The Watch Thread - Part 4

rayong

My wifey got this. Doesnt look good on guys, IMO. Think bec the watch is thinner due to the ceramic face. My wife loves it and looks good on her wrist. Cant argue with that.....

Great that you can share watches with your wife. More reason to buy watches? Honey, can also wear them :D

bryando

Great that you can share watches with your wife. More reason to buy watches? Honey, can also wear them :D

cant share, her wrist is much smaller:sad: and even if can fit both of us, unlikely to share.....its her lucky watch now.....more of reason to buy other watches for myself :)

zzyzx

This is damn nice, but you are paying for white gold which very few people will know that you are wearing white gold, only those into Daytona.

I would rather go for the White gold strap with diamonds on dial, lower price also....

exactly how i feel when i try on this piece. but if i have da moolah, i wouldnt mind becase i know it myself its white gold. thinking of it makes me wet. :D

yattokame

Which one nicer?
TwoToneDaytonaBlueArabicDialModel116523SerialV2.jpg

13504163101_102.JPG

The panda almost became my first rolex. That was about 2 yrs back.

the story was, I even told my AD I was all ready to buy. Brought cash and credit cards, made sure enough to pay, fixed appointment.... and went down. Loved what I saw, fitted my wrist very well (I now am starting to believe gold + white face watches suit me well) and when I was about to pay, suddenly I didn't feel like buying it. I suddenly thought about my kids (who were just a few months old) and how much money this would meant for their milk powder, diapers, etc

I apologized to my AD and she understood very well, being a young mother herself and we've known each other for almost 10yrs.....we then spent the next hour talking about children and family life.

even buying a watch can be a story in life itself. I'm sure vanilla way agrees - and I hope it's a great memory for her and her hubby for many years to come, and retelling the stories to their children and grandchildren.

I know it because I will be telling them to my kids :)

yattokame

Decided to bring the Pam out for a spin, in "matching" Italian marques, after neglecting them for more than a month! :s12:

12740273005_d9a30b5ce9_z.jpg

no the watch and the car don't match. the panerai suits the S class more.
Come I exchange cars with you :D

glad you are back. a lot of people here want to hold hands now. :s13:

Emospence

usd9,650. you do the math.

Master Ultra Thin Moon 39 | Luxury watches | Jaeger-LeCoultre E-boutique

i believe fishcake2005 (apologies if i got your name wrong) posted his wrist shot over his steering wheel. if someone can find them, please help to repost. :D

when you talk perpetual calenders, sgd30k is budget liao!

before the jlc master ultra thin perpetual calender was introduced, we're talking at least > sgd50k easy for perpetual calenders, with many >sgd100k up.

of course for the uber elites like iceflight dai kor dai, triste kor kor & yattokame kor kor, and the crouching tigers, hidden dragons here, it's "ok what...?". lmao.

the rest will just have to reach for the tissue to dry our watering eyes from those eye-watering prices, roflmao! :D

Hmm that ain't too bad.. A bit less than El Primero 410 right? That's what i'm aiming for grad next year.. I guess the JLC has to wait til next milestone.. 30yo or marriage, whichever comes first :p

Maybe by then my preferences may have changed, who knows :)

Emospence

You guys have really skewed my opinion on what kind of watch prices are "not too bad"

Azrielsc

no the watch and the car don't match. the panerai suits the S class more.
Come I exchange cars with you :D

glad you are back. a lot of people here want to hold hands now. :s13:

Hahaha! Tired from working in the hot sun and getting sunburnt!! Car goes back into the garage. Think will drag the SUV and the Pam 389 out for some coolie work tomorrow...

Vanilla Way

The panda almost became my first rolex. That was about 2 yrs back.

the story was, I even told my AD I was all ready to buy. Brought cash and credit cards, made sure enough to pay, fixed appointment.... and went down. Loved what I saw, fitted my wrist very well (I now am starting to believe gold + white face watches suit me well) and when I was about to pay, suddenly I didn't feel like buying it. I suddenly thought about my kids (who were just a few months old) and how much money this would meant for their milk powder, diapers, etc

I apologized to my AD and she understood very well, being a young mother herself and we've known each other for almost 10yrs.....we then spent the next hour talking about children and family life.

even buying a watch can be a story in life itself. I'm sure vanilla way agrees - and I hope it's a great memory for her and her hubby for many years to come, and retelling the stories to their children and grandchildren.

