The Watch Thread - Part 5

AgentVX

Other ways to put it is like being a selective feminist, have the cake and want to eat it too.

My friend observed that modern women (ie. Gen X, early Gen Y) could be facing a bit of an identity crisis in that, for the first time in history they are now working professionals, but this still has to be balanced against the traditional expectations of them as a homemaker/mother/wife. I guess it may take some time before they settle in to their place in the kitchen society.

Henabi

Please address me properly.
It's not dai dai gor.
It's Dai Kor (underwear).
Thank you.

:D

yes Dai Kor :D :s13:

thanks VW for your congrats!

the "your $ is my $ and my $ is my $" concept i seriously dunno come out from where one...

some girls will really "worship" this thinking and always expect guys to pay for them.

but one thing for sure, we see more girls nowadays wearing male luxury watches.

Vanilla Way

Actually regarding the issue of ladies and their expectation of men. True, there is a lot of black sheeps out there but also a little unfair to make a sweeping statement haha.. Every girl loves to be pampered but importantly she cannot be over demanding and over controlling. Actually for myself, I usually find myself more wiling to part cash to buy stuff for my fiance den myself..my own purchases will tend to think many times haha.

slow_mo

Haha that's part of the reason why I decided to splash out on my first 'proper' watch at the end of last year. Broke up with my gf a couple of months prior, but also partly to celebrate getting a big raise. I know that if I were in a relationship, very hard to justify this kind of expenditure to her and in the end will probably have to buy something to placate her, ie. will end up spending a lot more than intended :s13:

My wife buys her own stuff. It's only during certain occasions that I buy something sexpensive for her. I don't usually stop her from her buys. Just like she doesn't stop me from buying stuff.

slow_mo

my wife knows that I was ready to splash on a pre-own rolex but she has been trying to tell me to hold back...
luckily I didn't pull the trigger last year, otherwise i don't know where to get the cash to pay for my mum's bypass ops.

this year..better than last year. have more cash in hand, so will be heading back to golden landmark to see see look look again ^.^
and now... she is telling me don't spend too much.. cuz our ROM event coming up :s13:

恭喜恭喜......

Vanilla Way

yes Dai Kor :D :s13:

thanks VW for your congrats!

the "your $ is my $ and my $ is my $" concept i seriously dunno come out from where one...

some girls will really "worship" this thinking and always expect guys to pay for them.

but one thing for sure, we see more girls nowadays wearing male luxury watches.

From day 1 dating my fiance we go dutch. Eg: take turns to pay for dinner, movies etc. Something that I will insist on. Even if I ask him help me buy things I will die die pay him. I earn my own keep and is totally capable of supporting myself - I don't see why I should treat someone I love as my cash cow.

iceflight

u finally notice I've been secretly admiring you, baby. :s13:

:eek::eek::eek:

Mai bah la..... about handbags, at least your wifey ask or express to you what she may want, mine just buy, then ask me nice or not....

to the rest, Sinkie girls ok generally lah, if you are a girl, dun you want to find the love of your life and happens that he's wealthy too.... In China, it's so common that if you dun own a house, you generally can forget about marrying the girl. Sad to say today life is not easy and the peer pressure of owning luxury items is so evident in Singapore, in many parts of the western world, they never even heard of Hermes or Gucci.. in the chinese culture this gravitation to material wealth shows greatly.

Let's never forget that the lack of food on the table is still the major issue to more than 80% of the population in the world

hungpenglee

I guess I am more of the opposite...

I will be the one to urge my wife to buy the things she like as she never bear to buy anything even though she likes them. :s22:

A wise man told me: 女朋友越看越美;老婆越看越可爱

Maybe tats why I adore my wife a lot... :D

All in a Day

My friend observed that modern women (ie. Gen X, early Gen Y) could be facing a bit of an identity crisis in that, for the first time in history they are now working professionals, but this still has to be balanced against the traditional expectations of them as a homemaker/mother/wife. I guess it may take some time before they settle in to their place in the kitchen society.

My opinion differs on this, specifically for the "middle-class upwards working Singapore women" segment.

As far as the homemaker bit is concerned, most of the young families I know share the chores equally and where it is unequal, it is actually in favour of the ladies more frequently. Or else it's the domestic helper who does the chores. (Of course with due credit to the lady contributing to the dual income).

The mother role is inherently dictated by nature and the ladies have it tough on this pretty much without choice (unless they choose not to have kids at all, which is also on an uptrend). That said, I also note that modern dads (amongst my friends) are stepping up to the extent that they can help in childcare, bearing in mind the burdens of a working mother.

On the last role of "wife", I don't know what era is used as the reference point for "traditional", but the GCP syndrome does seem wide spread (again based on very limited sample of personal observations). The only good news is that it somehow seems to tone down after the ladies become mothers.

crapman

:eek::eek::eek:

Mai bah la..... about handbags, at least your wifey ask or express to you what she may want, mine just buy, then ask me nice or not....

to the rest, Sinkie girls ok generally lah, if you are a girl, dun you want to find the love of your life and happens that he's wealthy too.... In China, it's so common that if you dun own a house, you generally can forget about marrying the girl. Sad to say today life is not easy and the peer pressure of owning luxury items is so evident in Singapore, in many parts of the western world, they never even heard of Hermes or Gucci.. in the chinese culture this gravitation to material wealth shows greatly.

Let's never forget that the lack of food on the table is still the major issue to more than 80% of the population in the world

I agree with you.. If you go to those tourist attraction spots and see, alot of western foreigners' bag are mostly unbranded or those brand that is from their country. It is mostly asian that are using Hermes, LV, Gucci and etc..

slow_mo

From day 1 dating my fiance we go dutch. Eg: take turns to pay for dinner, movies etc. Something that I will insist on. Even if I ask him help me buy things I will die die pay him. I earn my own keep and is totally capable of supporting myself - I don't see why I should treat someone I love as my cash cow.

Yap. That should be the way if the difference in pay is not too wide!!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.