The Watch Thread - Part 5

Lurker_13

As for the strap question, how can a strap make a Pam look smaller! The Pam is already so BIG. With a bund strap, you would be rocking something huge. Like this:

Pam 305 on a Gunny Bund Strap

bundred305_01.jpg

Can your wrist take that! :)

Let the poison begin!

Nice bund strap... Read from WUS that a bund strap will make small watches look bigger. :D

Azrielsc

Guess it is time for me to put some thoughts into words so I hope you can bear with me. Please also keep in mind that this is my personal view and I apologise in advance to those who may take offense.

Many many moons ago, in 2002-2003, my friends were all in Panerai and were extolling the watches. A watch with history, presence and sophistication, something different from the run of the mill watches, blah blah blah. I didn't pay much attention to the watch because I felt it was expensive (I only started working for 2 years!) and too "in your face". Also coupled with the fact of the watch being "pushed" by them, it put me off and I shrugged it off and continued with my life.

Fast forward to this few years, I started to look around for a nice watch to reward myself and I found myself looking at Panerai again. Importantly, I could finally afford one and it has a range of watches that appeal to my personality and lifestyle. I was initially hesitant as I thought I could not pull off a 44/47mm watch on my puny 6.25" wrist but my wife said, "MAN OR MOUSE!" and the rest is history!

So then I owned my first Panerai, a 351 in 2012.

Now, a lot of you have mentioned or may have put up a meme that says "Panerai everywhere" or something to that effect. It's true, really! You are able to spot a Panerai wherever you go because it is HUGE and has appeal! Somewhat like a Rolex... they are everywhere!

Now to the matter at hand, anyone can buy a 351, a 000, a 005, 449, or any other Pam and they all "look" the same. BIG ASS WRIST CLOCKS, that's what they are. :)

But what really amazed me is that from the ability to change straps effortlessly, an enormous strap making cottage industry sprung up and the choices for personalised, handcrafted straps just exploded. No more boring OEM straps that you pay an arm and leg for.

Oh no, you are in-between buckling holes, get a customised strap. Want a strap to match your underwear, BOOM, you get a customised strap. You want more of a tail, customised strap. Want the strap stitching to match your car's leather stitching? You get the idea!

Nowadays, you can customise your strap to your hearts content. Something to suit your personality/character and to differientate your Pam from the guy/gal Pam besides you.

And why stop there? Buckles can be customised too. Handcrafted, made out of bone/wood, engraved, etc. The choices are there for you to experiment with.

Individualism, uniqueness, that is why I go all strap gaga. :)

Alright... time to come down from my soap box and go home!

Happy strap hunting, people!

gaoxing84

Cheap does not equal good leh...

But it seems that the "best" aftermarket rubber strap for Pam and also Rolex, that I know of, is from RubberB

Or you can look for Ted Su's rubber strap: 24mm Dive buckle and strap for Panerai

Let the poison begin!

all your recommendation is damn xiong one.
i think those regular one can already.
rubber strap, not leather. lol random one can already. LOL

btw, my gf told me she like this. with even more diamonds. 20k odd. HOU MAI DOGS! need to find internal hook up from rolex liao. lol
Rolex

iV3RsOn

btw, my gf told me she like this. with even more diamonds. 20 odd. HOU MAI DOGS!
Rolex

both of u elite that's y

Donten

btw, my gf told me she like this. with even more diamonds. 20 odd. HOU MAI DOGS!
Rolex

better than that chanel. 10 years down the road at least this still got resale value and class.

gaoxing84

Guess it is time for me to put some thoughts into words so I hope you can bear with me. Please also keep in mind that this is my personal view and I apologise in advance to those who may take offense.

Many many moons ago, in 2002-2003, my friends were all in Panerai and were extolling the watches. A watch with history, presence and sophistication, something different from the run of the mill watches, blah blah blah. I didn't pay much attention to the watch because I felt it was expensive (I only started working for 2 years!) and too "in your face". Also coupled with the fact of the watch being "pushed" by them, it put me off and I shrugged it off and continued with my life.

