The Watch Thread - Part 4

aerolord

Wah Kaoz just one sat noon never come in and an ALS enter this thread Liao. :eek:

Congrats Iceflight, can you pls come to our future gathering so I can hold you hands? Or you want to hug me too I also don't mind as long as I get to molest the ALS and RM. :eek:

Molest ALS/RM or molest him :eek:

Vanilla Way

Hi hi people, thanks for all your lovely wishes:s13::s13:
I've placed an order for the Flieger Baumuster! "Reward myself birthday present" -LOL a.k.a excuse to buy something. Have to wait till mid april though. One important thing to consult! I received an email from the Stowa team saying they need a fedex account detail from me so that my bill will be without V.A.T. How do I setup the account or something? Anyone with experience buying from Stowa pls help!

It's not a blackbay or sports rolex but decided those can wait - will slowly save up for them. I really like the Flieger for the history behind it and thought the watch has its own 'character'. You can hardly see anyone wearing a Stowa in sg too.

Right now will just have to play the waiting game!:s12:

Paladium

you know why im reserved at getting a rolly...because chances are people that sees it will think I got it from bkk

Bkk? Bro, I share with u, tell them don't be outdated lah. Nowadays replicas all can buy online liao, even locally also got dealers. Some more can QC pics before accepting, no need go Bkk so ma fan. ;)

Donten

@iceflight

I'm quite curious to why you have 2 rm. What of rm speaks to you? They lack history and classic design cue. It looks gaudy in comparison to your pp and als.

Edit :Nothing against rm, just wanna educate myself on the allure of it. What does rm brings to the table that I'm missing.

TeenTitan01

mb & f design not very da fang at all. very hard to appreciate.

young bro, it's like a drug.

once you've your fill of pp, ap, vc, als, piaget, chopard, ulysse nardin, blancpain, breguet, cartier, gp, etc, etc, no more kick, liao.

so you mosey over to over-the-top brands like uwerk, mb&f and rm lor.

quite depressing, actually.

nah! where got?!

:D

Paladium

@iceflight

I'm quite curious to why you have 2 rm. What of rm speaks to you? They lack history and classic design cue. It looks gaudy in comparison to your pp and als.

Not saying it applies to iceflight unless he wants it to but RM is like the new status symbol for the rich. :D

TeenTitan01

the bezel that i got wasnt up to my standard. my dial already sitting on my desk for weeks already. waiting for the bezel replacement. so guess another 2 weeks minimum.

must post your gpgt hor, preferably step by step pics if mr goh of K2 allows you!

wanna see how close you get to the real blancpain FF!

Vanilla Way

I have a few questions.

Been looking at Steinhart/Laco watch for a very long time(since stowa no local AD , I decided to give it a pass). I'm interested in Steinhart marine 38 as I have 6.5inch wrist..

1. Do automatic watch require maintenance/servicing? If yes, how often ?

2. What about citizen/orient automatic watch? Seemed like they are cheaper but have the equally "expensive" look , have at least 100m WR for like $100-$200 instead of the pathetic 30m for most steinhart/laco non diver watch which cost 500+.

3. Seems like citizen eco drive is also highly recommended but it is a quartz watch, do you guys recommend it? Quartz watch means there are electrical components in the watch which also means it will spoil after few years or?

4. So without talking about the high end watch and stuff, would you go for a 600 dollar steinhart 30m WR or get a 200 dollar citizen/orient 100m WR both are automatic (may be different movement) which looks the same ?

Hmmm.. you seems lost and confused about what you want cos your questions seem a bit all over the place. Maybe ask yourself a few questions first.

- What kind of movement you want?
- Maximum you are willing to spend?

After that based on the 2 factors above..Zoom into the brands and models. Shortlist a few,try them on and see which you like best?

iceflight

This today I'm gonna share..... too many times has Richard Mille watches gain the reputation of being overpriced rubbish, but then why there are still so many buyers? In fact almost all my friends with a decent collection of watches will have at least 1 piece. Maybe the follow the fashion trend mentality, and all of us are stupid. Frankly, to be honest, everyone is a bit of a brand *****, Lambo, Ferrari, Chanel, etc.....but they are also all substantiated with the qualities that you do not find in the regular stream as well, and yes for that quality you pay a hell of a lot more, and also yes!!! you are also overpaying for it. But price is always relative to demands and also quantity. more demands, less quantity and less economy of scale = high price.... i can write so much more on this but this stops here today (I've never replied or written so much in my life in a forum before, got a bad slipped disc condition, stuck for a week mostly at home, so go crazy with this)

I gonna share a few finer points in a Richard Mille watch that is appreciated by many... but many have not heard of it or mostly do not step into the boutique because they are just so darn expensive..(please do not go on about history and that this is the next Franck Muller, different league, who cares, most watches are not really investment vehicles anyway... the ones that are, is mostly out of many people's reach) Song HOOT first talk later... bored you'll be surprised how well the RM holds its values and how fast they move, for today at least.

Disclaimer: I'm by no means a watch expert / connoisseur / collector, just a regular guy who likes, buy and wear..

