The Watch Thread - Part 4

Jeremy1

Let's say if I die die will only need one diver...

this will be the one

blancpain_image.3379223.jpg

ULYSSE%2BNARDIN%2BMaxi%2BMarine%2BDIVER%2BRG%2B01.jpg

Can see I totally like Black and Gold... knn i feel old liao... haven't even hit my 30 :vijayadmin:

The Fifty Fathom is in my list but just too bad it's not transparent back case.

The UN one also nice but it's using ETA movement.

Panerex

For AP watches, may I know which is more durable and scratch resistant- rubberclad or normal bezel?

TeenTitan01

Yep, the basic sub is quite common... If I were to get a sub, it won't be the basic sub(colour wise). I will get something that I like (i.e Black Bay, though the design is similar to sub, but the colour combination is something that I really like).

It will be this:
886185d1353884193-fs-rolex-submariner-16613-two-tone-z-serial-s5.jpg

Secondly, the finishing and fitting on my hand is rather nice as well... but before I get a sub, I got many others option that I am looking at...

Glashutte Original Panomatic Lunar
Vacheron Constantin Oversea
Audemars Piguet Royal Oak

One can always dream right?

:(:(:(

consider the Blancpain Fifty Fathoms if you're into a diver.

5015-1130-52 | Blancpain

22321.jpg

it has a domed sapphire bezel and the lume on the dial AND bezel is fantastic.

together with it's domed sapphire crystal, domed sapphire bezel and rounded case back, it feels so tactilely sensual whenever you handle it.

though it cost almost double the sub, it is an iconic watch with true military diving origins, has a inhouse movement with 120 hrs power reserve, has little of the fake/homage baggage and looks sexier than the sub, especially on its sail canvas strap.

TeenTitan01

kinda feel inferior?

i dint even wear my blackbay for quite a while already.. :s13:

have been wearing my sumo

inferior? when cheap knockoffs and fake subs abound? phleaze!

genuine sub owners should worry that others ask/allege if theirs is fake instead, lol.

blackbay is a handsome watch. the gilt dial and burgundy bezel is a killerlook combo, though the dial could've stayed truer to its heritage (is full snowflake markers too much to ask?) plus the NEW sub bracelet is a superior product to the bb.

your "problem" as i see it is too many favourite watches vying for your attention & wrist time.

it's natural to gravitate towards a star favourite. but it's always nice to open your watch case/winder/safe and have other favourites on hand for any occasion/mood/fancy.

TeenTitan01

Let's say if I die die will only need one diver...

this will be the one

blancpain_image.3379223.jpg

ULYSSE%2BNARDIN%2BMaxi%2BMarine%2BDIVER%2BRG%2B01.jpg

Can see I totally like Black and Gold... knn i feel old liao... haven't even hit my 30 :vijayadmin:

:love: and totally dig the FF in pink gold! :love:

i can see a black & gold AP ROO in your future. :)

TeenTitan01

The Fifty Fathom is in my list but just too bad it's not transparent back case.

The UN one also nice but it's using ETA movement.

true/tool divers all have solid casebacks to better withstand the pressure depth they're rated for. in addition, true/tool military divers require an antimagnetic soft iron inner cage to minimize the triggering of underwater mines. this essential design feature will obscure the movement so using an exhibition caseback is moot.

however, there's a blue dial/bezel, complete calender, flyback chronograph, moonphase version of the FF with an sapphire caseback showing off a nautilus shell shaped rotor. sweet! but you can bet her owner will not be bringing her underwater near any mines, lol,

5066F-1140-52B | Blancpain

Jeremy1

however, there's a blue dial/bezel, complete calender, flyback chronograph, moonphase version of the FF with an sapphire caseback showing off a nautilus shell shaped rotor. sweet! but you can bet her owner will not be bringing her underwater near any mines, lol,

5066F-1140-52B | Blancpain

Nice but the power reserve only 40 hour as compare to that one is 120 hour...............:s22:

patryn33

Optrex

y? mind explaining? for me i feel sub like too common already. i feel bb and pelagos looks lots better than sub. problem with rolex imo is the watch face too many words already. but end of day different people different taste.

I think it is because the BB and pelagos not well known enough though they are not on the cheap side.

For people who prefer to draw attention to their watches, they may feel bored after a while when no one ever ask about their watches unlike when a person is wearing a rollie.

