The Watch Thread - Part 4

bberry

Anyone knows where to get cheap and good spring bar tool ?

i gotten mine from gnomon..their website also got display the item n price.

wa...starting to play around with straps huh...leather straps also not cheap hor, especially the better quality n exotic kind

but its fun la, give the watch a refreshing new look

bberry

Have both. K2 one cheaper and is zulu 2 pvd rings and thicker. Gnomon 1 got 3 types of finishing. I bought black powder coated? The rings are thinner which doesn't look as rugged. Strap quality I would say almost the same. Though I feel gnomon one fray more.
Like the straps from both. I feel k2 the rings are thicker feels more solid. But gnomon the wear looks nearer. The 3 folds fit nicely under the ring in a neat way whereas k2 is more rugged.

thanks bro.

Henabi

Many websites also says the same thing.
thats cuz watch with date or calendar. The watch usually starts to change the date and day slowly from 8.9.10pm onwards and till about 2.3.4am.

thats why certain high end calendar watches offer a feature which changes the date almost instantly at midnight

vanilla..you can try ebay or sgrolex forum or gmarket :)

Henabi

wa...starting to play around with straps huh...leather straps also not cheap hor, especially the better quality n exotic kind

Already give 'warning' liao hahaha...
but the poison too strong... cant stop it from spreading...

next is watch winders.... opps...

VANILLA...JOIN OUR HAND HOLDING GATHERING LAH

All in a Day

Anyway 14060 or 114060. What's the opinion?

FYI, there is a 14060M which is the model between 14060 and 114060. It looks exactly like 14060 (up until 2007, where they start getting it COSC certified as well, like all the other Rolex sports models, then u get the "4-line" dial). The difference of the M is with the movement used.

I believe 114060 may have some parts of the movement (parachrom hair spring?) enhanced. Physical appearance wise, these are the visual differences from the 14060 and 14060M that I am aware of:
1. Use of maxi dial (thicker hands and larger hour markers, more lume)
2. blue lume instead of green lume
3. Improved clasp on the bracelet
4. larger case size (the protruding and disjointed lugs with the bracelet)
5. Ceramic bezel instead of aluminium bezel
6. No more lug holes (official extinction of lug holes on rolexes)

Overall the 114060 is an obviously improved watch but personally prefer the older model watch proportions and also the "2-line" clean look before COSC certified. In general I prefer the older generation proportion of rolex watches FWIW.

There my 2 cents..

Vanilla Way

Yep hahah! I saw their website they provide free shipping to certain countries. They have Malaysia but no Singapore?!

Vanilla Way

Winders maybe not yet lol I dont have that much watches to wind hahaha.

Dont want la this xiao mei small fry with all the da kor kors big fish. Hahaha.

starian

Sacrilege!! As a fellow owner of the submariner I must admonish you for saying that's the no date sub!

There's no "no date sub"! Only the sub or sub date!

:D

Thanks for the information. Haha. Will do. Guess a lot of subs here.

patryn33

I think seiko acquired orient to obtain their mechanical watch making abilities unlike Swatch group, seiko allowed orient watch to stand alone as an individual ltd corp...

Seiko bought orient to use their mech watch facilities to increase their mech production. Seiko doesn't need their watch making abilities. Their engineers are a level above orient.

What do u mean by unlike swatch group? Say for example GO..

adr77

Dont want la this xiao mei small fry with all the da kor kors big fish. Hahaha.

Small fry will grow to big fish sooner or later especially with your capabilities. Btw it's my GF then, now wife who entice me into luxury watches. She was also small fry then at 20 when she bought her first quartz TH. I was only wearing citizen then. ^_^;

bberry

winder no use la...as i get older, i more gian manual watch. Just like the feeling of adjusting the time, etc..enjoying the process lor. Age gets to you

looks like a hand holding session is gonna happen soon..other than yattokame's hand, i also like to hold Vanilla Way xmm's hand :D and not let go

i will beat unker tt01 to it :s13:

All in a Day

I'm neither. I think sub would be more iconic piece?

Boils down to personal pref. gmt is slightly dressier because of the polished centre links of the bracelet. Bezel abit busier looking cos of 24hrs marking. Go try both then decide ba!

jonleelk

ORIENT_STAR_CLASSIC_DIAL3.jpg

Went to WINS during lunch time just now. They have the watch on display. Outcome...........................I didn't buy.

The pic looks 10x better than the real one. The real one looks very plain jane in person. Maybe the overall image will be very different after the bracelet is chagned to a blue leather strap.

Will wait for VW's wrist shot...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.