The Watch Thread - Part 4

Henabi

The particular piece used in the advert did look elegant. Their campaign paid off

cartier-tank-mc-event-andy-lau-21.jpg

swee!

All in a Day

Well, personally I have no issues with buying from them. :) Bought from them before, trust the professionals.
Grey and pre-owned is not for everyone. Some people don't like the idea of 2nd hand watches or buying from non-AD. If you don't feel comfortable, don't "force" yourself and regret it.

Have not tried grey but not adverse to it. I have bought pre-owned and find it good value but more importantly, because I was looking for models that are discontinued. If you want to try grey or pre-owned, my suggestion is to go to a reputable dealer and always do your research on the piece you are planning to get.

balzebub

haha this thread is too elite...maybe we should have another watch threads for collectors of less elite watch brands...

kwaychapy

no need another thread lah - this is positive poisoning... I learn to love my seiko more cos I know these watches is not within my reach... i read somewhere, ' wear it in good health' ?

yeah, my earning affords me for seiko and I wear it in good health!

Huat Argh!

chengkhi

haha this thread is too elite...maybe we should have another watch threads for collectors of less elite watch brands...

from what i notice the bros buying elite watches here are not snobbish leh, so just continue ...

Henabi

from what i notice the bros buying elite watches here are not snobbish leh, so just continue ...

;) its very different from other sites like "Watch Snob" or some threads in WUS forums...

also agree that this is no need to create an "elite watch" thread, cuz this thread is already a place for watch lovers to congregate. be it quartz or automatic or mechanical. be it $5 watch or $1million watch.

people coming in here are free to ask questions like:
"I have a budget of $100. any recommended watches?"

and people will give their honest replies and recommend some watches.

speaking of which... my nephew just got his O Levels results and he did pretty well. Got 5 As out of 8 subjects, and I promised him that if he did well for his O levels, I will buy him a graduation watch. My budget is around $600
then just now at lunch time, I walked by this watch shop at Collayer Quay and this Arbutus design caught my attention:
419847_187934464651319_790259362_n.jpg

SPORT CHRONOGRAPH - AR505-BBB

AUTOMATIC MOVEMENT
Power Reserve - 40 hours
Jewels - 25pcs
Function - 3 Hands / Date Display at 4Hr / Hand at 6Hr / Day & Month Display at 3Hr & 9Hr
Case - Stainless Steel (43.5mm)
Band - Black Leather Strap
Water Resistant - 50 meters

Any better recommendations?

All in a Day

Firstly, congrats to your nephew for achieving the good O level results.

On watch recommendations, if you plan to get your nephew something he likes, I suggest it's best to check with him and understand his lifestyle (unless u already know him very well). Uncle here too disconnected with teenagers of today to give any recommendations haha. E.g. if he is sporty, needs good water resistance and robust watch for his activities, you may not want to get him a dress watch.

The younger members on this forum should be able to give some good recommendations!

pwillie

Grey and pre-owned is not for everyone. Some people don't like the idea of 2nd hand watches or buying from non-AD. If you don't feel comfortable, don't "force" yourself and regret it.

Have not tried grey but not adverse to it. I have bought pre-owned and find it good value but more importantly, because I was looking for models that are discontinued. If you want to try grey or pre-owned, my suggestion is to go to a reputable dealer and always do your research on the piece you are planning to get.

Love grey... looking at the cost savings...3 of my pieces are from grey :D

Henabi

Firstly, congrats to your nephew for achieving the good O level results.

On watch recommendations, if you plan to get your nephew something he likes, I suggest it's best to check with him and understand his lifestyle (unless u already know him very well). Uncle here too disconnected with teenagers of today to give any recommendations haha. E.g. if he is sporty, needs good water resistance and robust watch for his activities, you may not want to get him a dress watch.

The younger members on this forum should be able to give some good recommendations!

Thanks! I also agree with you that I am also a little disconnected with the youngsters these days. just like how my parents were during my teenage days :s13:

I guess I look at this design because of my own poison with automatic watches and this is a chronograph. =:p

pwillie

I dont see this as an issue, i personally love the mix of watches here...
actually i really hope those who have the less popular brands to share more, gives you more options to consider for the next target

ahboy82

;) its very different from other sites like "Watch Snob" or some threads in WUS forums...

also agree that this is no need to create an "elite watch" thread, cuz this thread is already a place for watch lovers to congregate. be it quartz or automatic or mechanical. be it $5 watch or $1million watch.

people coming in here are free to ask questions like:
"I have a budget of $100. any recommended watches?"

and people will give their honest replies and recommend some watches.

speaking of which... my nephew just got his O Levels results and he did pretty well. Got 5 As out of 8 subjects, and I promised him that if he did well for his O levels, I will buy him a graduation watch. My budget is around $600
then just now at lunch time, I walked by this watch shop at Collayer Quay and this Arbutus design caught my attention:
419847_187934464651319_790259362_n.jpg

Any better recommendations?

teenagers nowadays brand conscious isnt it?

get CK, Fossil, Coach loh........
:s22::s22::s22:

All in a Day

Love grey... looking at the cost savings...3 of my pieces are from grey :D
Your greys were website or physical shop?

Not very comfortable to buy online but physical shop or reputable forum seller that can meet face-to-face is OK for me.

crapman

Thanks! I also agree with you that I am also a little disconnected with the youngsters these days. just like how my parents were during my teenage days :s13:

I guess I look at this design because of my own poison with automatic watches and this is a chronograph. =:p

Yeah like All In A Day said, better ask him. Or bring him to see give him a budget and work round it. Since its his gift, more important is he likes it

Henabi

Yeah like All In A Day said, better ask him. Or bring him to see give him a budget and work round it. Since its his gift, more important is he likes it

thanks :s13: bought back memories of my dad bringing me to Bencoolen to pick my very first G-Shock when I was 10 yr old...

I will bring him to a watch boutique this weekend and let him choose.

pwillie

Your greys were website or physical shop?

Not very comfortable to buy online but physical shop or reputable forum seller that can meet face-to-face is OK for me.

2 from collectorstime, can go KL to view the watches, the guys are pretty flexible to meet up, they carry wireless credit card machine one hor....
1 from Ashford.com, this one can bargain also...

All in a Day

thanks :s13: bought back memories of my dad bringing me to Bencoolen to pick my very first G-Shock when I was 10 yr old...

I will bring him to a watch boutique this weekend and let him choose.
Now that u mentioned, brought back my memories too...

During my time, that place was called Albert Complex. I still have the citizen watch my dad got me as a teenager and wore it until my mid 20s when I bought myself a watch after few years in the work force.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.