The Watch Thread - Part 5

gaoxing84

I used to have a 000 which i got BNIB... that's why i mentioned earlier in thread that it is a scratch magnet and doesn't matter if you don't get a BNIB one. :s13:

can use a cape cod if you're really anal about shiny watches, but my advice is, no point lah. wear it and be proud of the scratches!

haha.. ya.. same as my visodate. free flow of hairline scratches.
i just wear it and try to prevent as much as possible
if super jialat, just send for polishing. lol

hungpenglee

The inside of my 1st watch box holder

a7COVCE.jpg

I saw 3 very Iconic pieces...
Seiko Skx011, Seiko OM and Orient MAKO Blue... very rare for a lady to have these 3 pieces. :)
Especially the Orient Mako, beautiful sunburst dial. I missed mine!!! :s8:

hungpenglee

I remember 2 of my mod targets liao...
Someone in WUS does it before and it lingers a very sweet aftertaste in my memory.

1) Planting MM300 dial and hands to SKX007, change the strap to waffle rubber 22mm. (Poor Man mm300)
2) Planting Shogun dial and hands to SKX007, change the strap to waffle rubber 22mm. (this gives the skx007 a nicer look and texture due to the shogun dial's raised indices)
Optional - Buy a skx007 with oyster

Skx trilogy complete with nice black dial theme. :s8:

Seiko Prospex of Sumo, Shogun, MM300, Tuna are within considerations too... :D

balzebub

2 questions here...if go BKK, where can i go to shop for those LE Seikos ah? and where in Singapore can i get boxy winders for cheap?

chickenbackside

Feeling nostalgic today...

This is the first watch I ever bought for myself.

I remember it clearly. It was the early 90's and it was the first time I bravely quoted a 5 figure amount for a job and it was accepted. After I handed in the goods, I collected the cheque, went to the bank and cashed it out. From there, I went straight to a watch shop in Tampines.

At the time, I knew nothing about watches and simply bought the watch that attracted me the most. In the whole shop, there was nothing I liked more, so I chose it.

I remember thinking to myself that I must be crazy to spend $1000+ on an watch (yes, at the time, it was only $1k+) when I was counting the bills to pay them.

It's been 20 years or so since I've bought it. I've never serviced it even once, and it still runs perfectly. I wore it to death in the first few years of ownership. After that, it got less and less wrist time. I think the last time I wore it was probably some time in 2012.

It's not something I would buy today, but it will always remain with me.

a562140

I remember it clearly. It was the early 90's and it was the first time I bravely quoted a 5 figure amount for a job and it was accepted. After I handed in the goods, I collected the cheque, went to the bank and cashed it out. From there, I went straight to a watch shop in Tampines.

At the time, I knew nothing about watches and simply bought the watch that attracted me the most. In the whole shop, there was nothing I liked more, so I chose it.

I remember thinking to myself that I must be crazy to spend $1000+ on an watch (yes, at the time, it was only $1k+) when I was counting the bills to pay them.

It's been 20 years or so since I've bought it. I've never serviced it even once, and it still runs perfectly. I wore it to death in the first few years of ownership. After that, it got less and less wrist time. I think the last time I wore it was probably some time in 2012.

S-N-A-P !

20140430_155844.jpg

josephkjc

Nice Monaco. Wow 20 years for a Tag without servicing!
But when you didn't stop wearing for since 2012, it can still run well with good time?

a562140

Yeah, i asked thong sia to buy a mm300 dial before. They will have to take back the old dial. So i guess it is impossible.

I haven asked yobokies or monsterwatches.eu yet.

for those wondering what it would look like
F8988494-DBA8-456D-AE93-BE61055E8259-953-000000F7EF53F932.jpg

coern

That's a classic! Have been looking at a Monaco for the longest time but other watches got in the way... :p

chickenbackside

Nice Monaco. Wow 20 years for a Tag without servicing!
But when you didn't stop wearing for since 2012, it can still run well with good time?
We shall see today! So far so good...Right on the minute.

Very nice Monaco bro... one of the best squares around for a very long time :)
Thanks bro. I agree, it's a nice iconic watch, except if I were to buy one today, I'd look for a vintage Heuer one. Original blue dial with the racing strap of course...

chickenbackside

^ just curious what movement was they fitting into that Monaco then?
It's an ETA movement for this model.

Speaks volumes about the reliability of ETA. 20+ years without a service and it still runs perfectly. Even if it fails, you know it won't cost much to repair and almost any watchmaker would be able to do it.

hungpenglee

We shall see today! So far so good...Right on the minute.

Thanks bro. I agree, it's a nice iconic watch, except if I were to buy one today, I'd look for a vintage Heuer one. Original blue dial with the racing strap of course...

The only Heuer I will get is Heuer Monaco... no Tag on it... :s13:

It will be a very tough hunt though... my buddy got 1 and I have been eyeing his for many years. He simply refuses to let me have it!!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.