The RM 011 :

Annual calendar , flyback chronograph, adjustable rotor to suit different activities to increase or decrease movement winding, these features alone are already quite expensive in any brand..

P1010475.jpg

look at the date, look like a digital electronic date from a distance, I use to even think they are, look closely, they are not a white disc with printed numbers..

every digit is carved out and rotated against a white reflective background, that's a lot of details that no ALS, PP, AP does at all.....

P1010501.jpg

Now the even smaller month indicator is also done similarly

255osxg.jpg

Now this is the back of the watch with the adjustable rotor, look at the details in all this...

9gzqeq.jpg

The servicing of this piece about S$5k.... The ALS expect easily S$3k up

For such a big watch it is surprising light, and in parties, the XMM that are zero into it... priceless.... HAHAHAHA

iceflight

Respect the Dai gor dais, dai dai gors and dai gors here... Let me 饱眼福 :):o

Congrats to dai gor dai iceflight on your high class hoot. CHIO

命里有时,终会有。命里无时,莫强求。Work towards your dream( watch in this case), else be contented with what you have. There arcothers that are less fortunate.... Some dai gor may vouch on this. ;)

Enjoy your Sunday !

Thank you

@iceflight

Edit :Nothing against rm, just wanna educate myself on the allure of it. What does rm brings to the table that I'm missing.

Sorry to both, while you were writing this, I was typing the above thread, so coincidental that this pops up.... please see above thread but !@#%$% photobucket not working so delayed...
One RM for weekends casual... The one above, the other for work, wife also can use...

Not saying it applies to iceflight unless he wants it to but RM is like the new status symbol for the rich. :D

Yes agreed, this is for now , to deny is to be an dishonest prick... but see above too..

Vanilla Way

This today I'm gonna share..... too many times has Richard Mille watches gain the reputation of being overpriced rubbish, but then why there are still so many buyers? In fact almost all my friends with a decent collection of watches will have at least 1 piece. Maybe the follow the fashion trend mentality, and all of us are stupid. Frankly, to be honest, everyone is a bit of a brand *****, Lambo, Ferrari, Chanel, etc.....but they are also all substantiated with the qualities that you do not find in the regular stream as well, and yes for that quality you pay a hell of a lot more, and also yes!!! you are also overpaying for it. But price is always relative to demands and also quantity. more demands, less quantity and less economy of scale = high price.... i can write so much more on this but this stops here today (I've never replied or written so much in my life in a forum before, got a bad slipped disc condition, stuck for a week mostly at home, so go crazy with this)

I gonna share a few finer points in a Richard Mille watch that is appreciated by many... but many have not heard of it or mostly do not step into the boutique because they are just so darn expensive..(please do not go on about history and that this is the next Franck Muller, different league, who cares, most watches are not really investment vehicles anyway... the ones that are, is mostly out of many people's reach) Song HOOT first talk later... bored you'll be surprised how well the RM holds its values and how fast they move, for today at least.

Disclaimer: I'm by no means a watch expert / connoisseur / collector, just a regular guy who likes, buy and wear..

The RM 011 :

Annual calendar , flyback chronograph, adjustable rotor to suit different activities to increase or decrease movement winding, these features alone are already quite expensive in any brand..

P1010475.jpg

look at the date, look like a digital electronic date from a distance, I use to even think they are, look closely, they are not a white disc with printed numbers..

every digit is carved out and rotated against a white reflective background, that's a lot of details that no ALS, PP, AP does at all.....

P1010501.jpg

to be continued>>>>>

Get well soon:o

patryn33

Been looking at Steinhart/Laco watch for a very long time(since stowa no local AD , I decided to give it a pass). I'm interested in Steinhart marine 38 as I have 6.5inch wrist..

2. What about citizen/orient automatic watch? Seemed like they are cheaper but have the equally "expensive" look , have at least 100m WR for like $100-$200 instead of the pathetic 30m for most steinhart/laco non diver watch which cost 500+.

3. Seems like citizen eco drive is also highly recommended but it is a quartz watch, do you guys recommend it? Quartz watch means there are electrical components in the watch which also means it will spoil after few years or?

4. So without talking about the high end watch and stuff, would you go for a 600 dollar steinhart 30m WR or get a 200 dollar citizen/orient 100m WR both are automatic (may be different movement) which looks the same ?

1. Yes every 5 yrs if u wear daily
2. They make great watches
3 quartz can last if maintained well. My tag quartz still running after 15-20 yrs
4. Citizen not auto right? Orient don't think it's hacking and winding. Get a orient star

Stowa no AD what is the issue? Cannot touch and feel watch? If u know what u want no AD not really an issue

aerolord

1. Yes every 5 yrs if u wear daily
2. They make great watches
3 quartz can last if maintained well. My tag quartz still running after 15-20 yrs
4. Citizen not auto right? Orient don't think it's hacking and winding. Get a orient star

Stowa no AD what is the issue? Cannot touch and feel watch? If u know what u want no AD not really an issue

well... before I bought my watch I was actually hoping to see Stowa chronograph and Nomos, because there are watches where I lost all interest upon seeing it. Hence I did not take the risk and actually strike off both Stowa and Nomos off my list.

