The Watch Thread - Part 5

Henabi

Firstly, thanks for the recommendation to Ichiran..... fantastic, going again on friday... everything fantastic and therefore worth the queue.

about the watch you are trying, isn't it in about the same genre as your Pam? It's time to hoot something so painful and satisfying yet serious...that it will ease the itch for a while.... a perpetual in the likes of ALS or PP?

Never like AP for me, but that's me... VC has so many 土豪 chinese owners it's not something I'll like to be associated with .... 僵尸单炖 .... what a stylish name....

ALS LANGE 1.... bare minimum for yatto dai gor ^.^

slow_mo

Was looking at the Helson Blackbeard... Too bad, it's discontinued. :(

Here's Jack... although it's not the same...

Azrielsc

@ Aerolord & Khun Lor TRT: Next meet must have a groupie shot hor!

Then I will try to wear one on each wrist! :) Hehe!

Thai_Rak_Thai

Handsome looking blue bezel! Went to the boutique to have a look, watch and bracelet feels solid!

My last watch! :D

Congrats on your new hoot. Tried it on Sunday.. somehow it doesn't sing to me.
It looks very very good on its own, just doesn't on my wrist

I see...then you will be rewarded with something better :)

For my new Tudor bros!

Henabi and Thai_Rak!

We will have a nice side by side photo soon

Hello พี่ชาย from a more affordable Japanese/Hong Kee fanboy..
nice also bro....brand not so important...looks and how comfortable is and yours look great too :)

Damage?

Good looking but I still prefer the burgundy brother. maybe cos it appeals more to the lady in me as compared to blue.

Yes, seen some ladies wear it - very nice too. Would get both colours if i could...but only the big bros here can :D

same price as red...steel $4,550

lousylah

Firstly, thanks for the recommendation to Ichiran..... fantastic, going again on friday... everything fantastic and therefore worth the queue.

You're in HK? Butao ramen is better than Ichiran IMHO. There is one behind hysan place in CWB.

Ichiran comparable to Marutama in SG.

akloaklo

Hey guys...was thinking about the below 2 as I have thin 6-6.5inch wrist. So looking for a 38-42mm watch.

Will go down to gnomon to try but which is better. (I already have my choice in mind but would like to know what you guys think.

How important is the lume in a watch? Marine 38 has no lume at all while laco is full of lum :)

Laco marine
303blad.jpg

steinhart marine 38
2cf4itt.jpg

yattokame

about the watch you are trying, isn't it in about the same genre as your Pam? It's time to hoot something so painful and satisfying yet serious...that it will ease the itch for a while.... a perpetual in the likes of ALS or PP?

Never like AP for me, but that's me... VC has so many 土豪 chinese owners it's not something I'll like to be associated with .... 僵尸单炖 .... what a stylish name....

most welcome - ichiran is always the first and last meal on our trips to japan; until we brought the kids along. Ramen places aren't really kids friendly especially ichiran. You might still want to try the 7 special ramen beneath shinagawa train tracks :) the yakiniku place I told you about is also quite good and pretty cheap - value for money.

maybe you can do us all a favour and franchise ichiran in sg! a couple of my friends have been talking about it but nobody actually bothered to hahaha.....

ALS or PP perpetual - no money. still eating grass. secondly,I don't really like the PP dress watches; I feel they are too small on my wrist. ALS wise I quite like the timezone that triste has so that might be it. but then again, eating grass now, still got 30 months of grass to eat :s13:

pls post more pictures of Japan leh.....

xtwis7

You're in HK? Butao ramen is better than Ichiran IMHO. There is one behind hysan place in CWB.

Ichiran comparable to Marutama in SG.

Huh? Marutama comparable to Ichiran? No offense but they're definitely in different leagues IMO. Ichiran offers what Ippudo can't even offer in terms of customizing your own flavour. Unless the HK one was that bad but I'm quite sure those who have tried Ichiran in Japan have not regretted it so far.

iceflight

most welcome - ichiran is always the first and last meal on our trips to japan; until we brought the kids along. Ramen places aren't really kids friendly especially ichiran. You might still want to try the 7 special ramen beneath shinagawa train tracks :) the yakiniku place I told you about is also quite good and pretty cheap - value for money.

maybe you can do us all a favour and franchise ichiran in sg! a couple of my friends have been talking about it but nobody actually bothered to hahaha.....

ALS or PP perpetual - no money. still eating grass. secondly,I don't really like the PP dress watches; I feel they are too small on my wrist. ALS wise I quite like the timezone that triste has so that might be it. but then again, eating grass now, still got 30 months of grass to eat :s13:

pls post more pictures of Japan leh.....

Cheers. Stop eating grass and eat Ichiran ramen.

If anyone will go bring in Ichiran , I'll put out the capital. Anyone serious can pm me

yattokame

Huh? Marutama comparable to Ichiran? No offense but they're definitely in different leagues IMO. Ichiran offers what Ippudo can't even offer in terms of customizing your own flavour. Unless the HK one was that bad but I'm quite sure those who have tried Ichiran in Japan have not regretted it so far.

Marutama is chicken based soup. And dunno which region. Ichiran is hakata tonkotsu. I'm a sucker for hakata ramen actually. Quite diff if u ask me. Used to have marutama quite frequently - IMHO they are quite good. Nantsuttei also my fave. And the black miso at keisuke in shinagawa also.

Diff soup base diff style and its up to personal pref. learn to appreciate what each style offers is more interesting. Shio, shoyu, miso etc

Same goes for watches ya? :)

kiosai

Cheers. Stop eating grass and eat Ichiran ramen.

If anyone will go bring in Ichiran , I'll put out the capital. Anyone serious can pm me

Wah.. iceflight daikor want to diversify business ah? :s12:

Too bad gonna be stuck in my job for a long while so wun be submitting any business proposals..

The greatest threat to F&B in s'pore is not captial or rents. I'm sure banks r still very willing to lend in this climate.. lots of shops r closing down in the shopping centres especially young punks who underestimated the jump from selling clothes in a blogshop versus a physical stall.. sure got shoplots here and there for a ramen chain.

The biggest threat to F&B is manpower issues. Double whammy of locals not willing to do the job or do the job for long.. young punks do the job 6 months only ask for promotion to manyzer or else quit. And they can easily find another f&b job outside!

Yes, can import Japanese chef or Director of Operations, but we all know the crunch lies in getting sufficient waiters, cleaners, dishwashers etc.. Public sentiments towards foreign labour and MoM policies dun help.

Just my 2 cents and hope to see the chain of TWT Ichiran Ramen soon!
Hopefully dun gain notoriety from visitors describing it as "full of weird men holding each other hands..." :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.