I have a GMT IIc and a Pelagos (I bought this one year after the GMT IIc), so i know what exactly happens. People ask about the rollie, but no one will take a second look at the pelagos. But for my work, it is an advantage since i only want something low profile and i prefer not to draw attention to my possessions.

TeenTitan01

Nice but the power reserve only 40 hour as compare to that one is 120 hour...............:s22:

what to do... there's only so much space you can cram the gears and thing-a-ma-jigs for its multiple complications... no more space for the triple barrels that afford the date-time FF its 120 hrs power reserve liao...

TeenTitan01

Give UN sometime, with ETA cutting supplies UN has got the wheels moving late. They created the UN 118 back in 2012 bought Ebel 137 renaming it UN 150 in 2013
Ulysse Nardin Marine Chronometer Manufacture | WATCHTIME.COM
Ulysse Nardin Acquires Ebel Chronograph Caliber 137 | WATCHTIME.COM

with time U will see more inhouse movements.
somehow even small companies such as FC moves faster.

anyway high(er) end UN have their own movements. only the lower end is stuck with ETA, just like the over-rated IWC.

so what? there's sellita, etc instead.

in response, brands like stowa, laco, iirc, have started to obscure the origin of the movement by using their own designations for movements they sourced globally.

patryn33

with both UN & ETA under the swatch group, supply of ETA ebauches is a non-issue unless UN chooses not to use ETA.

When is Ulysse Nardin under the swatch group? They recently sold to swatch group? Inside info? I still thought they are privately own
http://www.swatchgroup.com/en/brands_and_companies/watches_and_jewelry/prestige_and_luxury_range

Inhouse UN can be found in watches ~usd$8k not that highend

Iwc today still use eta but they are expending on their inhouse movement. The day swatch quit selling to others iwc is still capable to transition or just use SW or soprod

Stowa? Still spell out the movement used clearly, u not confuse?

hwaa

inferior? when cheap knockoffs and fake subs abound? phleaze!

genuine sub owners should worry that others ask/allege if theirs is fake instead, lol.

blackbay is a handsome watch. the gilt dial and burgundy bezel is a killerlook combo, though the dial could've stayed truer to its heritage (is full snowflake markers too much to ask?) plus the NEW sub bracelet is a superior product to the bb.

your "problem" as i see it is too many favourite watches vying for your attention & wrist time.

it's natural to gravitate towards a star favourite. but it's always nice to open your watch case/winder/safe and have other favourites on hand for any occasion/mood/fancy.

nono i think u got it wrong. i was asking if he feels inferior cos he mentioned he wears for a few mths then he says he knws why everyone wants a rolex.

i think u gt the wrong person lah bro, since when i got problem with many watches vying for attention?? :s13:

my watches one hand can count only and mainly all peasant watches.

Henabi

Wow.. yatto... you been hooting watches after watches siol..

One of the 6 toto winners last friday?!?! Lolx

TeenTitan01

I think it is because the BB and pelagos not well known enough though they are not on the cheap side.

For people who prefer to draw attention to their watches, they may feel bored after a while when no one ever ask about their watches unlike when a person is wearing a rollie.

I have a GMT IIc and a Pelagos (I bought this one year after the GMT IIc), so i know what exactly happens. People ask about the rollie, but no one will take a second look at the pelagos. But for my work, it is an advantage since i only want something low profile and i prefer not to draw attention to my possessions.

congratulations on your good taste & discernment.

the pelagos is an excellent utilitarian tool watch. clear as day contrasty black matt dial with ar coated flat crystal if you look at it dead on, with fantastic lume like the FF on its flat, matt, ceramic bezel (i like lume :)) and all brushed Ti case & bracelet means it's discreet without drawing attention to itself, yet tough, with great fit & finish, comes with both a rubber strap & a Ti bracelet with an innovative spring-loaded steel folding clasp to keep the watch snug yet comfy on your wrist. with a depth rating exceeding the sub. but hey, most divers do desk-diving anyway no? lol. oh and one last thing: iconic snowflake markers and hands!

the only relative downside is its use of eta as its movement.

if it uses it's own movement, it'll be a superior choice to a sub even if it's priced the same for it lacks the annoying fake/homage baggage of rolex, and also the mafiaso/parvenu brand-***** wannabe associations. rolex is a good watch which unfortunately is overpriced, overhyped & overexposed.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.