been taken over.

Don't have enought knowledge or experience to comment whether there is truth in that.

But one thing for sure, many people do find a standalone family brand having more heritage and quality than a brand under Swatch group.

Test yourself: If you are now told that PP is under Swatch group (everything else about the brand and watches remain exactly the same and unchanged), will u still view PP the same?

Actually I don't care what group owns what...as long as I like the watch, can afford it, said company provides decent level of after sales service and support I will buy lor and what everyone else thinks isn't very important to me.

Jeremy1

Actually I don't care what group owns what...as long as I like the watch, can afford it, said company provides decent level of after sales service and support I will buy lor and what everyone else thinks isn't very important to me.

Price competition coming.......................:s13:

If Swatch group cut prices across the line to kill those smaller companies so to monopolise the watch market..........................:s12:

TeenTitan01

I don't understand ... why 3 years figure ? pluck from air or use 36mths installment :s13:

CNY gatherings in your family must be blink blink everywhere, all diamonds and Rolexes ...:D Huat ah !!

it's yattokame's way of throwing down the gauntlet to all would-be challengers: "bling it on!". roflmao.

huat ah!

yattokame

Oh this morning I was at ION IWC. My skin tone doesnt suit the little prince. 66k or something. The normal ones look nicer.

TeenTitan01

There are perceptions that certain 'values' associated with watch brands may be overshadowed or neglected by 'commercialised' marketing strategy of the Swatch group after they have been taken over.

Don't have enought knowledge or experience to comment whether there is truth in that.

But one thing for sure, many people do find a standalone family brand having more heritage and quality than a brand under Swatch group.

Test yourself: If you are now told that PP is under Swatch group (everything else about the brand and watches remain exactly the same and unchanged), will u still view PP the same?

haha. i'm expecting or hoping for a swatch vs richemont faceoff/deathmatch in this thread.

anyone wants to start/stir? lol.

totally agree with your above statement. independence, unbroken lineage, technically proficient in-house movements, consistent & sustained quality are valuable attributes in haute horology.

otherwise why pay 5 figures or more when a low 3 figure seiko 5 does the same job almost as well?

Jeremy1

At what age did you guys bought your first piece and what was it/occasion?

Age 32, got a Rolex Yachtmaster as I win $$$ from stock market................:D

Moi think oldest to get liao......................;)

Hold on................Casio counted boh ? :D

TeenTitan01

Hahaha i wish I that big shot man hahaha

be proud of your achievements. you worked hard for them. you deserved it!

huat ah!

ps. when are you opening your very own AD? we come support! wis talk to wis always more fun and satisfying. some more sure both sides sure win-win one. huat ah!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.