The Watch Thread - Part 6

g9v8SYl.jpg

all the lurker_显身 liao!!!

This afternoon during lunch break.[/QUOTE]

NICE! Always luv the look of a Panerai but the only thing holding me back is the negative reviews on its movements. How does your piece hold time?

yattokame

On top of your regular volunteering work, you're a real model for those people around you. Utmost respect for your kind deed and for showing what how big a heart we can have.

舍得舍得
有舍就有得
sadly this entire nov I haven't done any volunteer work. only that charity initiative I told you guys about (the single mum with many children).......
I'm just doing what I can lah. I'm no saint. I have many flaws which I absolutely hate about myself.

Awesome Yatto-san, thanks for sharing, indeed very inspiring and a kind gesture on your part. I'm sure many years down the road, once he made his mark, this will be his one of his life stories that will be worth sharing :)

Yeah hope he brings it forward and also help the people around him. Just hope to put a smile on his face amidst his many challenges in life.

wa.. yattokane kor kor ish my idol!!!!!!!!

you know what to do darling......
all your hotdogs are mine!!!!! :s13:

Good job bro. Good karma awaits.

Sent from GAGT Android App

I believe in karma. Very much. Thanks bro.

g9v8SYl.jpg

all the lurker_显身 liao!!!

现身 or 献身?:s12:
I prefer the latter leh. LOL

yattokame

Very nice and touching story(not touch hotdog story, finally). Hit me right in the feel as what am I doing right now :( *continue surf forum*

every one of us different lah. our point of view also changes with time.

I used to just wanna work and make money but now I wanna take it slow already......hoping to retire within these few years. Kind of burnt out.

No health issues, no major money issues, can eat, can have fun with family, can have watch gatherings.....I happy liao. I think we all do.

(see? another post without talking about hotdogs HAHAHAHAHAHA)

小时候,快乐很简单
长大了,简单就快乐

yattokame

awwww...nice heartwarming story. you've just given the watch provenance.

also a nice story from the watch's point of view:
- unloved and sold away for a song
- unaccepted a second time
- third time lucky !

i sure hope the boy is going to cherish the watch and isn't thinking of leopard crawling with it in NS!

btw can i come work for you ?

yeah I quite liked the mini white monster but you guys know I'm still a brand ***** at heart.
And he really likes it so much - am really very very glad for him.

You wanna work for me?
I only have three jobs for you leh.
H, B or F? LOL!!!!

yattokame

couldn't sleep hahahaa woke up at 4am and was still smiling until now cannot sleep hahahaha

slow_mo

Yatto is so early as usual! Enjoy your weekend but probably you still got to work this weekend :(

It's a bright sunny morning!

shorty07

Just to share something which proves everyone's a brandwhore:

Was ogling at the grand seikos in JEM when a friend n fiance walked in. They were looking for a watch as part of their wedding gifts. So i playfully pointed him to get the grand seiko. "Dont want la...at that price get rolex better" was the reply.

So seiko still jeeds a lot of marketing to get their GS to the masses...if they hv any intention to.

slow_mo

Was ogling at the grand seikos in JEM when a friend n fiance walked in. They were looking for a watch as part of their wedding gifts. So i playfully pointed him to get the grand seiko. "Dont want la...at that price get rolex better" was the reply.

So seiko still jeeds a lot of marketing to get their GS to the masses...if they hv any intention to.

Yes. Branding is definitely important. The GS has a lot to catch up to their Swiss counterparts.

Here's a shot I posted a while ago.

Jeremy1

Long time no see everyone ;) Had been really really busy with work. Was even down with flu and had to miss some watch events and put aeroplane to some of the bros here. really very pai sey...... In the past week something happened which I thought I'd share. Really exhausted from work here so pardon me for the lousy story telling.

In my work I have interns. This particular young man was assigned to me (he was awaiting enlistment) and I have been most impressed with him. Extremely high IQ and EQ, and most of all he was very very humble. One thing bugged me though - he would leave the office right on the dot (never go out with us) and would spend his lunch sleeping in the office most of the time.
You probably guessed it; he was born into poverty. He would leave the office right on time to go for his next job which would only end close to midnight (better not reveal too much here). Both parents are sick and unemployed; and he has a number of siblings. The consolation is that all siblings are doing very well in top JCs (all on financial aid), and he and an older brother are working to support the family. When I brought the interns out with me to do charity work on weekends he would always be the one putting in the most effort and enthusiasm.

I was chatting with my wife about this fine young man when I felt like buying him a G-shock for his NS. My G-shock served me very well during my NS and I felt he should have one too. When I was trying to find out more about his family I realized he was surfing the net looking at Seiko divers. So I showed him my photobucket album and he was mesmerized by my Seiko white mini monster (yes the one I bought from Gaoxing for my cousin but ended up as mine). He asked if he could buy it because he cannot afford a brand new one, so I told him just pay what he was comfortable with, and he said $90 without the bracelet.
I brought them out for supper. He told me he had never eaten kway chup before so I ordered the biggest share of kway chup for him until his eyes popped out hahahaha......Then I gave him the watch, and I told him the bracelet was free-of-charge. His eyes were gleaming like a little boy receiving his dream toy and then he dug out from his wallet the $90 to pay me.

I think at this point everyone here would have done what I did - I refused his payment.

I told him he deserves it and I'm very happy the watch has found an owner who loves it much more than I do. I also told him his family needs the $90 for his parents' medical bill so the watch is a gift from me to him because I saw my younger self in him, and how I worked hard to pull myself out of poverty.
His eyes were wet, and he kept thanking me profusely. He promised to pay me once he gets his next pay check but I told him to only pay me the money when he earns his first million dollars. He's got tremendous potential; I am very certain he will make it.

I think it's amazing how much joy (and probably inspiration) we can bring into a person's life if we just be a little more observant and caring. I think tonight we will both sleep with smiles on our faces, but my smile will definitely be bigger than his.

Goodbye, white mini monster. Glad that you have found a new and more loving owner :)

images

confusedboi

Yeah everyone I talk to say why spend so much on a seiko. In the end heck care, just get what you like.

patryn33

1 example imply everyone is so..

Jeremy1

My friend asked me is it worth getting a more than 10 years old second hand Rolex.................................:s8:

Henabi

My friend asked me is it worth getting a more than 10 years old second hand Rolex.................................:s8:

hmmmm... is it the same friend who is considering the 50Th anni Rolex Sub?

Henabi

doubt Seiko will do it, otherwise they would have done it long time ago... GS is specifically targeted at people who knows and appreciate highly precised horological technology and less on brand.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.