The Watch Thread - Part 7

rodimus_prime

Last one for tonight ...Speedy HB-SIA Limited Edition with the Yatto pose sans footwear !

rodimus_prime

OK you win ;)

Just curious: would you mind sharing some thoughts about your collection? Also, what will be next for you?

In the hunt for a PP 5990. That will be my final piece....I think. 😝😝Usually I buy my wife and I each a timepiece to mark a significant moment in our lives. Waiting for the next milestone to provide the reason to hoot !

a562140

In the hunt for a PP 5990. That will be my final piece....I think. 😝😝Usually I buy my wife and I each a timepiece to mark a significant moment in our lives. Waiting for the next milestone to provide the reason to hoot !

looks like a life well lived so far then :)
c'est la vie !

rodimus_prime

Here's a lobang for my fellow watch enthusiasts.

If you or your friends happen to transit in Dubai around 18th-20th Dec each year, take note that Dubai Duty Free offers 25% discount on a large range of watches - Omega included, but not Rolex.

http://dubaidutyfree.com/media_center/news_detail/540/25-Discount-to-Mark-Dubai-Duty-Free’s-31st-Anniversary

yattokame

Here's a lobang for my fellow watch enthusiasts.

If you or your friends happen to transit in Dubai around 18th-20th Dec each year, take note that Dubai Duty Free offers 25% discount on a large range of watches - Omega included, but not Rolex.

Dubai Duty Free

mai tu liao.

my sis stays in Dubai. :s12:

was chatting with my BIL over CNY. there's a dealer that sells 2nd piece for 50% off.

going to dubai next month...... will go check it out.

a562140

mai tu liao.

my sis stays in Dubai. :s12:

was chatting with my BIL over CNY. there's a dealer that sells 2nd piece for 50% off.

going to dubai next month...... will go check it out.

waiting for yatto's mass order now!

rachdanon

Last day back in hometown with wife. Was so bored in the kampung. Armed with my Hotlink sim card I read A LOT on watches in particular JLC and my appreciation and respect for the brand has skyrocketed. Learnt they are really great at ultra thin watches. Check the Jubilee out. The entire watch at its thickest is 4.05mm, no thicker than the strap. This takes tremendous amount of watchmaking skill apparently.

MUT-22.JPG

JLC actually is the horologist's dream. They offer the same horological goodness of a PP and Lange that you don't have to be extremely wealthy to enjoy. I think I actually love JLC now.

Check out this interesting thread on WUS. In the page someone lists several value for money JLCs one can get for the price of a Rolex sub. I didn't know that. Very cool.

http://forums.watchuseek.com/f2/jlc-vs-top-brands-718907-7.html

fade_white

Much lighter in weight ?

Ti is lighter and feels "warmer" when worn. But downside is if you put a scratch on it, it's going to be harder to buff out.

Sent from RIM PASSPORT using GAGT

Eh..I read on the contrary its easier to buff out the scratches. My personal experience is that when scratched its more obvious. That is different from saying it is more easily scratched.

so other than weight and appearance, any functional difference? Like is it harder or softer, does it resist corrosion more, etc?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.