The Watch Thread - Part 7

soilwork

Nice safari. I tried this, diver and panda. They were too small to my liking, not enough wrist presence for me. On the other hand i have also tried the 44mm chronographic steel ceramic and they fit me very well. Pricing wise is around 10k more over the 42mm....still deciding...

Sent from GAGT Android App

Used to drool over safari panda and rosegold roo. AP was the Grail for me.

But after I learn more about watches and all, i don't know why but I just drift further and further from AP. The brand doesnt sing with me anymore.

BERSERK1980

I know what you mean. i like my watches without complications, just as you pointed out. I'd rather get a G Shock if i needed those functions. It's really more for the aesthetics only. I asked the AD if she had 1 without the chrono, she smile and showed me all the AP models. Felt so noob, since it was the first time i walked into an AP boutique.

I also tried another diver, black dial with no complications. Doesn't "speak" to me at all. The AP ROO are not very big, but the angular design and "tall'ness" gives it a lot of watch presence for a 5.5 - 6.5" wrist. If its too small for you, i presume you have muscular wrist. Maybe at 47mm watch will rock your boat more :)

With the kinda pricing, I'll wait till a significant phase of my life before sinking the dough. At least there is sentimental value behind the purchase.
Diver is more like of a dress watch to me. Looks great if you wear a suit. Already gotten a 47mm pam 372.

BERSERK1980

Used to drool over safari panda and rosegold roo. AP was the Grail for me.

But after I learn more about watches and all, i don't know why but I just drift further and further from AP. The brand doesnt sing with me anymore.
Found a pre-owned 44mm panda at 21k and pre-owned 44mm steel ceramic at 29k. Will take some time to consider. AP is still the holy grail to me and i can complete my trinity with my 372 and dssd.

soilwork

Found a pre-owned 44mm panda at 21k and pre-owned 44mm steel ceramic at 29k. Will take some time to consider. AP is still the holy grail to me and i can complete my trinity with my 372 and dssd.

Nice! If it sings to you, do it! I would pick the panda or safari if there is :)

yattokame

Went to do volunteer work again this morning. Island wide mission to give out new school shoes to children from needy families. Sponsored by two major shoe companies.

So happy to see the bright smiles on the faces of the children! On a few occassions i could feel my eyes well up with tears.

Enjoy 冬至 today!!!

kokjj87

Went to do volunteer work again this morning. Island wide mission to give out new school shoes to children from needy families. Sponsored by two major shoe companies.

So happy to see the bright smiles on the faces of the children! On a few occassions i could feel my eyes well up with tears.

Enjoy 冬至 today!!!

Where do you usually do your volunteer work at?
I don't mind doing it on my free time. =:p

BERSERK1980

Nice! If it sings to you, do it! I would pick the panda or safari if there is :)
Yeah panda comes in both 42 and 44mm. Safari is only 42mm. Leaning towards the steel ceramic though, its a sight to behold.

BERSERK1980

Enjoy 冬至 today!!!
Hard to find another kind hearted watch fanatic like bro yatto.

BERSERK1980

KAuYVyF.jpg

Christmas shopping with the Mrs.

soilwork

I go willing hearts help out once a month. Pack pack cook cook talk to people. Just walk in will do. Saw many many people wear nice watches go there donate raw ingredients and help deliver the packed food to the needy. Recent saw a guy with a Pepsi GMT donate a whole cart filled with fishes and another guy wearing a AP drove his nice mercs help send the packaged food. All very nice people

3 hours a month Makes me feel happy :)

yattokame

Hard to find another kind hearted watch fanatic like bro yatto.

eh no lah. just wanna give back to society. I grew up in poverty so I wanna give back and hope the children do not get caught in the vicious cycle. I'm glad I didn't. A lot of ppl here also give back to society just that I more hao-lian to post here mah hahahahaha. but do hope to encourage more people to help our fellow countrymen.

no man is a higher mortal than the next.
(one of us here ........ super generous to charity. Some times I also very very pai sey to ask him hahaha...... just ask him only, one full 20 footer truck of grocery all settled. That's our true dai gor dai!)

