slow_mo

a562140

Cmon, we all know in our hearts the place of mech watches in this day and age when it boils down to professional circumstances...

actually i think that the gmt function is perhaps the last useful function for mechanical watches aside from time and date.
chrono, moon etc...its just a novelty but GMT is really useful being able to see two timezones at once.

take a look at this thread from WUS of real pilot watches...still lots of GMTs. Not surprising Rolex features quite a lot as it pretty much started the category with Pan Am.

Timepieces in the cockpit: pics thread - Page 30

All in a Day

actually i think that the gmt function is perhaps the last useful function for mechanical watches aside from time and date.
chrono, moon etc...its just a novelty but GMT is really useful being able to see two timezones at once.

take a look at this thread from WUS of real pilot watches...still lots of GMTs. Not surprising Rolex features quite a lot as it pretty much started the category with Pan Am.

Timepieces in the cockpit: pics thread - Page 30

Agree on usefulness of GMT but i would say it is no more useful for a pilot than for a common man who travels frequently or needs to know the time zone of his gf in a long dist relationship.

I suspect the popularity of GMT watches with pilots may be due to the association of these watches with their profession (from history n subsequently perpetuated by brand marketing), than anything else.

slow_mo

so what's that shot about?
i've always wondered how pilots manage all those time zones ... and if a gmt mechanical watch is actually useful at work, considering those new electronic self setting high accuracy watches.

I have a pilot friend from Hong Kong who wears a Sunnto. He's a one watch person. That watch was with him since his university days.

Other 2 Singapore pilot friends wear Rolex and AP. I didn't bother with the model.

2 RSAF Pilot friends wear G Shock.

a562140

Lunch with the wife. TGIF !

20140905_131639.jpg

coern

Read this in The Peak's annual watch magazine for 2014-15:

TPT0wRJ.jpg

it was from an interview with a car and watch collector/hobbyist who drives, among other things, a mclaren mp4-12c...

Quite an interesting nugget of info, i thought. :s13:

All in a Day

CBS, at the risk of sounding like a desperado for a free drink, any good news on your potential big deal?

Actually just trying to find an excuse for a next gathering with the folks on the thread, espec some with very interesting watches (yah right) :D:D

fabiaN__

Sibei shocked.. saw this today!

Dunno how it happened... sian on a Fri liao... :(:(:(

uboANnG.jpg

All in a Day

Sibei shocked.. saw this today!

Dunno how it happened... sian on a Fri liao... :(:(:(

uboANnG.jpg

I presume u are referring to some scratch on your watch which frankly i cannot identify even upon scrutiny, rather than say the feet in front of u belonged to a muscular man

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.