The Watch Thread - Part 5

chickenbackside

Can SIC a burgeon tool model that can size most common bracelets or straps?

Last time change or do resizing at shops cost $3 then $5 and now most recently kena $8 :crazy:
The 6767-f should be able to do most watches. The "f" stands for fine. I had to buy that one cos some of my watches have spring bar widths that will not fit the non "f" model. But i can use it for all my watches.

Wah, $8 every time you change a strap? Like that I will need to spend at least $56 a week on strap changes, haha...

gurgkle

With regard to the switching/changing of bracelet/NATO. I started off as a complete noob at it as well. Many Google searches have brought me theoretical knowledge of how to do it, but of course, nothing beats practice, and more practice.

A springbar tool is the foremost tool that you will need. As many have already suggested, Bergeon makes one of the best ones out there. Bergeon 6767-F Spring Bar Tool. For myself, I am just using a simple one that came as a free gift where I got most of my NATO straps from.

What was initially a thirty minutes endeavour is now a 30 secs breeze. The world of custom straps, NATOs in all sorts of colours and leather will await you to dress up your watch to give it a whole different feel altogether.

afvwy2Q.jpg

Sizing of metal bracelets is quite another story. You will encounter springbars flying into oblivion and that by itself is the most frustrating thing to me. Once I 'gei kiang' and tried to adjust the pin on the clasp micro-adjuster at a traffic light and the springbar is still nowhere to be found. No one should be trying that in your vehicle! :s13:

You should always lay out a microfibre cloth on a flat and clean surface and with the appropriate tools, it should be a breeze. Here's a link that should help to resize your bracelet and save you that $8! Resizing the most common bracelets

4VzKmlR.jpg

Inspiration from Kiosai today, and thought I will join in the SKX on NATO. :) Have a good Sunday everyone!

GcOeLQh.jpg

IntimacyR

The 6767-f should be able to do most watches. The "f" stands for fine. I had to buy that one cos some of my watches have spring bar widths that will not fit the non "f" model. But i can use it for all my watches.

Wah, $8 every time you change a strap? Like that I will need to spend at least $56 a week on strap changes, haha...

Is this the one? Sian Lor, OOS!!!

e96141def1f025c026dd9d4b83bebae4_zps260bad01.jpg

chickenbackside

Is this the one? Sian Lor, OOS!!!

e96141def1f025c026dd9d4b83bebae4_zps260bad01.jpg
Just buy a generic one first lah. Honestly it's 90% the skill.

After you become an expert then maybe you can buy the Bergeon one, IF you like. I think you'll find it unnecessary when you reach that stage.

Practice on a watch that doesn't matter first, or mask up your lugs before attempting. For a newbie, the Bergeon tool will not make a difference at all.

IntimacyR

Just buy a generic one first lah. Honestly it's 90% the skill.

After you become an expert then maybe you can buy the Bergeon one, IF you like. I think you'll find it unnecessary when you reach that stage.

Practice on a watch that doesn't matter first, or mask up your lugs before attempting. For a newbie, the Bergeon tool will not make a difference at all.

Go where buy? I watch noob... Only came here and kana poison by yatto...

hwaa

suddenly all into nato.

after a while will get sian. :D

Nakedtoes

if anyone interested i have a few spring bar tool... each $5 included postage.. just posted 2 out just now.:D

rachdanon

Morning all! Sunbathing the solar babes!

Haven't had a good night's sleep for the past week as the kids have been down with flu and fever.....sigh.

Have a great sunday everyone!

Don't surf hwz la go rest. Take care!

a562140

north-north-west to the Lost World (Gardens by the Bay LOL!)
amazing what watches can do today. this one doesn't give me any excuse to lose my bearings.

20140601_120232.jpg

HorfunKing

If mod a Seiko watch change the bezels dial etc...even change the dial to one that says of another brand, is it considered wearing a fake watch?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.