I know it because I will be telling them to my kids :)

Haha not sure about retelling stories but I just wanted something thoughtful and special as a wedding gift for him and the process (although pretty long- from starting the thread to final purchase) was fun :s12: and at least I know a tiny bit about watches now. Wanted to get him a brand new rolex but after much thinking, that would meant a lot of money (especially with wedding coming up and house ready in 2016) I guess there will still be plenty of opportunities for years to come.

Let's just start the story with a birthyear vintage rolex for him as the first crown:)

Donten

HNNNGGGG, my fff mod still on hold. freaking bezel haven come in yet. the dial sitting on my desk for a week already. cant find the correct seconds hand. not changing to bradycloth cuz its leather. so sticking to nato.

jase07

Hoping everyone to be healthy.

Wanna spend more time and go on vacation with the family. will be going to Japan twice - each time with different side of our family. March trip with my folks and our kids, June trip with my in-laws and our kids. Also to catch up with my japanese friends and ex-working partners...... maybe can sneak out and go watch an AKB48 theatre performance :D

My parents prefer I give them cash than buy a watch for them, and also need to replace my parents' car. COE expiring early next year. Most probably looking at an MPV for them - toyota wish or honda stream.

Finally, really to free up time for my family. Gonna go at a slower pace for my career now - the kids' growing years do not wait, my parents' aging process also do not wait. They want our time more than our money - that's the truth.

As for watches.......can't seem to find anything that I definitely want to buy (except the IWC perpetual calendar but kena flamed here a lot:s22:), so will still look around for something affordable....honestly I don't really like the PP dress watches. Will see how it goes.

sorry ah uncle very lor sor.

why not get a 5207r?? :D:D

jase07

i opt for the blue dial daytona. maybe because the photo's sharper? lol. but it looks more distinctive and attractive, imo.

here's my personal favourite:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/8...NBR/116515-Rolex-Daytona-QQ-LNBR-f2.jpg[/IMG]

TeenTitan01

This is damn nice, but you are paying for white gold which very few people will know that you are wearing white gold, only those into Daytona.

I would rather go for the White gold strap with diamonds on dial, lower price also....

that's stealth wealth for you: people wear white gold, or better yet platinum not for others to know but for themselves to know & enjoy. if ignorant folk thinks it's s/steel, ok lor, big deal.

when you're living landed in a gcb, with other significant properties, businesses & investments under your portfolio and a fleet of luxury/sports cars, you're sometimes worried certain unsavory characters know you've that much wealth.

rather go low profile and blend in. =:p

for those who / times that you need to flash, then yellow/pink gold lor - preferably with diamonds to shout louder, lol. but then again what if some people will say that's swarovski crystals? lol.

aiyah, the confident wealthy are secure enough not to need to flash - only when the occasion/social event calls for it. it's the insecure, unsophisticated parvenu who needs to do that. :s22:

jase07

Prefers RG with white face.....but honestly the PP dress watches dont really appeal to me....at least not yet.

there's the 5205r for that.

waiting for 5207r to come in next week and take a really good picture. But it will be in that pasar malam paper box. lol

rayong

cant share, her wrist is much smaller:sad: and even if can fit both of us, unlikely to share.....its her lucky watch now.....more of reason to buy other watches for myself :)

The leather strap helps right? Bracelets are more ley chey

TeenTitan01

HNNNGGGG, my fff mod still on hold. freaking bezel haven come in yet. the dial sitting on my desk for a week already. cant find the correct seconds hand. not changing to bradycloth cuz its leather. so sticking to nato.

relax, young bro. email yobokies see if mailed already.

must enjoy the modding process, be patient.

or go chiong the real thing lah... sgd18k niah. :D

wear the FF on your left, the fff on your right!

like a boss. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.