The Watch Thread - Part 5

zzyzx

24wc4qt.jpg

Shopping with wifey is all abt shoes... lol..

socketer

flipping

Just curious on how you guys view watch ownership.

Do you guys flip more than keep? And for those who have multiple watches in the inventory and flip often, my guess is that you dun even wear many times before flipping, so in terms of cost/wear, its going to be quite expensive! You guys look at it as a form of payment to upkeep ur hobby? Or really is 'hoot first think later'?

I kept an xls of watch purchases and sales, and throughout the years, I have lost quite some bit through flipping (those bought new and those bought from preowned shops lost the most), to the extent that I though the $$ could have been a lot better spent on the family (yar, quite regrettable).

Now i have cut down my holdings to only three watches (rollie, nomos, sinn) and made the effort to spend if (a) i decide to keep as hand-me-on watche, or (b) I feel I am fine with the depreciation (aka rental, maybe $100 for each flip i can accept)...

In any case this thread is full of temptations... I think KYM threads on edmw healthier for the wallet.. :s13:

Oceania

Just curious on how you guys view watch ownership.

Do you guys flip more than keep? And for those who have multiple watches in the inventory and flip often, my guess is that you dun even wear many times before flipping, so in terms of cost/wear, its going to be quite expensive! You guys look at it as a form of payment to upkeep ur hobby? Or really is 'hoot first think later'?

I kept an xls of watch purchases and sales, and throughout the years, I have lost quite some bit through flipping (those bought new and those bought from preowned shops lost the most), to the extent that I though the $$ could have been a lot better spent on the family (yar, quite regrettable).

Now i have cut down my holdings to only three watches (rollie, nomos, sinn) and made the effort to spend if (a) i decide to keep as hand-me-on watche, or (b) I feel I am fine with the depreciation (aka rental, maybe $100 for each flip i can accept)...

In any case this thread is full of temptations... I think KYM threads on edmw healthier for the wallet.. :s13:

bro... tbh i was once a serial flipper. I think it happened this way because that time i just started out on this hobby and didn't really know what i want, so ended up buying/flipping/buying just to try out the different watches.

Definitely lost some money from the flippings, but it depends on how you see it... to me it's just renting them to wear. Also the loss won't be that much if you had bought pre-owned. But then i don't buy many watches at one go, so they still have wrist time :)

But now the watches i buy are mainly to keep and not to flip (hopefully =:p)... the experimenting phase was over so i know what i want now compared to the past :)

gaoxing84

Sorry if I keep parading my pam but the box finally came. Just collected from Eric. The pam grey dealer.
The box is damn nice! Haha
IMG_20140504_140131_zpsfe61fb7e.jpg

hanlsnx

How about Omega Seamaster Aqua Terra Chronograph GMT in SS on leather strap?

Omega-Aqua-Terra-Chronograph-GMT-4.jpg
Being a 9300 PO owner i will say omega Seamaster series is not really a dress watch buy a versatile watch for everyday. Reason is simple the 9300 movement is damn thick and dive rated watch are thick they dont do well under a properly fitted shirt cuff.

I think a true dress watch under 10K i will go with Zenith Chronomaster XXT

zenith-chronomaster-xxt-stainless-steel-mens-watch-03-1260-4010-01-c505-1.jpg

Or for something pricier i will always go for Portuguese 7 days

522308266_o.jpg

Or for something off the beaten track Maurice Lacroix Pontos

Maurice Lacroix Pontos Decentrique GMT does a really really good job with the day night indication and a full second time zone indicator

791745d1344982666-recommendation-2-time-zones-date-moonphase-pt6118-ss001-130.jpg

Personally I dont find a moonphase watch particularly cool but the Maurice Lacroix Pontos Decentrique GMT does a really really good job

But when it doubt for dress watch you can never never go wrong with JLC master control

JLC_Master_8.jpg

Oceania

Being a 9300 PO owner i will say omega Seamaster series is not really a dress watch buy a versatile watch for everyday. Reason is simple the 9300 movement is damn thick and dive rated watch are thick they dont do well under a properly fitted shirt cuff.

I think a true dress watch under 10K i will go with Zenith Chronomaster XXT

zenith-chronomaster-xxt-stainless-steel-mens-watch-03-1260-4010-01-c505-1.jpg

Or for something pricier i will always go for Portuguese 7 days

522308266_o.jpg

Or for something off the beaten track Maurice Lacroix Pontos

maurice-lacroix-pontos.jpg

But when it doubt for dress watch you can never never go wrong with JLC master control

JLC_Master_8.jpg

Nice :)

I would vote for either the Portuguese 7 days or the JLC Master Control!

But the Portuguese 7 days would bust the 10k budget. Not sure abt the JLC?

billovee

A colleague sms-ed me asking for recommendations for a "dress watch with complications below 10k".......and my mind went blank. Anybody has any recommendations?

Not the photo shop bambino patek ?

Show him the photo....then when he agreed to buy. Show him actual bambino. Hahaha

socketer

bro... tbh i was once a serial flipper. I think it happened this way because that time i just started out on this hobby and didn't really know what i want, so ended up buying/flipping/buying just to try out the different watches.

Definitely lost some money from the flippings, but it depends on how you see it... to me it's just renting them to wear. Also the loss won't be that much if you had bought pre-owned. But then i don't buy many watches at one go, so they still have wrist time :)

But now the watches i buy are mainly to keep and not to flip (hopefully =:p)... the experimenting phase was over so i know what i want now compared to the past :)

some watches the price difference from grey BNIB and 9/10 preowned is just afew percents, e.g. the rollies... even if you know you flipping eventually, buying preowned still feels very gao wei (uneasy)...

some watches I thought i will own forever (like the sumo which I bought and sold 3 times; like the safe-queen jaeger MC which I bought BN), I end up selling... so I now very reserved in buying liao, must think think think many times, and couple with occasions so there is a meaning behind a watch to keep...

gaoxing84

The Jlc master control is approx 8k plus iirc

IWC Portuguese 7 days is darn nice. Haha. But over 10k
Next time I wanna hoot IWC Portuguese chronograph sure find yattokame bro

Oceania

some watches the price difference from grey BNIB and 9/10 preowned is just afew percents, e.g. the rollies... even if you know you flipping eventually, buying preowned still feels very gao wei (uneasy)...

some watches I thought i will own forever (like the sumo which I bought and sold 3 times; like the safe-queen jaeger MC which I bought BN), I end up selling... so I now very reserved in buying liao, must think think think many times, and couple with occasions so there is a meaning behind a watch to keep...

I dun mind pre-owned if the condition is very good. If i can't find lnib, i'll go for bnib. Of course bnib is preferred if the difference is not much. Now all of my watches are actually bnib except for one.

Oh.. and also some watch models are already discontinued so bobian have to get pre-owned. NOS can be hard to find.

hanlsnx

To be honest i wont bother too much with IWC chronograph it really is a very well finished 7750.

Thoroughbred chronograph like the Zenith i feel is the way to go.

Zenith-El-Primero-410-watch-4.jpg

Zenith-El-Primero-410-watch-5.jpg

iV3RsOn

The Jlc master control is approx 8k plus iirc

IWC Portuguese 7 days is darn nice. Haha. But over 10k
Next time I wanna hoot IWC Portuguese chronograph sure find yattokame bro

Need to hold hand with him den can...

Fast

Just gotten mine... Feels kinda cheapo though... Like the dial is made of paper.
2pslm3q.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.