The Watch Thread - Part 5

a562140

my wife knows that I was ready to splash on a pre-own rolex but she has been trying to tell me to hold back...
luckily I didn't pull the trigger last year, otherwise i don't know where to get the cash to pay for my mum's bypass ops.

this year..better than last year. have more cash in hand, so will be heading back to golden landmark to see see look look again ^.^
and now... she is telling me don't spend too much.. cuz our ROM event coming up :s13:

good lesson to learn early in life. i see too many young folks enslaved by financial constraints willingly or unwillingly. you can say what you want but today watches are luxury items.

yattokame

Morning all!

For those of you on watchwinders, does it consume a lot of electricity...?
I am using a 6-individual winder which i have since 2008, and I switched it on only a few weeks back. Electricity consumption this month was atrocious! Assuming all things remain constant, it's a $100+ extra. :(

Probably the winder is getting old....?

akloaklo

Anybody with a 6-6.5 inch wrist with a 38-42mm exclude length of lugs watch with.pic? Im not sure if a 42mm is too big

a562140

Morning all!

I am using a 6-individual winder which i have since 2008, and I switched it on only a few weeks back. Electricity consumption this month was atrocious! Assuming all things remain constant, it's a $100+ extra. :(

i don't use watchwinders but I think its got to be something else. $100 of electricity is a lot...you propably can run a refrigerator on that. speaking of which check the seals on the refrigerator regularly to ensure that when its shut its sealed properly.

rachdanon

i don't use watchwinders but I think its got to be something else. $100 of electricity is a lot...you propably can run a refrigerator on that. speaking of which check the seals on the refrigerator regularly to ensure that when its shut its sealed properly.

Yeap, switching aircon in a room every night incurs about $50ish a month more based on my experience. $100 cannot be watch winders.

a562140

Anybody with a 6-6.5 inch wrist with a 38-42mm exclude length of lugs watch with.pic? Im not sure if a 42mm is too big

it really depends on the watch case shape and especially the length of the lugs, so taking the total size of the specific watch from tip of lugs i.e. from top to bottom in the picture might be also useful

draft_lens16814031module144943771photo_1294272308measuring_a_watch_case2.j

then again i've seen folks with 7" wrists but its "thick not flat" unable to wear watches that the 6.5" wristed "thin but flat" folks can.

yattokame

Yeap, switching aircon in a room every night incurs about $50ish a month more based on my experience. $100 cannot be watch winders.

No leh we are running fans at night. The air cons are switched off after 2hours.
The only extra thing is the watchwinder - the connection is a little cranky so I'm wondering if that could be the issue (not EEE trained pai sey).....

Ok let me try to see how it goes. I will now activate the winder every alternate day instead and monitor how it goes.....sigh

Thanks all :)

akloaklo

Wa tough like that if go down to gnomon watch try.this try.that very paiseh. The one I really like is 42mm laco but they didnt.state.the.length from lug to lug.

yattokame

Wa tough like that if go down to gnomon watch try.this try.that very paiseh. The one I really like is 42mm laco but they didnt.state.the.length from lug to lug.

Thats part and parcel of the hobby! :)
Trying a watch on your wrist is an absolute MUST before any purchase. You need to see how it "talks" to you and how it feels on you.

All the best!!!

slow_mo

Morning all!

Your watch winder has a dehumidifier? Temperature control? Sensor spotlight? Sound activated control? 24/7 surveillance camera? Any theft systems?

Cannot be $100! Don't even think air con will consume so much electricity.

coern

Morning all!

does the winder come with an external power adaptor? around the size of a fist? those adaptors usually output DC voltages of around 5 to 12V and current of around 1 amps?

Based on the above, the consumption on an hourly basis is max 0.012 kWh at 25.73 cents per kWh. monthly basis should be around $2.22, wayyyy less than $100+.

yattokame

Your watch winder has a dehumidifier? Temperature control? Sensor spotlight? Sound activated control? 24/7 surveillance camera? Any theft systems?

Cannot be $100! Don't even think air con will consume so much electricity.

LOL no lah just basic can choose clockwise/anti-clockwise or both directions.
But am wondering if the loose connection at the adapter has anything to do with it.

does the winder come with an external power adaptor? around the size of a fist? those adaptors usually output DC voltages of around 5 to 12V and current of around 1 amps?

Based on the above, the consumption on an hourly basis is max 0.012 kWh at 25.73 cents per kWh. monthly basis should be around $2.22, wayyyy less than $100+.

Yes sir it does
Crap. Then must be something else...?

rachdanon

Generally you are good to go. However, wrist size is as elusive as 'that' size, u know what I mean. When I measure my wrist and compare with others with same watch or same wrist size it usually seems I am under measuring mine and others are over measuring... Maybe like what others have said just go try on yourself, you may be surprised.

hungpenglee

Thats part and parcel of the hobby! :)
Trying a watch on your wrist is an absolute MUST before any purchase. You need to see how it "talks" to you and how it feels on you.

All the best!!!

Only way to know if the watch wears well and comfortable is to try it on. The design is only a start. :)

jonleelk

hungpenglee

It is really hard to measure this way, as a 6.5 incher (i mean my wrist), I can still say some 38-42mm watches wears uncomfortable and not suitable. Mainly our wrists can be flat or rounded, so trying it on will tells it all.

Good luck in your hunt and hope a nice watch finds a real good owner... ;)

All in a Day

Nothing paiseh la... i think they are already used to it and more importantly that's their job as retail assistants at the shop!

I mean seriously, u really rather trust a few pictures (assuming if you even get any) and pull the trigger to order off internet than to go down and try when that option is available to u?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.