The Watch Thread - Part 5

billovee

ya that's their mission statement i guess. and that's how they market their brand! brand statement also.

ya lor. since they got means and old machinery to remake old parts. something that can last half a century or a century is damn awesome. lol

i will buy PP when i hit my target that i have set long time ago.

Azrielsc

haha can. i waiting for the company to get back to me leh. i will just put yours in together. lol.

now i think got over 10 orders liao.
Going to do 5 brushed and 5 polished for 22mm, 24mm. 26mm do 2-3 pieces. haha see can get good deal anot.
but must make sure they do a good job, give them mine and ask them to do a sample for me.
if good then will send in bigger amount of buckles.

Awesome, thanks. Will wait for the company to reply then.

Piano_guy

Watching the thread these few days rekindle my interest on the Tudor Black Bay and Tudor Monte Carlo. It's a pity that I got small wrist.

a562140

Watching the thread these few days rekindle my interest on the Tudor Black Bay and Tudor Monte Carlo. It's a pity that I got small wrist.

i say buy used wear it for a while. you might get used to it. otherwise its just feels good to get it out of your system.

balzebub

Any idea where to buy the watch winder with various TPD setting?

Most of the winder on qoo dont have tpd option, just counter clockwise or clockwise.

Currently have boxy winder, it is good and reliable. But, only have one watch option.

i am using boxy winders and they have 3 TPD settings. Can't remember the exact numbers but they are 3 very commonly used TPD settings for the common movements out there. I do think it is best to buy a winder with TPD settings as different movements require different TPD settings. It is not good to keep the watch "over wound" on winder. Was told that keeping at 60 to 70% power reserve is better for the main spring and gears?

Everyone seems to use this as a resource for checking the TPD required for a particular watch and movement:
Orbita Watch winders - Innovative Watch winder Designs | Orbita Watchwinders

epigram

Hi can u do a quick review of this watch...? A bit keen..... Thanx!

Quick review

Despite its size it wears quite well on my average sized wrist. The day month year indications are fairly legible once you get used to it. Smooth chronograph button action. Key highlight to me is the 4 digit year indication. Most perpetuals don't have this. Power reserve is about 40 hours so if you are lazy just wear every 2 days or put in winder. Personally I am happy to adjust the watch before wearing it.

yattokame

Quick review

Despite its size it wears quite well on my average sized wrist. The day month year indications are fairly legible once you get used to it. Smooth chronograph button action. Key highlight to me is the 4 digit year indication. Most perpetuals don't have this. Power reserve is about 40 hours so if you are lazy just wear every 2 days or put in winder. Personally I am happy to adjust the watch before wearing it.

Thanx.....cant rem where I read it, or was it the IWC portugese perpetual calendar I was eyeing but all calendar operations are on the crown alone - thats quite fascinating!

Collectorstime has a preowned for sale at 13k usd but I'm not sure if I can carry off an odd-shaped watch like this one.

Thanks again for your review! :)

yattokame

gCxfusf.jpg

Have been asked over pm to do a review for this watch so.....Here I go!

Really very nice, and like I said before, rose gold/brown suits my skin tone. Just this morning alone already a few hi-and-bye ppl in the same building have commented or caught staring at it. Don't think they were interested in my hairy wrist. :p even Mr Goh of K2 also had a good look and commented it looks very nice.

z4aVRGo.jpg

The movement is in-house (i think) and it's decently done for a watch at this price point (below 5k). Nothing much to complain though I hope more parts can be exposed. But my SA tell me "half covered half seen then exciting mah" LOL

ZtyDJul.jpg

Nice little detail on the tang buckle but the strap....oh man....it's stiff and SQUEAKS at the lugs. LOUDLY. Kind of irritating. Am searching for a RH deployant buckle (18mm) so any recommendations is greatly appreciated. My SA is also helping me ask the brand manager.....lugs width 22mm tapered to 18mm strap tip.

0JIRFKq.jpg

The crown is quite nice and dressy, and from this picture is one of my fave parts - the reflection of the names of the cities off the rehaut / chapter ring. The world map is also a point of discussion / mention for people who asked to see the watch up close. However, the hand for the date is another QC issue - on some dates it doesn't point to the centre of the date numbers. The other QC issue I have mentioned is the click at the first crown position. Very very faint. And the clicking as you progress through the cycle (date/cities) isn't very.....premim feel. In hokkien, "ho kua bo ho jiak".

I didn't plan to wear this until the deployant buckle comes, and I need to plan carefully as some days I walk a lot and sweat buckets so this will disintegrate the straps quickly.

Nonetheless it's a fantastic looking watch for below 5k, and I hope they do a perpetual calendar at this price point soon! :)

KE8Dgc5.jpg

RG watch and RG cufflinks for today......

slow_mo

Thanx.....cant rem where I read it, or was it the IWC portugese perpetual calendar I was eyeing but all calendar operations are on the crown alone - thats quite fascinating!

Collectorstime has a preowned for sale at 13k usd but I'm not sure if I can carry off an odd-shaped watch like this one.

Thanks again for your review! :)

13k for a perpetual calendar?! That's not expensive!!

Hoot first talk later!

wobbpia

Hi, i am currently stationed in the UK but ill be coming back to sg in a few months time.

Could anyone tell me if its cheaper to buy in the UK or singapore? I heard it's cheaper to buy in singapore as the ADs give a much higher discount. The watch shops in the UK dont really seem to give any discount and the watches on sales are usually quite ugly.

I am interested in getting an omega watch. I dont have enough post counts to post links though Its the AQUA TERRA 150 M OMEGA CO-AXIAL 41.5 MM. How much would this watch cost in singapore?

Cheers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.