Where do you usually do your volunteer work at?
I don't mind doing it on my free time. =:p

I make donations to several organizations regularly and also adopt a few local underprivileged children, transferring some pocket money to their account monthly. I usually help with Caring singaporeans, Project goodwill aid, keeping hope alive, willing hearts etc just to name a few. Just go to their FB page, see their next project and if my schedule permits, I will go.

Agree with you about the purpose of this forum. It serves as a good place to help me escape from life's many frustrations, and also helps me to keep going on in life by dreaming a little.

ya man. thats the whole idea. happy to see young people achieve their first luxury watch - reminds me of the time when I got my first. and what a journey it has been.
(I must talk to you more about AKB48 hahaha.....)

After reading your sharings on the thread I begin to get a better picture of the mind of an entrepreneur,business savvy person and so on..such as yourself. Apparently you have more than one stream of income making it sufficient to for you to retire at 40, assuming enough to continue your high life (clothes, watches, travelling, cars and so on...). And your ability to hook up and connect with people is apparent which is what happened with your AD etc. :)

I like to meet people and listen to their stories. I also like to share mine with young people and hope it serves as an encouragement.

No lah. If I retire I will cut down on luxuries and focus on the intangibles in life. My day will probably consist of:
send kids to school
have breakfast with wife and/or parents
go help out at some charity org
Lunch with wife and/or parents and/or kids after school
help with their homework/enrichment programs/go gym
sleep early

think I'm burnt out. but I yearn for a simple life now.

小时候,快乐很简单
长大了,简单就快乐

yattokame

I go willing hearts help out once a month. Pack pack cook cook talk to people. Just walk in will do. Saw many many people wear nice watches go there donate raw ingredients and help deliver the packed food to the needy. Recent saw a guy with a Pepsi GMT donate a whole cart filled with fishes and another guy wearing a AP drove his nice mercs help send the packaged food. All very nice people

okok next time u see me at willing hearts don't expose me ok hahaha
just come and hold my hand can liao
muackz

LOL

exxondus

So nice to hear the fortunate giving some back to the less fortunate :D

soilwork

So nice to hear the fortunate giving some back to the less fortunate :D

I think the best part is seeing the better to do people prefectly ok to go dirty, cleaning and helping up etc.

Giving the packed food to the places is not something that all will accept. First time I followed I was prepared but still shocked and sad. There are tons of sad stories still around. Every time I go there and see the poly kids helping, I feel happy as we are incorporating csr into something that is normal in their life and the kids are willing. 人间有爱❤️

yattokame

I think the best part is seeing the better to do people prefectly ok to go dirty, cleaning and helping up etc.

Giving the packed food to the places is not something that all will accept. First time I followed I was prepared but still shocked and sad. There are tons of sad stories still around. Every time I go there and see the poly kids helping, I feel happy as we are incorporating csr into something that is normal in their life and the kids are willing. 人间有爱❤️

yeah a lot of people are unaware of the situation the needy families are in. They are "silent" because they do not know where to seek help from. Or they thought that is the norm and stick to it, repeating the vicious cycle in the next generation and subsequent ones.

just help where we can, and even some may leech on us but well...... maybe we owe them in our previous lives lor. Or treat it as getting good karma for yourself and your family.

If you give, don't doubt.
If you doubt, don't give.

人间有爱 = 两:s12::s12::s12: :s13:

Chronology

Glad to see so many people giving back during this festive period! :)

Enjoy your Sunday guys.. With parents for pre Christmas visiting! Haha.

D92133DF-7FB8-48B2-B73E-24002311903C.jpg

kokjj87

I make donations to several organizations regularly and also adopt a few local underprivileged children, transferring some pocket money to their account monthly. I usually help with Caring singaporeans, Project goodwill aid, keeping hope alive, willing hearts etc just to name a few. Just go to their FB page, see their next project and if my schedule permits, I will go.

Cool!!
Will keep a look out for such events. ;)

BERSERK1980

Yup. Shark skin. Wanted to change immediately. So cannot wait for custom made...now i'm browsing online to check for better deal..hahaha
SG ROC sometimes also have straps for sale under the watch accessories sub forum.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.