new strap

SvqUMz8.jpg

Spartanz.

a qn guys...

I went to a watch repair guy to enquire about my issues..

apparently my omega po 8500 has a lot of dust issues..

despite a number attempts to remove dust , new particles still appear after a while...n guess wad, after another round of dust removal servicing, new particles appear after I inspected it when I got home..

the watch repair guy told me for some watch models especially those with date window, dust can easily enter the watch through such "holes"..

he pointed out that he even see particles in the date wheel. with all the gears n moving parts, dust n dirt are sure to accumulate n some will enter the watch dial through openings like date windows etc...especially for watches that have big openings.

so even if he clean up the watch which is exactly wad he did, he told me I am bound to see more dirt eventually which is exactly wad I saw merely a few hrs after the job..

after this trip,i realized all these while I m wasting my time n money to get rid of such things :s13::s13:...let it accumulate n give the watch a vintage look :s13:

zzyzx

a qn guys...

I went to a watch repair guy to enquire about my issues..

apparently my omega po 8500 has a lot of dust issues..

despite a number attempts to remove dust , new particles still appear after a while...n guess wad, after another round of dust removal servicing, new particles appear after I inspected it when I got home..

the watch repair guy told me for some watch models especially those with date window, dust can easily enter the watch through such "holes"..

he pointed out that he even see particles in the date wheel. with all the gears n moving parts, dust n dirt are sure to accumulate n some will enter the watch dial through openings like date windows etc...especially for watches that have big openings.

so even if he clean up the watch which is exactly wad he did, he told me I am bound to see more dirt eventually which is exactly wad I saw merely a few hrs after the job..

after this trip,i realized all these while I m wasting my time n money to get rid of such things :s13::s13:...let it accumulate n give the watch a vintage look :s13:

if a watch is somewhat waterproof sealed, how can dust enter? my feeling is the repair guy doesnt work under a air suction hood or a clean environment which introduces new dust while remove the old dust. :s22:

zzyzx

Define cheap.. :s22:

cheap as in value for money even preowned, probably a preown of the PAM000. :s13:

dun think will own a PAM for long time anyway. therefore to minimise lost when i flip in future.

Spartanz.

if a watch is somewhat waterproof sealed, how can dust enter? my feeling is the repair guy doesnt work under a air suction hood or a clean environment which introduces new dust while remove the old dust. :s22:

according to him...dust is from the moving gears in the watch, friction between moving parts, wear n tear..

not from the outside...

I kinda trust this guy n cpy, he works in a vaccum hood and office looks very clean , can see him performing the repair at a distance,

besides, he has also did dust removing servicing on my other watches without issues.

he is able to do a much better job then those authorized service centres that I have been at like Swatch, RSC , Richemont...

he could have easily tell me to come back every single time I see dirt n earn but at least he is honest about the main underlying issue??:s11:

gaoxing84

cheap as in value for money even preowned, probably a preown of the PAM000. :s13:

dun think will own a PAM for long time anyway. therefore to minimise lost when i flip in future.

haha preowned also need 5k odd. haha not cheap to me :( but can flip if you want.
however the case, there's quite a number of 000 in sgroc, still pending sale. so not say easy.
unless you're ready to make a slight loss.

Jeremy1

Not really, the repair will be taken place in a very clean dust free environment. After the watch was serviced, it's will be run in for a few days to ensure it's OK before returning back to customer.

There is a set of procedure to follow according to what I know in servicing watch.

zzyzx

according to him...dust is from the moving gears in the watch, friction between moving parts, wear n tear..

not from the outside...

I kinda trust this guy n cpy, he works in a vaccum hood and office looks very clean , can see him performing the repair at a distance,

besides, he has also did dust removing servicing on my other watches without issues.

he is able to do a much better job then those authorized service centres that I have been at like Swatch, RSC , Richemont...

he could have easily tell me to come back every single time I see dirt n earn but at least he is honest about the main underlying issue??:s11:

in this case, he MAY have a point. particles from wearing gears. however i am quite worried with the wear rate. the lubrication oil is there to help (reduce) wear and tear and ensure the gears rotate smoothly. although lubrication cannot totally eliminate wear on the gears, the wearing rate should not be such as you describe. if at this fast rate you see the particles, something is seriously wrong with the movement already.

Spartanz.

in this case, he MAY have a point. particles from wearing gears. however i am quite worried with the wear rate. the lubrication oil is there to help (reduce) wear and tear and ensure the gears rotate smoothly. although lubrication cannot totally eliminate wear on the gears, the wearing rate should not be such as you describe. if at this fast rate you see the particles, something is seriously wrong with the movement already.

u got a pt there, but I think its not a good idea to send it back to Swatch to have it checked unless after a while I see more n more dirt appearing :s13:..

lesson learnt= buy a no date watch for a clean watch...

zzyzx

Not really, the repair will be taken place in a very clean dust free environment. After the watch was serviced, it's will be run in for a few days to ensure it's OK before returning back to customer.

There is a set of procedure to follow according to what I know in servicing watch.

agree, actually also hard to be 100%.. even in the most appropriate working environment. just that care must be taken to minimise dust lor... :)

Thai_Rak_Thai

any lobang for pam000 or other base models?

feel like buying a cheap PAM to wear after seeing all the craze..

Just bought a zero recently. not much discount. also, harder to get at ADs. Usually boutique will have stock...or join a queue

Working towards getting a tudor blue bay or a PAM.

As you know I have both, i think you would like the Tudor more :)

But if you are into straps...PAM is for you, i just use default strap (comes with rubber strap too and tools) - Tudor no tools but nice nato strap

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.