iceflight

Wah Kaoz just one sat noon never come in and an ALS enter this thread Liao. :eek:

Congrats Iceflight, can you pls come to our future gathering so I can hold you hands? Or you want to hug me too I also don't mind as long as I get to molest the ALS and RM. :eek:

You XMM? Or else no hugs!!

rboyboy

Wah!! Feel so emo after seeing all those atas watches here sia! :(
Anyway here's some porn on a Sunday for you all. :) HINT HINT* Yattokame korkor

send.PNG

TeenTitan01

I have a few questions.

yes. the time interval depends on manufacturer's recommendation. luxury mechanicals recommendation is every 5 yearly.

some lazy (and lucky) ones proudly proclaim that their automatic still keep good time 2 decades later with no servicing. that's quite possible today with advanced lubricants that do not dry up so easily and components made from new materials like silicium, etc.

some paranoid (esp pro divers) have them checked maybe even annually to ensure the seals are intact and not dried, cracked or compromised to ensure its proper water resistance at depth.

so it's a range of behaviour & ymmv, given the cost of servicing vs the cost of the watch.

it's simply the cost of production.

seikos have manufacturing facilities in japan and around the world. nevertheless, seiko/orient/citizen have managed to keep their costs down and passed the savings onto their customers.

a cheaper watch is not necessary an inferior watch.

a orient pro saturation diver or seiko marinemaster are made to be real tool watches to be used and abused and can still take the punishment. they make for better real dive watches than a luxury diver like rolex sub or blancpain fifty fathoms - heartpain if they get scratched!

moreover, a diver is meant to be more water resistant than a non-diver. it's in its design specs.

the laco/steinhart are replicas of b-uhr flieger observation watches worn by aviators. underwater operation is not expected from them.

heck even the omega speedmaster professional moonwatch is only water resistant to 5 atm, iirc. so is it worse than say a rolex submariner?

far from it! different watches have different specs for different purposes.

fancy gold/platinum dress watches are far more expensive & delicate than divers. are they worse than divers? of course not. they both serve different functions.

the laco/steinhart are more expensive as a result of their cost base in europe. simple as that.

anyway, here's some good reference regarding water resistance:

The Water Resistance Myth Vs The Reality!

Water Resistant mark - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

https://www.tourneau.com/catalog/editorial_threecolumn.jsp?pageName=waterResistance

How Water Resistant is Your Watch?

Watch Water Resistance information for watches from PrestigeTime.com !

Q&A : Q10 What types of water-resistant watches are there?

FAQs - Water Resistance | SEIKO WATCH CORPORATION

Degree of Water Resistance of CASIO Quartz Watches - Watches - CASIO

Citizen Watch Company

Information on water resistance - Service - Breitling - Instruments for Professionals

good quality quartz watches (not those 3 for $10 hor) are inherently more accurate and robust than mechanical watches. that is a fact.

fully electronic watches with LCD only displays and no moving parts are less prone to wear & tear and by design, are not meant to be repaired if they're damaged. the parts get REPLACED INSTEAD if that is possible.

quartz watches are just watches whose timekeeping is regulated by a quartz crystal powered by a battery.

if it has to move gears in order for hands to indicate/mark time, wear & tear means it will eventually need repairs.

nothing lasts forever.

the advantage of a mechanical watch is that it can be repaired (provided parts and expertise remains), while the electronic components of quartz watches will need to be replaced (if that is even possible) as repair is either impossible or not cost effective.

there's no ONE WATCH that you can wear for all occasions & moods.

there're times you need a casual watch & times you need a formal dress watch.

and then there're different categories of watches besides the divers & pilot watches. there're chronographs with stop-watch functions, solid gold dress watches, round dial dress watches, rectangular dial dress watches, watches that features other functions/complications like power reserve, day, date, perpetual calender, moon phases, world time, even minute repeaters, etc.

get the watch that appeals to you and make you smile each time you look at it. you must be happy and proud to wear it.

if it's something that you DON'T LIKE, even spending 1c on it is a waste of money!

but if it's something that sings to you, which brings a smile to your heart each time you gaze at it, which makes you feel emotionally satisfied and pleased, then you'll feel it's worth every penny even if you spent more $100,000 on a watch.

just ask iceflight kor kor.

it's the value for money aspect of the watch that really matters. not the cost/price of the watch. how you value a watch is really up to you. when you finally decide, you'll know which watch is for you.

just avoid the mistake of buying watches that don't matter. that's a topic for another time. hopefully others can contribute.

you're welcome.

TeenTitan01

The RM 011 :

P1010475.jpg

P1010501.jpg

255osxg.jpg

Now this is the back of the watch with the adjustable rotor, look at the details in all this...

9gzqeq.jpg

The servicing of this piece about S$5k.... The ALS expect easily S$3k up

For such a big watch it is surprising light, and in parties, the XMM that are zero into it... priceless.... HAHAHAHA

thank you iceflight kor kor for educating us on the finer points of RM. maybe now we've a better appreciation. :)

i hope your pain is under good control and hope your condition improves. discuss with your orthopaedic surgeon if surgery can help.

NO GOLF FOR THE MOMENT!

cheers!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.