The Watch Thread - Part 5

Denieru82

Wife said the strap makes the watch looks so much nicer. :)

Actually the key reason i wore the PP to japan was because I'd be in tokyo. Its a brand ***** place.

The pam would have been perfect for hokkaido. Very easy going and nice friendly folks. I didnt notice anybody taking a glance at my watch there.

But come tokyo.......and especially shinjuku. From the concierge to the father of the other kid at the toys dept, i caught quite a few ppl looking at it. I'm shallow/vain/haolian whatever but that's me.

While I was checking in to the hotel, along came this loud and boisterous fellow on my right. Asian ethnicity but spoke with ang mo slang. Si beh kao peh. I noticed he was wearing the pam submersible that azrielsc has - the ceramic bezel one, and he seemed very proud of it. Kept flashing it......until he saw my nautilus. I wear my watches on my right hand so it was smack in his face. I also caught him staring at it for a long time, so when he looked up I gave him a smile and said "nice watch u have there". He forced a smile and became very quiet after that.

It also happened at GMT. Japs always look down on us SEAsians, so they bochup me initially until they saw my watch. Total 180 degrees change.

Probably shld have brought both watches there but i dunno where to keep the other watch when i'm wearing one.

Hmmm.. So go Japan must transform into hand of god..? Wear all your branded watches on your wrist..? :D

All in a Day

Actually the key reason i wore the PP to japan was because I'd be in tokyo. Its a brand ***** place.

The pam would have been perfect for hokkaido. Very easy going and nice friendly folks. I didnt notice anybody taking a glance at my watch there.

But come tokyo.......and especially shinjuku. From the concierge to the father of the other kid at the toys dept, i caught quite a few ppl looking at it. I'm shallow/vain/haolian whatever but that's me.

While I was checking in to the hotel, along came this loud and boisterous fellow on my right. Asian ethnicity but spoke with ang mo slang. Si beh kao peh. I noticed he was wearing the pam submersible that azrielsc has - the ceramic bezel one, and he seemed very proud of it. Kept flashing it......until he saw my nautilus. I wear my watches on my right hand so it was smack in his face. I also caught him staring at it for a long time, so when he looked up I gave him a smile and said "nice watch u have there". He forced a smile and became very quiet after that.

It also happened at GMT. Japs always look down on us SEAsians, so they bochup me initially until they saw my watch. Total 180 degrees change.

Probably shld have brought both watches there but i dunno where to keep the other watch when i'm wearing one.

Hmmmm don't sound characteristic of Japanese leh (the looking down on us part). While I know they have a very strong brand ***** culture (HK comes a close second IMHO) and have a strong branded stuff (or the lack of it) radar, I thought that they are generally polite enough not to let any pre-conceived perceptions get in the way of how they treat others, whether service staff or man on the street.

The yaya PAM guy was not a Jap right?

yattokame

Quick reminder to self... never show my Pam to Yatto. He will bitch slap me with his PP. *Sob* :(

No lah i just wanna hold your hand can liao ;)

Hmmm.. So go Japan must transform into hand of god..? Wear all your branded watches on your wrist..? :D

Kind of, actually. They really are massive brand whores in tokyo - the preowned luxury goods market is insane there. Nagoya and Hokkaido ain't so bad.

yattokame

Hmmmm don't sound characteristic of Japanese leh (the looking down on us part). While I know they have a very strong brand ***** culture (HK comes a close second IMHO) and have a strong branded stuff (or the lack of it) radar, I thought that they are generally polite enough not to let any pre-conceived perceptions get in the way of how they treat others, whether service staff or man on the street.

The yaya PAM guy was not a Jap right?

In front they may all appear all good with you but its all just business mode. Especially service staff. The business smile.

He could have been jap. Not all of them are the nice nice type, eapecially in metropolitan tokyo. I am starting to dislike tokyo and preferring places less city-like.

Denieru82

No lah i just wanna hold your hand can liao ;)

Kind of, actually. They really are massive brand whores in tokyo - the preowned luxury goods market is insane there. Nagoya and Hokkaido ain't so bad.

Waaaa.. I sence something not right.. Yatto dun intend to bitch slap.. However, it was a regretful event he did nothing big deal to the Pam guy in Japan.. So he will use this chance to hold your hand and activate bankai mode.. And leg auto turn soft and kneel down to his pp..? :eek::D:s13:

SkyScraper

i saw this at a shop :s34:

20140620_200039.jpg

iV3RsOn

In front they may all appear all good with you but its all just business mode. Especially service staff. The business smile.

He could have been jap. Not all of them are the nice nice type, eapecially in metropolitan tokyo. I am starting to dislike tokyo and preferring places less city-like.

hong kong pple also same same.... very brand ***** :(:(:(

All in a Day

Yeah that i agree. Likewise in HK. But we shouldnt let ourselves get affected by that. So long as i get the service i need, i m fine.

rachdanon

You never heard before meh, big PAM watch is for guys to compensate for small ***** mah. Haha heard this joke on WUS forum I think.

But seriously,you actually started a conversation with that phrase. Can tell you are the extrovert, dare to speak up type.

About people changing manners after they see your watch, well I don't deny it happens. How else to tell you got money unless you drive your car into the shop? They just want to know you got money before they spend energy entertaining you and getting you to spend money. Then again, I don't covet service like this that is not sincere...but then again often such is the case in the retail business.

iV3RsOn

You never heard before meh, big PAM watch is for guys to compensate for small ***** mah. Haha heard this joke on WUS forum I think.

But seriously,you actually started a conversation with that phrase. Can tell you are the extrovert, dare to speak up type.

About people changing manners after they see your watch, well I don't deny it happens. How else to tell you got money unless you drive your car into the shop? They just want to know you got money before they spend energy entertaining you and getting you to spend money. Then again, I don't covet service like this that is not sincere...but then again often such is the case in the retail business.

tia gong yatto kor kor is a lawyer, sat ki like harvey specter!!!

tumblr_n712qsKPF81rysrxso1_400.gif

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.