The Watch Thread - Part 4

Emospence

My vote goes to the white. I used to own the Omega GMT Great White, but i always thought the White Explorer 2 is far more classic. Here are both watches side by side:

Explorer2.JPG

Am I the only one who prefers the Omega :s

RadEoNic

anyway, i'm looking to get this
59827293.jpg

i can't find much info on it's movement other than it's an auto.
anyone heard of it?

Paladium

anyway, i'm looking to get this
59827293.jpg

i can't find much info on it's movement other than it's an auto.
anyone heard of it?

yes i have, in fact i nearly got one for my gf 2 years back. The movement is probably china or miyota. For the pricing I decided it wasn't worth it as much as I want to support local.

Donten

Am I the only one who prefers the Omega :s

the crown guard and strap area very ugly. dun like the bezel too. everything is taking away from the whole look of the watch. too much angles already. confirm wont age well.

gumpie

i was told by a friend who wears a similar rolex to this:
2112smc.png

that i wasted money on a watch that no one has heard of
i wear a stowa chrono.
then he say isn't german watches not very good. i actually want to tell him glashutte is from germany..........then i figured that he won't know cos when i told him actually seiko's movements are actually comparable to etas and that not all japan and tiong movements cmi, he laugh at me cos he say he do alot of research liao and it's not true
i told him abt grand seikos and cosc and he just laugh it off.
i feel like an idiot

You shouldn't feed like an idiot, his statement about german watches alone shows how little your friend knows. He should be the one who feels like an idiot. Since he has done a lot of research, he should at least know about A. Lange & Söhne, GO and GS. It seems like he might be one of those people that TeenTitan01 berates. :s13:

yattokame

Radeonic: never argue with an idiot. he will bring you down to his level and beat you with experience.

TeenTitan01

When I was there this lady was telling the cortina staff manning the barrier that she took a taxi after work to rush down as she is targeting a certain watch
..the cortina staff just told her "yes that brand is on sale but the model u want may or may not be..and no u can't go in anymore, come back earlier tomorrow" what the knnccb!! Got money also must BEG them to sell....我发毒誓if I ever patronize cortina again I am a biatch...

calm down bro, calm down. i fully understand your frustration and join with you in your disgust!

they think this is the pasar where people go daily to buy veggies ah? it's not everyday that a person would pop by to drop a $10k or more on a small chunk of metal. and once bought, they won't be looking again - at least for a while.

it's a zero sum game, relatively speaking, an SA/AD's gain is another's loss.

got money ready to stuff down their pockets but still have to face such unprovoked treatment is totally !@#$%^&*()_+!

the management of cortina is fully to be blamed. i hope they know this.

they completely ruined it for their potential customers, their image & their business. what sort of training program has their SAs undergone?

luxury retailers and SAs must know, live & breath the mantra that every interaction is a potential for a long, fruitful & profitable relationship for them, and the power of friend recommending (or in this case NOT recommending) friends - and they better believe it!

the marketing truism:
with a good experience, one may share with 10 friends.
with a bad experience, they announce it to the frickin world!

if i'm the owner of cortina, i'll do a fresh recruitment of new SAs & ensure they undergo a rigorous training program with sterling service as paramount, gather all senior head office managers and get them ready to personally man the counters of each branch, then march in and fire every single one of the exising SAs and the branch managers to cleanse my co of the toxic culture.

there times you need to be firm, come in, level the place and do a scorch earth policy to eradicate the toxic culture that's killing your organization. otherwise, be ready to be irrelevant.

RadEoNic

You shouldn't feed like an idiot, his statement about german watches alone shows how little your friend knows. He should be the one who feels like an idiot. Since he has done a lot of research, he should at least know about A. Lange & Söhne, GO and GS. It seems like he might be one of those people that TeenTitan01 berates. :s13:
Radeonic: never argue with an idiot. he will bring you down to his level and beat you with experience.

when in the company of people who agrees with him, I can just keep quiet
But I have to admit that a lot of people won't know of stowa. But the same can be said of UN, VC, GO and many other brands. Just that stowa is not in that league. :s13:

TeenTitan01

2112smc.png

i wear a stowa chrono.
then he say isn't german watches not very good. i actually want to tell him glashutte is from germany..........then i figured that he won't know cos when i told him actually seiko's movements are actually comparable to etas and that not all japan and tiong movements cmi, he laugh at me cos he say he do alot of research liao and it's not true
i feel like an idiot

chill, bro.

