The Watch Thread - Part 4

TeenTitan01

You very mean sia. Give me this type of poison :(

Luckily, my wallet tells me that I can't afford them :s13: The grail watch is really PP, after all "You never actually own a Patek Philippe. You merely look after it for the next generation". Damn marketing :s13:

damn marketing bs allright!

warning: <prattling.on.soapbox>

my pov is slightly influenced by existentialism, buddhist philosophy & epicurus, although i'm a n00b in all three. nevertheless, my favorite epicurean paradox:

Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able?
Then he is not omnipotent.
Is he able, but not willing?
Then he is malevolent.
Is he both able and willing?
Then whence cometh evil?
Is he neither able nor willing?
Then why call him God?

we actually DON'T OWN ANYTHING!!!

naked we came into this world, and naked we leave it.

we only rent/lease the goods we acquire through the sweat of our brow & stress of our mind, only to taste ephemeral & fleeting experiences - and to experience them no more once we die.

<stepping.off.my.soapbox>

love it? wear it!

wtf baby it for someone else after you die? why lock the watches in the watch safe to "look after for the next generation"?

heck, they can look after themselves!

ok. apologies for getting all moody & spoiling the mood for everyone. :(

Vanilla Way

Shall I add to the poison? =:p

P1070513.jpg

*pics credit to WUS*

Okay so totally poisoned liao. Those hands are just so pretty!
Which model is that?

TeenTitan01

this ish poison...hope apple comes up with nice fashionable iWatches very soon so that we can all wear affordable watches costing $1-2K rather than tens of thousands :s13:

iwatches :s22: APPLE :eek: omg.....

they already made a "digital watch + music player" into a ipod shuffle which you can hit a strap on >.<

affordable watches have been around.

but will you settle for a 3 for $10 mic quartz?

i know i won't. many won't either.

i find the concept of the "smart" watch stupid unless it projects information in a 3D interactive space large enough to be ergonomical. the screen size is limited. and what's so difficult about pulling out your mobile phone to read off from? i find the google glass concept more compelling, though i shudder at the thought of glassholes pervs and their antics.

timekeeping is already served by our hand phones.

but cold technology can never replace the human element & warmth found in craftsmanship and time keeping by mechanical gears powered by human movement or hand winding.

and they are some of the emotional & romantic reasons why people will always prefer a mechanical time piece.

TeenTitan01

Interesting..but why does it need servicing when its a quartz?

lol. xmm ah, xmm!

unker and the kor kors here must start charging for tuition liao! roflmao.

the quartz you imagine that "doesn't need servicing" are those fully electronic gizmos with LCD displays and NO MOVING PARTS.

anything with moving parts are liable for friction, wear & tear.

the oysterquartz and quartz powered movements in omegas, tag-heuers, pp twenty-4 ladies watches, etc are battery-powered devices that drives a quartz crystal to vibrate and keep time instead of a mechanical balance wheel.

this is still translated by gears to move the hands to mark time.

so while fully electronic quartz with LCD only displays are next to impossible / too costly / not designed to be repaired, they happen to be cheap enough to be REPLACED rather than REPAIRED.

you're welcome.

Vanilla Way

lol. xmm ah, xmm!

unker and the kor kors here must start charging for tuition liao! roflmao.

the quartz you imagine that "doesn't need servicing" are those fully electronic gizmos with LCD displays and NO MOVING PARTS.

anything with moving parts are liable for friction, wear & tear.

the oysterquartz and quartz powered movements in omegas, tag-heuers, pp twenty-4 ladies watches, etc are battery-powered devices that drives a quartz crystal to vibrate and keep time instead of a mechanical balance wheel.

this is still translated by gears to move the hands to mark time.

so while fully electronic quartz with LCD only displays are next to impossible / too costly / not designed to be repaired, they happen to be cheap enough to be REPLACED rather than REPAIRED.

you're welcome.

Thank you t.t unker for always patiently explaining to this watch noob here hehe

Paladium

Totally in love! think its not that hard finding 6694 precision..but to find it with the dauphine hands should be tough?

I supposed so. i seldom see the ones with dauphine hands. You can ask precision watch to keep a lookout for you. :D

Henabi

Oh so the game now is vintage sub? I'll play.. :D

384093705_zps85c3c38c.jpg

DSC_7244_zps6722ea62.jpg

DSC_5570-2_zps21b4fdea.jpg

OMG!!! THE RED SUBMARINER!!!! :eek: :eek: DROOL.....

