The Watch Thread - Part 5

rachdanon

...doubt i can ever convince myself to spend that kind of money on a watch. I think my max is around 10k nia..

same same. And 10k is not "nia" it is a lot already if you think about it haha. Well, maybe stop surfing about watches, take a break come back in a month refreshed..and reaction may be like ..."What da....10 thou..fffft...for a watch??!? :eek::eek:"

:s13::s13:

gaoxing84

I actually have been noticing this pam model for a while cos it looks so hardcore imho.

Might be my first pam.....but see how first..

Aiya its the usual branch i go to. I know half the staff there and i always get cakes and snacks for them. So just go try try lor.

haha. this pam is darn good. trust me.
i tried my uncle's one. damn solid

ComicBoy

Hi everyone

Headed to Berlin this Thursday for a business trip. Can anyone advise if watches there will be cheaper as compared to Singapore? Am considering doing some watch shopping but the latest "advisory" from Customs about declaring overseas purchasing is really putting me off.

:mad::mad:

gaoxing84

What makes you think those PPs are real? :)

I used to work in an environment with many many PRC students; most of their "Branded" stuff is AAA grade. Many of my ex-colleagues/clients from my days working in China peddle AAA watch, bag, shoes etc on Wechat too...

Anyway, i always feel bad browsing and trying on but never buy..though i admit i do that sometimes when i am bored on a weekend while shopping...But molesting PP, AP etc just make me feel poor...doubt i can ever convince myself to spend that kind of money on a watch. I think my max is around 10k nia..

it should be la. they are hanging on ION top level and their face, can see is AH SIA KIA.
but just lol on wearing PP with that kind of style.

gaoxing84

Hi everyone

Headed to Berlin this Thursday for a business trip. Can anyone advise if watches there will be cheaper as compared to Singapore? Am considering doing some watch shopping but the latest "advisory" from Customs about declaring overseas purchasing is really putting me off.

just wear the watch. it will be used. lol

slow_mo

Feeling nostalgic today...

This is the first watch I ever bought for myself.

I remember it clearly. It was the early 90's and it was the first time I bravely quoted a 5 figure amount for a job and it was accepted. After I handed in the goods, I collected the cheque, went to the bank and cashed it out. From there, I went straight to a watch shop in Tampines.

At the time, I knew nothing about watches and simply bought the watch that attracted me the most. In the whole shop, there was nothing I liked more, so I chose it.

I remember thinking to myself that I must be crazy to spend $1000+ on an watch (yes, at the time, it was only $1k+) when I was counting the bills to pay them.

It's been 20 years or so since I've bought it. I've never serviced it even once, and it still runs perfectly. I wore it to death in the first few years of ownership. After that, it got less and less wrist time. I think the last time I wore it was probably some time in 2012.

It's not something I would buy today, but it will always remain with me.

Wow. 5 figure in early 90s!!!

slow_mo

I actually have been noticing this pam model for a while cos it looks so hardcore imho.

Aiya its the usual branch i go to. I know half the staff there and i always get cakes and snacks for them. So just go try try lor.

Where's Mr T?!

a562140

new diver from citizen...
Citizen-BN2021-03E_w.jpg

they've been launching some seriously good stuff recently

Denieru82

PicsArt_1400214555346.jpg

All in a Day

Hi everyone

OT but u may want to considering buying rimowa luggage. It is cheaper in Europe than SG and probably even cheaper in Germany (being the country origin) than other parts of Europe.

As to the custom declaration thing, I really think ordinary folks suffer because of a small but growing number of people who bring in stuff for business purpose regularly, who are the real targets of the authorities.

Interestingly, if you've bought from a grey dealer before for luxury good (watch, hand bag, belt etc), you may be indirectly guilty of "feeding" the grey industry that led to the recent tightening/focus by customs.

Benedetto13

Hi All! Previously I asked but no one replied :(

So I was doing my search with 1K budget in mind, I found Steinhart Ocean 1 Vintage Red, anyone had experience with Steinhart and their watches? Personal Review anyone?

What other watches would you all recommend with that budget? Keeping Seiko/Orient out of the question. Thanks!

coern

Hi everyone

wear the watch and pack the box in luggage. If kiasu, mail the receipts back to home address. i don't know anyone that's gotten checked and "taxed" yet based on buying for personal use.

the law is crafted as a catch-all more to target those running a business that are shipping in goods in bulk to avoid import taxes.

With current euro exchange rate and recent price increases i think prices are much less attractive. grey dealers in SG may give you better pricing (depending on the exact watch model). I think bags/leather goods still can buy bah. :D

If you want to buy watches overseas, need to plan in advance and email some ADs to ask about availability, otherwise you may hoot the wrong watch...

Emospence

:eek::eek:

Paladium

Hi All! Previously I asked but no one replied :(

So I was doing my search with 1K budget in mind, I found Steinhart Ocean 1 Vintage Red, anyone had experience with Steinhart and their watches? Personal Review anyone?

What other watches would you all recommend with that budget? Keeping Seiko/Orient out of the question. Thanks!

I owned a couple of steinhart before. Value for money is the common consensus regarding their watches on overseas forum. Quality is there as well. Overall it's money well spent. They sell pretty fast as well due to shortage of supply and high in demand.

Paladium

Hi everyone

Unless you really so damn suay i doubt you will kena. Other than a baotoh case I have yet to seen or hear anyone kena. Ever saw ladies carrying the big Chanel paper bags walking out.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.