Just curious on how you guys view watch ownership.
Do you guys flip more than keep? And for those who have multiple watches in the inventory and flip often, my guess is that you dun even wear many times before flipping, so in terms of cost/wear, its going to be quite expensive! You guys look at it as a form of payment to upkeep ur hobby? Or really is 'hoot first think later'?
I kept an xls of watch purchases and sales, and throughout the years, I have lost quite some bit through flipping (those bought new and those bought from preowned shops lost the most), to the extent that I though the $$ could have been a lot better spent on the family (yar, quite regrettable).
Now i have cut down my holdings to only three watches (rollie, nomos, sinn) and made the effort to spend if (a) i decide to keep as hand-me-on watche, or (b) I feel I am fine with the depreciation (aka rental, maybe $100 for each flip i can accept)...
In any case this thread is full of temptations... I think KYM threads on edmw healthier for the wallet..![]()
)... the experimenting phase was over so i know what i want now compared to the past ![]()
Shopping with wifey is all abt shoes... lol..
JLC master control moon phase? Haha not sure if it's less than 10kNext sms from him
Below 10k. Something outstanding , elegant, complications..
Being a 9300 PO owner i will say omega Seamaster series is not really a dress watch buy a versatile watch for everyday. Reason is simple the 9300 movement is damn thick and dive rated watch are thick they dont do well under a properly fitted shirt cuff.How about Omega Seamaster Aqua Terra Chronograph GMT in SS on leather strap?
Those that ordered from creation, you all took FedEx/UPS Express Shipping right?
Delivery time in days or working days?
Being a 9300 PO owner i will say omega Seamaster series is not really a dress watch buy a versatile watch for everyday. Reason is simple the 9300 movement is damn thick and dive rated watch are thick they dont do well under a properly fitted shirt cuff.
I think a true dress watch under 10K i will go with Zenith Chronomaster XXT
Or for something pricier i will always go for Portuguese 7 days
Or for something off the beaten track Maurice Lacroix Pontos
But when it doubt for dress watch you can never never go wrong with JLC master control
A colleague sms-ed me asking for recommendations for a "dress watch with complications below 10k".......and my mind went blank. Anybody has any recommendations?
Yup, rose gold. RRP is $569 from Big Time.
bro... tbh i was once a serial flipper. I think it happened this way because that time i just started out on this hobby and didn't really know what i want, so ended up buying/flipping/buying just to try out the different watches.
Definitely lost some money from the flippings, but it depends on how you see it... to me it's just renting them to wear. Also the loss won't be that much if you had bought pre-owned. But then i don't buy many watches at one go, so they still have wrist time
But now the watches i buy are mainly to keep and not to flip (hopefully)... the experimenting phase was over so i know what i want now compared to the past
some watches the price difference from grey BNIB and 9/10 preowned is just afew percents, e.g. the rollies... even if you know you flipping eventually, buying preowned still feels very gao wei (uneasy)...
some watches I thought i will own forever (like the sumo which I bought and sold 3 times; like the safe-queen jaeger MC which I bought BN), I end up selling... so I now very reserved in buying liao, must think think think many times, and couple with occasions so there is a meaning behind a watch to keep...
Btw what is LNIB?
The Jlc master control is approx 8k plus iirc
IWC Portuguese 7 days is darn nice. Haha. But over 10k
Next time I wanna hoot IWC Portuguese chronograph sure find yattokame bro