The Watch Thread - Part 5

balzebub

Hi everyone,
I have a orient macko but the stem winder broke when i tries to adjust the time this morning. The watch is only three months old.
I read online that this is considered as manufactuer defect and when i email the service center in sg they said its not cover under warranty. Why is it so? Anyone know where can i replace the stem at a cheaper price?TIA

Where did u buy your mako from? Local authorized dealer? If it is, then why is it not covered by warranty?

cichlid

good afternoon guys & gal!
14484875942_184150b93a_h.jpg

balzebub

Hey guys what do you do to protect your watches when passing through airport security? Some airports insisted that the watch go through the x ray. Fortunately I was wearing something inexpensive but setting you guys wearing high end pieces what do you do? Put it in a coat pocket (which has to go through x ray anyway) but this only works during winter. What about Sumner? Maybe in the shoe since if they are parasitoid enough to x ray the watch usually they x ray the shoe too

I fly often and had always been asked to take off my watch, take off my belt, take off my shoes, take out laptop, take out ipad, take out mobile phone by the security people...fwah ridiculous i tell u...So i just place my watch into my carry on (usually a laptop bag of some kind) if it is an expensive piece. X-Rays won't kill the watch i am quite sure....

balzebub

3I4NiQm.jpg

Saw someone posted his Sinn with the German jersey. In view of the world cup shall do the same. No guessing which is my favourite team ;)

I think i am abnormal..have yet to watch a single WC match on TV nor do i check the scores every day...jialat...getting old and wierd liao....

Nakedtoes

I think i am abnormal..have yet to watch a single WC match on TV nor do i check the scores every day...jialat...getting old and wierd liao....

ME too.. dun bother with WC... shall wait until semi finals/ finals then watch

jase07

Injury?

Recover first. Slowly. It's a journey. I've learnt my lesson. Don't lift when injured, or you'll injure yourself even more.

Same here, had too many injuries. The ones that screwed me upside down was my knee and shoulder. Couldnt do almost everything. But it was a fufilling 7 years of lfting. :;)

yeah....continued my lifting even when i am down with flu. kinda affected my heart now. slow road to recovery.

So most important to rest when sick! totally agree now.

Vanilla Way

Not old nor weird, people just have different interests. Some would lose sleep over the matches but soccer might not interest others. :)

slow_mo

Haha, I have been alternating android and Apple every year.. staying to feel old and tired of syncing contacts. Will 've going back Apple and drop box lol

I alternate my mobile phones too. Using both an iPhone and an Android now. I sync all my contacts and calendars with Google. This makes switching mobile devices easy. Some people might not want to do this due to privacy. But there's nothing confidential with my data.

Henabi

Lovely piece. Simple and yet sophisticated enough.

thanks slow_mo...

The whole watch shopping experience was really, truly amazing...

at Far East yesterday, we actually popped by Lu_Ann (level 5), Monster Time (Level 2) first before we made our way to HJ.
Russell and his staffs at HJ were extremely helpful and extremely friendly, even though there were alot of customers. Not to mention all of them have very good sense of humor ^.^

And whats most important is that they don't mind us trying on PP, AP, Franck Muller and ALS... the uncle even told me: "Try lah... if don't try ah. The watch very lonely..." lolx

more shots
anM53H2.jpg

UbG0iWS.jpg

The backcase is Tudor. HJ has another one whereby the backcase is Rolex.
The watch is considered vintage but I'm not willing to pull the trigger on that cuz scared the servicing cost might be too high.

QsevVlz.jpg

Crown. Face. Diamonds.
The date and Day changes instantly at 0000 hr

GlapIHs.jpg

jVMReYC.jpg

slow_mo

thanks slow_mo...

The whole watch shopping experience was really, truly amazing...

at Far East yesterday, we actually popped by Lu_Ann (level 5), Monster Time (Level 2) first before we made our way to HJ.
Russell and his staffs at HJ were extremely helpful and extremely friendly, even though there were alot of customers. Not to mention all of them have very good sense of humor ^.^

And whats most important is that they don't mind us trying on PP, AP, Franck Muller and ALS... the uncle even told me: "Try lah... if don't try ah. The watch very lonely..." lolx

more shots
anM53H2.jpg

Like the look on the clasp...

chickenbackside

guys.... any intro on leather straps?

the spacing is 21mm
Unfortunately, 21mm is a rare width. I had a hard time finding ready-made straps for my 21mm watch as well.

In the end, I bought a whole bunch of 22mm NATO's, which will fit into 21mm lugs, and only a couple of 21mm custom straps.

You can also squeeze 22mm straps on 21mm lugs easily too. So that actually opens up a lot more possibilities. Every strap maker will have 22mm straps.

In the picture, the 21mm watch is mounted with the $15 22mm Paros strap from K2. You can see it actually looks just fine.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.