he's less educated than you. he didn't research well. pity him instead for failing to fully appreciate and enjoy watches for their intrinsic quality, design, construction, workmanship. and that is not confined to luxury watches alone.

excellent value for money can be found in seiko & orient that make their own movements (although they are undecorated, unfinished and dull-looking) but dang, do they perform & perform well!

the seiko marinemasters and orient saturation divers are certified true tool diving watches that prove their mettle and their metal. tell me how many rolex luxury diver owners dare take theirs diving? desk diving more likely!

there're other iconic & outstanding chronos that can stand toe to toe with the daytona like the omega speedmaster professional moonwatch and zenith's el-primero chrono which actually powered the 2nd series of daytonas.

and when it comes to b-uhr fliegers observation watches, laco & stowa are just about right up there.

there're many worthy watches and like-minded, well-read, erudite watch lovers here and in other good watch forums out there than to be bothered & upset about ignoramii like him.

meanwhile, enjoy your watches in good health!

and may you soon get your grail watch(es) that would leave his jaw on the floor.

RadEoNic

chill, bro.

he's less educated than you. he didn't research well. pity him instead for failing to fully appreciate and enjoy watches for their intrinsic quality, design, construction, workmanship. and that is not confined to luxury watches alone.

excellent value for money can be found in seiko & orient that make their own movements (although they are undecorated, unfinished and dull-looking) but dang, do they perform & perform well!

the seiko marinemasters and orient saturation divers are certified true tool diving watches that prove their mettle and their metal. tell me how many rolex luxury diver owners dare take theirs diving? desk diving more likely!

there're other iconic & outstanding chronos that can stand toe to toe with the daytona like the omega speedmaster professional moonwatch and zenith's el-primero chrono which actually powered the 2nd series of daytonas.

and when it comes to b-uhr fliegers observation watches, laco & stowa are just about right up there.

there're many worthy watches and like-minded, well-read, erudite watch lovers here and in other good watch forums out there than to be bothered & upset about ignoramii like him.

meanwhile, enjoy your watches in good health!

and may you soon get your grail watch(es) that would leave his jaw on the floor.

My holy grail watch is cheaper than his Rolex
2179709.jpg

balzebub

2112smc.png

i wear a stowa chrono.
i feel like an idiot
Actually your friend is the idiot...close minded and arrogant...Rolex Daytona only what's the big deal? Is it the epitome of horology? Every brand has got their own unique strengths and weakness. By believing what he does, he is just depriving himself of the enjoyment of wearing all the different different different watches out there..

yattokame

2179709.jpg

find a day when you guys meet up, ask the folks here to go with you

with my PP, triste's RG daytona (just to spite him), and all the others with their RM and whatnots..... of course. See what he has to say. ;)

yes I am such a brand ***** :s13:

TeenTitan01

2179709.jpg

wah liew bro, you need to up your game leh.

ne'er mind. stick around good watch sites & watch forums and learn more (we're all learning).

you know my feelings about (more like against iwc for overcharging for the level of design, movement (eta), fit & finish of their products, just like omega).

if you like german watches, continue to explore glashutte original ...

... and never say you can never own a ap, als, pp or vc. it just a matter of motivation, budgeting and getting rid of all unncessary fluff & distractions (that means no more unnecessary spending on other watches) & concentrate you ion cannon on one iconic piece to rule them all can liao.

flash that and instant win against the posers & wannabe rolex wearers around you.

serious.

yattokame

wah liew bro, you need to up your game leh.

ne'er mind. stick around good watch sites & watch forums and learn more (we're all learning).

you know my feelings about (more like against iwc for overcharging for the level of design, movement (eta), fit & finish of their products, just like omega).

if you like german watches, continue to explore glashutte original ...

... and never say you can never own a ap, als, pp or vc. it just a matter of motivation, budgeting and getting rid of all unncessary fluff & distractions (that means no more unnecessary spending on other watches) & concentrate you ion cannon on one iconic piece to rule them all can liao.

flash that and instant win against the posers & wannabes rolex wearers around you.

serious.

I've said this before and I'll share it again.

When I told the manager of lamborghini (many yrs ago) that I cannot afford to buy one, he told me
"It's not whether you can afford it, it's WHEN you can afford it"

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.