Fast forward to this few years, I started to look around for a nice watch to reward myself and I found myself looking at Panerai again. Importantly, I could finally afford one and it has a range of watches that appeal to my personality and lifestyle. I was initially hesitant as I thought I could not pull off a 44/47mm watch on my puny 6.25" wrist but my wife said, "MAN OR MOUSE!" and the rest is history!

Now, a lot of you have mentioned or may have put up a meme that says "Panerai everywhere" or something to that effect. It's true, really! You are able to spot a Panerai wherever you go because it is HUGE and has appeal! Somewhat like a Rolex... they are everywhere!

Now to the matter at hand, anyone can buy a 351, a 000, a 005, 449, or any other Pam and they all "look" the same. BIG ASS WRIST CLOCKS, that's what they are. :)

But what really amazed me is that from the ability to change straps effortlessly, an enormous strap making cottage industry sprung up and the choices for personalised, handcrafted straps just exploded. No more boring OEM straps that you pay an arm and leg for.

Oh no, you are in-between buckling holes, get a customised strap. Want a strap to match your underwear, BOOM, you get a customised strap. You want more of a tail, customised strap. Want the strap stitching to match your car's leather stitching? You get the idea!

Nowadays, you can customise your strap to your hearts content. Something to suit your personality/character and to differientate your Pam from the guy/gal Pam besides you.

And why stop there? Buckles can be customised too. Handcrafted, made out of bone/wood, engraved, etc. The choices are there for you to experiment with.

hey bro, i think you're in love with the straps rather than the watch itself. haha.

Like you, i was in poly and during the "streetwear label" era, saw someone famous in a streetwear magazine wearing panerai, was wow-ed by it because of the size and the crown guard. Which lead me to further poisoned by my old secondary school teacher who is in into watches. He showed me his 024. i was smitten by it but was taken aback by the price then. So i made a promise to myself to buy and own this watch hopefully when I turn 25.
I was 19 then. Took me 6 years, in between, got some other purchases to feed my hunger. lol
Now i am 25++ going 26 and i finally owned my very first pam (although it's a normal logo model, i am still very happy! First of the many goals to achieve.)

hehe!

success-kid.jpg

iV3RsOn

hey bro, i think you're in love with the straps rather than the watch itself. haha.

Like you, i was in poly and during the "streetwear label" era, saw someone famous in a streetwear magazine wearing panerai, was wow-ed by it because of the size and the crown guard. Which lead me to further poisoned by my old secondary school teacher who is in into watches. He showed me his 024. i was smitten by it but was taken aback by the price then. So i made a promise to myself to buy and own this watch hopefully when I turn 25.
I was 19 then. Took me 6 years, in between, got some other purchases to feed my hunger. lol
Now i am 25++ going 26 and i finally owned my very first pam (although it's a normal logo model, i am still very happy! First of the many goals to achieve.)

hehe!

success-kid.jpg

tumblr_mbc3p2IhdG1qzwa31o1_250.gif

Nakedtoes

Had lunch with the wife before going to the doctor (yes I'm sick). At ION so wife finally agrees to go have a look at panerai with me (note: she has always disliked the crown guard).

The missus' verdict: the 24 is quite small on my wrist. She prefers me with the 305 because it stands out more.
Get well soon

a562140

the rise of the modern panerai brand has been phenomenal due to all those points you raise. it really was nothing more than a microbrand in the 90's though it had a long history. credit to its ability to have the discipline to keep to one look - albeit many variations.

but variation and choice - thats not just panerai but the whole watch industry today. not just a few top brands, but even more brands at affordable levels producing just as good or even better quality (short of in-house movements but thats a different kettle of fish)... never a better time to be a watch collector!

yattokame

Hnmmmm good idea to put my seiko worldtimer and skx007 on bund straps to make them look bigger on my wrist?
Really like them but they look small on me leh...

a562140

received this earlier this year but first time out with this watch...
hXJumQD-eLuCiXqEVBit4N701H8ViYqfh6QDkXPzN0Y=w671-h1193-no

any more certina fans out there? they have some excellent designs in the past, faded away due to the rise of quartz, but under new leadership has recently been churning out some nice new watches under.

not a bad time to speculate on vintage certinas now.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.