The Watch Thread - Part 4

Paladium

So while 2014 is fresh what's everyone's target or aim for the year.

Personally I'm aiming to get my parents and younger bro a watch each. High chance all 3 are rolex.

Nothing really in mind for myself. I think the money is better spent on my family. :o

pwillie

i'm going for a biz trip to Taipei in a couple of weeks, anyone knows of good places to do some watch window-shopping? looking specifically for pre-owned shops...

Emospence

Personally I'm aiming to get my parents and younger bro a watch each. High chance all 3 are rolex.

Nothing really in mind for myself. I think the money is better spent on my family. :o

Get my first 4 digit watch hoot

TeenTitan01

@tt

so your advice is hoot sth at least rolex tier? recently i have been having some dilemma. mm300, bb, pelagos or 1 time good 1 submariner nd black. whats your opinion on the current submariner nd vs the older 1?

im also hesistaing between this few. mine is PO, sub nb, sub nd ceramic, or exp 2. but i went dickson and tried the explorer 2.. doesnt look too good on my wrist. then recently tio the speedmaster pro poison, thinking tues go airport take a look...

pelagos u tried already bro? i tried and doesnt really appeal that much on me though..

just imagine yourself with a watch in 5, 10, 20 yrs time and ask:

will it still be in style?
will it still be highly regarded?
will i still be proud to wear it?

omega, apart from its iconic speedmaster professional moon watch, has not had a consistent style message throughout its history, unlike say rolex. their designs, except for vintage omegas (which remains evergreen because of their classic designs) now appear dated. even some of their seamaster professional models resorted to using quartz movements like tag heuer. *shudder*

because omega has shifted its design philosophy regarding its seamaster collection to essentially replace it with the planet ocean, i doubt PO's longevity, given that the huge watch boom will not last forever. i could be wrong.

there's nothing against quartz. it's cheaper & hardier than a mechanical movement, and a good quality quartz is more accurate than any mechanical watch can hope to be. and a quartz is fine for say tool watches like divers or chronos.

but since we talking about "watches that matter" as chickenbackside kor kor so aptly put it, only mechanical luxury/iconic watches will do, as we're talking about emotions, craftsmanship and the warmth that only watches made/adjusted/assembled by hands with a heartbeat from a balance wheel, escapement, etc that marks time and power gears can provide.

there're many approaches to watch owning & collecting.

some start with affordable pieces and build up what's age-appropriate / popular for them and move up the ladder as their taste & sophistication improves.

but with this approach, you end up with a case full of watches whose value you can only get back a small fraction of, if you're lucky because they're not universally desired.

on the other hand, you can do your research, bide your time, understand, define & refine your taste until you're very sure that the watch you plan to get will stand you in good stead years down the road. then be patient and save up before pulling the trigger. because you know that the watch you hoot will be the watch that you feel proud wearing for years, will keep performing, and will never go out of style. therein lies the value for money aspects of an evergreen luxury watch. mind you, not all luxury watches are evergreen. some get dated too, because they strayed too far from classic design philosophy & sensitivities.

rolex, depite me making fun of it, has gotten it right.

because at heart, it's a solid watch that's been proven to perform. has a design (particularly the sub) that hardly change but more importantly iconic and remains popular for decades.

so my take is this: you can either be patient & save up enough for a solid watch (or watches that represent the best in their respective categories like diver, chrono, gmt, dress, pilot, complications, etc) that will perform & never go out of style, and go right ahead later to add others to your collection, or you can enjoy affordable watches now (keeping in mind not to pay too much for them), while setting aside enough so you can hoot your watch that matters.

just my opinion. cheers.

Henabi

Guys..... spent a little time to research the history of submariner in the 80s. Quite interesting....

I will start Looking for sub manufactured in year 1985. Ref 16800. If can get high beat...thats the best.
If can get watch and clasp both made in january 1985 that will be heaven :)

billovee

Yup. 1/2 bedroom hdb rental.

Distribute food to them before also.

rc mostly link to temple and temple been assign to distribute food, rice and can food.

When temple having event, alot of them cheong to eat free food.

Who say no poor people in Singapore ?

Henabi

Distribute food to them before also.

rc mostly link to temple and temple been assign to distribute food, rice and can food.

When temple having event, alot of them cheong to eat free food.

Who say no poor people in Singapore ?

Me not give out food.... me twice a month visit those old uncles and aunties in redhill, bukit merah and help them clean their homes.
Been doing this since poly days....
Quite sad also cuz every time whenever hear one of them pass away i will cry n cry n cry for days
Now betterliao....learnt to take things easier...

Singaporean80

Hi watch lovers

Sharing my humble hoot here ....

12691156333_058d88338f_z.jpg

Thanks to all bros here for sharing their knowledge and expertise on watches in this thread!

nice watch there

Jeremy1

It's either the sub or sub date.

There is no sub nd or sub nb(?). ;)

If I am into a diver watch, I would consider this one instead of a sub.

blancpain-fifty-fathoms-automatique-5015-3630-52_7551.jpg

If cannot afford a Gold one, can also go for the Stainless Steel one.

22321.jpg

rayong

If you see an uncle with several NTUC plastic bags filled with buns on the MRT now ......yes that's me.
Going to brighten some needy families' day now :)

Oh btw the buns are breakfast for others; I'm still on a grass diet. LOL

P/s ok theres a cute nurse sitting in front of me, staring at my buns. The ones in the bag, not the fat lumpy ones on me. Hahahaha
Just wanted to be lame.

Thanks for spending time helping the less fortunate. I'm very sure you've brightened their day :)

rayong

im also hesistaing between this few. mine is PO, sub nb, sub nd ceramic, or exp 2. but i went dickson and tried the explorer 2.. doesnt look too good on my wrist. then recently tio the speedmaster pro poison, thinking tues go airport take a look...

pelagos u tried already bro? i tried and doesnt really appeal that much on me though..

If you kena the Speedy Pro poison, go look at their c1863. The open back is damn chio. The perfect way to admire the watch - looking at the beauty of the movement

yattokame

Hoping everyone to be healthy.

Wanna spend more time and go on vacation with the family. will be going to Japan twice - each time with different side of our family. March trip with my folks and our kids, June trip with my in-laws and our kids. Also to catch up with my japanese friends and ex-working partners...... maybe can sneak out and go watch an AKB48 theatre performance :D

My parents prefer I give them cash than buy a watch for them, and also need to replace my parents' car. COE expiring early next year. Most probably looking at an MPV for them - toyota wish or honda stream.

Finally, really to free up time for my family. Gonna go at a slower pace for my career now - the kids' growing years do not wait, my parents' aging process also do not wait. They want our time more than our money - that's the truth.

As for watches.......can't seem to find anything that I definitely want to buy (except the IWC perpetual calendar but kena flamed here a lot:s22:), so will still look around for something affordable....honestly I don't really like the PP dress watches. Will see how it goes.

sorry ah uncle very lor sor.

Paladium

As for watches.......can't seem to find anything that I definitely want to buy (except the IWC perpetual calendar but kena flamed here a lot:s22:), so will still look around for something affordable....honestly I don't really like the PP dress watches. Will see how it goes.

Very detailed list, very good! No lah in the end you have to be happy and feel shiok, if the IWC really sings to you then get it lor. We promise not to make fun of you. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.