The Watch Thread - Part 7

rachdanon

so other than weight and appearance, any functional difference? Like is it harder or softer, does it resist corrosion more, etc?

Common grades of Titanium used are 5 and 2. 5 is harder (probably on bezels) than the normal steel used but 2 (probably on cases) is softer and hardness determines how easy it scratches. Titanium shines in the area of corrsion resistance....almost corrosion proof. So 30 years down the road when you open the caseback expect far less corrosion if any.

Henabi

http://professionalwatches.com/upload/2011/01/sihh_2011_audemars_piguet_roya/AP-ROO-chrono-timepieces.jpg

Black colour dial also Jin swee!!

Thai_Rak_Thai

KNotice there is much more love for sports models in thread (and generally everywhere else?). Not much posts on dressier watches on a strap except for Orient Bambinos and occasional Rolex Celinis... Any comments on this JLC Master Calendar?

Personally feel that the dress watch is slowly meeting a sure demise or relegated to a few in a decade or so. Sports watches are feeling very comfortable in formal attire.

6129_album.jpg

I love JLC. But I like them very simple. Just hour and minutes

rodimus_prime

mai tu liao.

my sis stays in Dubai. :s12:

was chatting with my BIL over CNY. there's a dealer that sells 2nd piece for 50% off.

going to dubai next month...... will go check it out.

Do note that Dubai Duty Free sale is only year end. But yr BIL lobang sounds like a steal !

yattokame

This was pre-owned.

got pic of caseback? really wanna see the movement leh.

how come everyone who had an APROO never show a pic of the movement when I begged them for one.....so selfish one :(

if I were to ever buy an AP it would be really because of the gold rotor with coat of arms.......

yattokame

Do note that Dubai Duty Free sale is only year end. But yr BIL lobang sounds like a steal !

I only know dubai has massive month-long sale in Jan. like our GSS. Always ask my sis to help me buy stuff in Jan and they bring them over during CNY.

a562140

Last day back in hometown with wife. Was so bored in the kampung. Armed with my Hotlink sim card I read A LOT on watches in particular JLC and my appreciation and respect for the brand has skyrocketed. Learnt they are really great at ultra thin watches. Check the Jubilee out. The entire watch at its thickest is 4.05mm, no thicker than the strap. This takes tremendous amount of watchmaking skill apparently.

MUT-22.JPG

JLC actually is the horologist's dream. They offer the same horological goodness of a PP and Lange that you don't have to be extremely wealthy to enjoy. I think I actually love JLC now.

Check out this interesting thread on WUS. In the page someone lists several value for money JLCs one can get for the price of a Rolex sub. I didn't know that. Very cool.

JLC vs. Top Brands - Page 7

kinda like zenith if you asked me; very noteworthy and historic movements. both they suffer from poor marketing and a lack of focus/design discipline - as that thread demonstrates.

a562140

so other than weight and appearance, any functional difference? Like is it harder or softer, does it resist corrosion more, etc?

- the titanium oxide coating is usually what you notice as being easily scratched, not the titanium case itself. you can remove this coating and allow another to form to "get rid" of scratches.
- the scratch that exposes the titanium will be exposed to the elements and oxidise too, and over time look less visible. in this sense it is referred to as "self healing".
- is pretty much corrossion free
- not enough time has passed but it is expected that titanium will hold its case sharpness and back case inscriptions much better over time compared to steel.
- lower weight means more comfortable wear especially for watches with a tall profile (and chronos).
- surface treatments - coatings - on titanium are even harder than the titanium it covers, and can sometimes look like polished stainless steel.e.g. Duratect (Citizen) and Diashield (Seiko)
- Seiko Brightz is an alloy of titanium + steel which looks like steel, but is lighter and 30% harder

a562140

KNotice there is much more love for sports models in thread (and generally everywhere else?). Not much posts on dressier watches on a strap except for Orient Bambinos and occasional Rolex Celinis... Any comments on this JLC Master Calendar?

Personally feel that the dress watch is slowly meeting a sure demise or relegated to a few in a decade or so. Sports watches are feeling very comfortable in formal attire.

6129_album.jpg

its general fashion trends reflecting social norms. for watches its linked to more casual work attire (smart casual, casual Fridays etc) but you can see this in the automobile industry. the last one that stayed the course was Jaguar and they died pretty quickly before resurrecting with their current sporty range.

take the rolls royce the ultimate "dress car" for instance. their signature models are sporty types that does 0-100kmh in less than 6 seconds:
iu

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.