I'm really poisoned by Sub 16800, not just because I can find a good vintage sub made in my birth year but also because its a very big transitional period for sub in the 80s...

lingalong

haha... the good poison is working. :D

model is 3573.50.00

OMEGA Watches: Speedmaster Moonwatch Professional 42 mm - Steel on steel - 3573.50.00

35735000-20.png

35735000-40.jpg

Omega Speedmaster Professional Sapphire Sandwich 3573.50 - YouTube

last price check at people's park complex AD was $7.1k before discount.

pre-owned? price will vary with condition... have to check out the net/2nd hand dealers.

strap on an omega speedmaster pro, imagine yourself as an astronaut, blasting off into outer space... to infinity and beyond!

:s12:

didnt know speedmaster got transparent back one :love::love:
Been a big fan of it

jase07

OMG!!! THE RED SUBMARINER!!!! :eek: :eek: DROOL.....

I'm really poisoned by Sub 16800, not just because I can find a good vintage sub made in my birth year but also because its a very big transitional period for sub in the 80s...

yeah!! i'm trying to find a circa 1981 one.

Henabi

How about 1 more? :D

P1070500.jpg

*pics credit to WUS*

This is the affordable entry level vintage, Rolex precision 6694.

Just Oozing with class.... :D

rolex_6694_index_gold_dial_oyster_date_precision_stainless_steel_watch_1_lgw.jpg

and When you want it to be a little tad sporty....
rolex-oyster-perpetual-6694-vintage-blue-01.jpg

All in a Day

Just Oozing with class.... :D

rolex_6694_index_gold_dial_oyster_date_precision_stainless_steel_watch_1_lgw.jpg

and When you want it to be a little tad sporty....
rolex-oyster-perpetual-6694-vintage-blue-01.jpg
Does RSC authenticate 6694? I heard alot of franken 6694 around..

Have been tempted many times by the "affordability". A beautiful vintage with minimised fragility.

Henabi

Have been tempted many times by the "affordability". A beautiful vintage with minimised fragility.

Not too sure leh... hmmmmm.... seasoned watch experts any comments???

TeenTitan01

into vintage/retro huh?

gotta prepare a maintenance budget to service these aging tickers.

anyway how do you guys tell those vintage subs apart? and what's with this "transitional dial" thing? they all look the same to me, haha.

ok! stop the jokes about unker needing reading glasses. i wear progressive transitions one, ok? :D

to unker, it's like all ang mohs look alike. i can never tell them apart.

care to educate an unker here. too lazy today to do research. roflmao.

thanks, bro.

All in a Day

Not too sure leh... hmmmmm.... seasoned watch experts any comments???
6694 is probably the only rolex vintage I can see myself getting due to the lower price (and therefore risk).

Love vintage sports rolex but is an area too challenging to venture into. E.g. finding an even patina for markers + hands, original vs service bezel. Chances are a good vintage sports rolex with full original parts will probably come with a hefty price tag.

Keep your rolex + accesories, receipts and all in good condition and they have the potential to be the vintage of tomorrow!

All in a Day

into vintage/retro huh?

gotta prepare a maintenance budget to service these aging tickers.

anyway how do you guys tell those vintage subs apart? and what's with this "transitional dial" thing? they all look the same to me, haha.

ok! stop the jokes about unker needing reading glasses. i wear progressive transitions one, ok? :D

to unker, it's like all ang mohs look alike. i can never tell them apart.

care to educate an unker here. too lazy today to do research. roflmao.

thanks, bro.
transition dial refers to those models where the 6 o'clock reads "swiss". These would be around U and A series rolexes (1999, 2000) using luminova.

Earlier series will be the "t < 25" dial (tritium) and series after "transition dial" are labelled "swiss made" using super luminova.

It's one of those rolex thing. Defects, "transition" changes are hyped up.

As to telling the vintage subs apart.. I don't dare to go near there..

Just for the 50th anniversary "kermit" sub alone, there are supposedly 7 dial versions (Mark 1 to 7). Each with really minute differences in dial font, bezel font, etc. Quite an interesting read. The Mark 1 or 2 would command highest prices as they would be "true" 50th anniversary manufactured circa 2003

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.