The Watch Thread - Part 4

Azrielsc

I agree with yattokame!

Get the watch that you really like and not one just to satisfy your "craving" now. If you cannot stretch to get "the one", save up more, then get it. Don't get buyer's remorse.

I was searching for a Pam 351 for close to a year before taking the plunge and I did not regret it one bit. I actually appreciate the watch a lot more because of the effort I took to save up and buy it.

Happy hunting!

yattokame

should be ba :s13:, entering ALS that time really is a chua sai experience :s13::s13:

ok leh - the staff are really very nice and patient. I asked for recommendation and the guy showed me almost the entire collection.

I had different experience at the RWS watch shop. First time the SA was very very nice, even took out the watches for me to try. Recently when I went again, I was thinking of buying something for VDay for the wife and I saw a watch she has been eyeing, but a different SA - a guy - had an attitude that totally pissed me off. EVen quoted me the wrong and much higher price for a watch I know very well - can't he just bloody take out the watch to confirm the price?!? That is a sign he is not keen to do my business. So bought something else somewhere else instead.

Staff at IWC also very nice. Panerai very stuck up - luckily I don't like panerai. Atelier very nice.

I'm in the service industry so I ALWAYS treat service staff with respect and kindness - I have even lost count of the letters of compliments for staff who provide good service to me, even if it's the first time I meet them.

sorry for long post. uncle very lor sor again. :s13:

yattokame

I agree with yattokame!

Get the watch that you really like and not one just to satisfy your "craving" now. If you cannot stretch to get "the one", save up more, then get it. Don't get buyer's remorse.

I was searching for a Pam 351 for close to a year before taking the plunge and I did not regret it one bit. I actually appreciate the watch a lot more because of the effort I took to save up and buy it.

Happy hunting!

of course! you're my hand-holding buddy! :D

aerolord

of course! you're my hand-holding buddy! :D

:eek::eek:

ok leh - the staff are really very nice and patient. I asked for recommendation and the guy showed me almost the entire collection.

I had different experience at the RWS watch shop. First time the SA was very very nice, even took out the watches for me to try. Recently when I went again, I was thinking of buying something for VDay for the wife and I saw a watch she has been eyeing, but a different SA - a guy - had an attitude that totally pissed me off. EVen quoted me the wrong and much higher price for a watch I know very well - can't he just bloody take out the watch to confirm the price?!? That is a sign he is not keen to do my business. So bought something else somewhere else instead.

Staff at IWC also very nice. Panerai very stuck up - luckily I don't like panerai. Atelier very nice.

I'm in the service industry so I ALWAYS treat service staff with respect and kindness - I have even lost count of the letters of compliments for staff who provide good service to me, even if it's the first time I meet them.

i agree! i said chua sai experience because it is one of the true high end and expensive shop i ever step into, whilst with no intention to buy, they even serve me water and even took out watches from the save for me to try.

so can say i felt uncomfortable with an excellent experience =:p... the best experience i had was with Vacheron Constantin at MBS :D IWC also buay pai wor

Vanilla Way

Service industry..hmmm hotel line?

Paladium

Seems like most here think that I should stick to one watch purchase first. thought that 2 will be good so I won't be bored..can switch around a little(the lady in me talking lol?)

End of day there's one conclusion : Too many watches around to tempt you :s13::s13:

Don't have to get both expensive lor, one exp one cheaper = 2 watches = you happy. ;)

All in a Day

For the explorer 36mm. I noticed there's a few types? What is the difference between the below:

-Just stainless steel
-Tritium dial
-Transitional dial
-Superluminova dial

They all look the same to me in pictures.

-Tritium dial
-Transitional dial
-Superluminova dial

The differences are all in the text on the dial at 6 o'clock position

tritium dial - chances are the lume (luminous material on the hour markers) is very weak or no longer working. The colour of the markers may also be yellowish.

yattokame

Haha by default asians will always lose out to caucasians. They tend to have sharper features and bigger eyes. But I guess asian women have their own charm too. Each to their own :o

sorry, I can never appreciate ang mo women. I have always preferred the asian women.

my wife has very typical asian/japanese eyes, and that's what drew me to her the first time we met in school.

Vanilla Way

-Tritium dial
-Transitional dial
-Superluminova dial

The differences are all in the text on the dial at 6 o'clock position

tritium dial - chances are the lume (luminous material on the hour markers) is very weak or no longer working. The colour of the markers may also be yellowish.

Oh..so don't get the tritium?

What about the superluminova and transitional dial-what is the difference? How come there is also one with no dial description but instead just indicated as stainless steel on precision's website?

yattokame

:eek::eek:

i agree! i said chua sai experience because it is one of the true high end and expensive shop i ever step into, whilst with no intention to buy, they even serve me water and even took out watches from the save for me to try.

so can say i felt uncomfortable with an excellent experience =:p... the best experience i had was with Vacheron Constantin at MBS :D IWC also buay pai wor

oh yes VC at MBS also very nice.

All in a Day

What about the superluminova and transitional dial-what is the difference? How come there is also one with no dial description but instead just indicated as stainless steel on precision's website?

The rolexes before 2000/1999 would mostly have tritium dials (unless serviced and had their dials replaced). If you want your dial to glow in the dark, then yes, avoid tritium dial models.

transition dial uses luminova, superluminova is an "improved" luminova. Luminova dials should not discolour or lose their glow over time. They can be "charged" under light and they should glow in the dark.

I like tritium dials that age (the term is patina) nicely and evenly (cream or yellow colour). There is a vintage market for such quirks and nicely patina-ed tritium dials with matching hands are highly sought after and can command a premium. There are stories of unscrupulous sellers who would artificially patinate dials to appeal to vintage lovers.

yattokame

We watch slaves are kind of warped. DOn't fancy ang mo girls in bikinis in alluring poses but gets all turned on by wrist shots of ladies with black sub/blackbay/pelagos/explorer.

or is it just me? :s13:

Paladium

I will actually suggest you drop by The Rolex Forum.

But tritium vs superluminova.. pls see below.

Tritium dial models vs Luminova - Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum

LumiNova..... - Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum

Rolex Watch Lume Overview (Tritium) - Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum

Vanilla Way

The rolexes before 2000/1999 would mostly have tritium dials (unless serviced and had their dials replaced). If you want your dial to glow in the dark, then yes, avoid tritium dial models.

transition dial uses luminova, superluminova is an "improved" luminova. Luminova dials should not discolour or lose their glow over time. They can be "charged" under light and they should glow in the dark.

I like tritium dials that age (the term is patina) nicely and evenly (cream or yellow colour). There is a vintage market for such quirks and nicely patina-ed tritium dials with matching hands are highly sought after and can command a premium. There are stories of unscrupulous sellers who would artificially patinate dials to appeal to vintage lovers.

Thank you =:p I learn new things everyday in this forum haha..

Paladium

We watch slaves are kind of warped. DOn't fancy ang mo girls in bikinis in alluring poses but gets all turned on by wrist shots of ladies with black sub/blackbay/pelagos/explorer.

or is it just me? :s13:

you were saying? :s8:

2350042401_5b93099823_zps7f18b25d.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.