The Watch Thread - Part 4

yattokame

Actually purely from aesthetics reason, I like the open-hearts if done nicely, just showing a tiny bit of the mechanism... Looking at the inner workings can be therapeutic....
Only that some unscrupulous sellers termed them tourbillon to scam people.

Thats why i started with skeletons, and now must have display caseback. It really is very therapeutic to watch the movements go.
I know a lot of folks here like Frederique const but I really dont like them for this specific reason. I dunno if u can even see the balance wheel or escapement in those watches or just that thing with a jewel. Aesthetically i feel it looks horrid. Either u openwork/skeletonize the whole watch or you don't. Or show the moving parts.

Some cheap tricks, like what you say, for some brands is to make the balance wheel look like a tourbillon.

Sorry, my humble opinion and pardon my rant. On MC these few days.

yattokame

my skeletons.

6508140379_61c7639a49.jpg
[/url]
IMG_7338[/IMG]

6508140383_876ef113d2.jpg
[/url]
IMG_7339[/IMG]

6507975585_21e6289536.jpg
[/url]
IMG_7337[/IMG]

6507975569_205de518da.jpg
[/url]
IMG_7336[/IMG]

and the more affordable ones too....

I'm quite picky in choosing skeleton watches; however recently there has been a lot of fashion watches with very very ugly skeletons.

kiwitan

Probably the next watch is tourbillion

New Sea-Gull tourbillon 818.900 wrist watch

Thats why i started with skeletons, and now must have display caseback. It really is very therapeutic to watch the movements go.
I know a lot of folks here like Frederique const but I really dont like them for this specific reason. I dunno if u can even see the balance wheel or escapement in those watches or just that thing with a jewel. Aesthetically i feel it looks horrid. Either u openwork/skeletonize the whole watch or you don't. Or show the moving parts.

Some cheap tricks, like what you say, for some brands is to make the balance wheel look like a tourbillon.

Sorry, my humble opinion and pardon my rant. On MC these few days.

ecan07

Nope not at all.

This is one thing I hate in watches personally. Is it trying to mimic a tourbillon? It got you right there. What can u see from that tiny opening? I really dunno.

actually what is tourbillon? I dunno wor and right nw I'm too noob to bother hahaha. Also not to see anything really. Jus like the design like a bro said, clean and simply enough. Price was right then buy lor. It was on sale and last day liao so I din have too much time to think. Even so I gave myself some time to walk ard and see some more watches. Came back again before they close then finally got it, tgt with a watch winder (angessroll or something) for additional $50 (purchase on purchase).

yattokame

The maurice one is nice.
How much is it cost ?

bought it 10 yrs ago with my first bonus... I was 26 then?
about 4k?

the corum is supposed to be nicer but the blxxdy domed shaped bubble is hard to take a nice pic of.
the 6 o clock position has the corum key.

0604tn02.jpg

thumb.php

yattokame

actually what is tourbillon? I dunno wor and right nw I'm too noob to bother hahaha. Also not to see anything really. Jus like the design like a bro said, clean and simply enough. Price was right then buy lor. It was on sale and last day liao so I din have too much time to think. Even so I gave myself some time to walk ard and see some more watches. Came back again before they close then finally got it, tgt with a watch winder (angessroll or something) for additional $50 (purchase on purchase).

sorry if you found it offensive, but like i said, it's just my opinion.
we just have diff tastes.

I'm happy for you that you found and bought something you like!

like some friends here like ROO bumblebee or what (but I don't - I really find those colourful ROOs look like G-shocks), while some like Panerai (I really dun understand the hoo-haa).

Really, just my opinion. most imptly it's your money and you spend it on what you like :)

yattokame

tourbillon is a mechanism (or complication) that negates the effect of gravity on the balance wheel of a watch (experts: am I right?)

can read more about it. swiss watches with tourbillons cost around 6 digits and above. more of an aesthetic exercise than a real technical need, IMHO.

ecan07

This watch sure doesn't looked like a 300 buck watch from what I see.....................:s8:

And some more it's Made In Japan as stated on the dial..........................:s8:

Oh no... Means wat? I got a fake or paid too much for it?
Anw I think no date and less complicated perhaps? But I actually like that it is thin enough, an orient model with sapphire crystal is actually much thicker than this. Plus my watch water resistant is Machiam nth I think, like 10 bar (I wash hand also a bit scared)

yattokame

Probably the next watch is tourbillion

New Sea-Gull tourbillon 818.900 wrist watch

actually many years ago a friend and myself went to one of the factories in HK, wanting to buy a skeleton with a flying tourbillon from the factory direct. they were selling on ebay, something like this:

RG Plated Skeleton 1 MIN Real Flying Tourbillon | eBay

back then they were asking for about 1-2k.

the factory told us they will only sell in bulk, and we had to order at least 200 pcs.

ecan07

sorry if you found it offensive, but like i said, it's just my opinion.
we just have diff tastes.

I'm happy for you that you found and bought something you like!

like some friends here like ROO bumblebee or what (but I don't - I really find those colourful ROOs look like G-shocks), while some like Panerai (I really dun understand the hoo-haa).

Really, just my opinion. most imptly it's your money and you spend it on what you like :)

No la not offended. Just curious cos I heard the term a few times but I mong cha cha scratch head. Lol.
Just happy enough to have a watch I can really wear and look say, slightly more professional than my swatch (which was my 21st Bday present, still sentimentally impt).
Was actually aiming for a second watch liao, maybe a quartz or something simpler yet casual and fashionable yet not too much of a financial burden also haha.
**** getting poisoned! That can wait at least :p

All in a Day

For layman understanding, which is the level i m at, tourbillon is a very expensive (at least for swiss brands) and (supposedly) highly complex movement. Typically tourbillon dials have a "window" design to view the movement similar to ur watch.

My parts in brackets are necessitated because there are china tourbillon movements that are priced much lower. If u read some pages back, there was a short discussion on tourbillon.

All in a Day

One reason i enjoy this thread is in getting exposed to different preferences and choices of watches across brands and budgets by all of us.

Henabi

Nice seiko watch :)

Sorry.... Just finished meeting in Indonesia and this thread already jumped so MANY PAGES!!!!! O.0

Panerex

Either around 25k or more from boutique/AD, iirc. Grey pieces i think around 23k?

Haha i highly doubt so but can always hope lah. :D

Still in production.

Otherwise there's always the Royal Oak Chronograph. Pre-owned shops can find within your 15k budget.

Think there's pre-owned Roo diver for less than 16k too, although a new grey piece can be had for 18k

May I know the difference between ROO and ROC?

Seems like ROC is 38/39mm while ROO is 42mm?

All in a Day

May I know the difference between ROO and ROC?

Seems like ROC is 38/39mm while ROO is 42mm?

ROO sizes start from 42mm. ROC i believe referring to RO chronograph. RO series are smaller than ROO. If i not wrong, largest RO size, which is the current model, is 41mm.

I assume u can/will check up on diff of royal oak n royal oak offshore

Triste

Only a ROC RG IMO will do. Never did like the Royal Oaks.

The ROOs are the ones to get if you're on your first AP...

But you might want to wait till SIHH 2014 before deciding. AP might just deliver on the rumour of open case backs with 42mms...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.