The Watch Thread - Part 7

Spartanz.

Not really, the repair will be taken place in a very clean dust free environment. After the watch was serviced, it's will be run in for a few days to ensure it's OK before returning back to customer.

There is a set of procedure to follow according to what I know in servicing watch.

according to this watch repair guy , authorized service centre don't necessarily have the cleanest work env...

they don't to their work in a vacuum hood , they have hugh amt of work to do, lack of qualified manpower ....watch technican's pay ain't very high too ...

if u have been to SWATCH n RSC u can tell how clean it is :s22:...my experiences with them is bad :s13:..or maybe I am too anal about these issues? :s13:

zzyzx

u got a pt there, but I think its not a good idea to send it back to Swatch to have it checked unless after a while I see more n more dirt appearing :s13:..

lesson learnt= buy a no date watch for a clean watch...

actually wrong thinking leh. it's like buying a 1-speed car because lesser gear to wear? sala leh...

it's how the watch is designed and maintained. the type of lubricant used and the amount it is to be applied. many other factors too.

that's why every car manufacture recommend a oil change interval for your gear box and specified the type of transmission oil to use.

sorry if OT. :s13:

edit: if your watch is really wearing at rate faster than normal, i suggest send back to manufacturer asap. the particle could get into other gears in the drive train and the bearings too. i dun want to talk abt gear meshing, and bearings defect faults here.. :)

Spartanz.

actually wrong thinking leh. it's like buying a 1-speed car because lesser gear to wear? sala leh...

it's how the watch is designed and maintained. the type of lubricant used and the amount it is to be applied. many other factors too.

that's why every car manufacture recommend a oil change interval for your gear box and specified the type of transmission oil to use.

sorry if OT. :s13:

simple car easy to maintain n service

complicated car hard to maintain n service..

motorbike is the best :D

Spartanz.

pic I came across

swatch service centre Canada

photo.JPG

if u have been to Singapore's one, its no better..:s22:

pai seh if I seem to appear to be pissed and biased towards SWATCH, but after 4 trips there for a single watch, no more going there :s13:

Optrex

Non grey Pam 392 at 9.6k. How's the pricing?

Buy or not buy? Not too sure about the discount level for the pams

Any senior here can kindly advise?

Pagani_Z0nda

Non grey Pam 392 at 9.6k. How's the pricing?

Buy or not buy? Not too sure about the discount level for the pams

Any senior here can kindly advise?

My guess is , similar to sports model of Rolex , discount would be minimal to zero , such is the demand for PAMs.

If got 关系 , maybe 5-10% ?

alwaysnforever

Pagani_Z0nda

Just bought a zero recently. not much discount. also, harder to get at ADs. Usually boutique will have stock...or join a queue

As you know I have both, i think you would like the Tudor more :)

But if you are into straps...PAM is for you, i just use default strap (comes with rubber strap too and tools) - Tudor no tools but nice nato strap

Have not try but more keen on the blue bay. I think straps will be fine on it as well.

All in a Day

I second chickenbackside and a562140. Several decades back Rolex, Omega, Heuer, and some others were competing for tool watch dominance, so at its heart Rolex isn't a luxe thing. IMO savvy and successful marketing, along with good grasp of fundamentals (e.g. not diluting their mainstays by issuing a million and one aesthetically different editions) constitute the biggest difference makers between R and the rest.

The part of sticking to what works certainly holds true for the Rolex sports models. At least until recent years, tweaks to the sports models were typically subtle to the layman. The irony is the crazy cult frenzy generated for models that had more transient changes, especially defects like spider and tropical dials.

And oh.. how many moon watch editions does Omega have?:s13:

a562140

Optrex

My guess is , similar to sports model of Rolex , discount would be minimal to zero , such is the demand for PAMs.

If got 关系 , maybe 5-10% ?

Actually 9.6k is the discounted price. List price is 10.8k

Dont know anyone here able to get more discount or not. Can PM me if got lobang. Thanks.

rachdanon

I'll be heading to Zurich today.

Any watches that are particularly cheap in Switzerland? Would it be wise to buy a submariner (which model?) back to sg in hopes of reselling?

edit: thinking of getting a zenith. Found prices at this site called chrono24.sg. Are they reliable? E.g.: Zenith Primero Chronomaster 1969 Search for a wristwatch

I understand the ADs and Boutiques in Switzerland are the best stocked in the world because many tourists feel the best experience of buying a Swiss Made watch is from Switzerland. So tourist dollar is the thing there. Well, being well (interpreted as over) stocked only means discounts could be good there. Don't take my word for it though.

just learnt something new about Rolex...

10 Things To Know About How Rolex Makes Watches | aBlogtoWatch

not only do they make their own movements but they also...
- has their In-House Foundry to make all that gold
- An Army Of Gemologists Work At Rolex
- Rolex Makes Virtually Everything In-House

Not just that, the thing I like about Rolex is that they are the few who refuse to be acquired, remaining private/family owned. I understand the founder actually wrote some legal thing/will that prevents Rolex from ever being bought/acquired... don't know how true. Breitling is another tough nut to crack and of course Patek.

a562140

Not just that, the thing I like about Rolex is that they are the few who refuse to be acquired, remaining private/family owned. I understand the founder actually wrote some legal thing/will that prevents Rolex from ever being bought/acquired... don't know how true. Breitling is another tough nut to crack and of course Patek.

i like rolex because they make good watches period. the best sub 10k watch in terms of materials, proven design and reliability and accuracy. simply lived up to their vision of being the best automatic waterproof watch for daily use, sports or work or climbing everest....its reliable and accurate in every imaginable situation.

to have such strong focus on its business vision goes back to having full control of its destiny. and i too admire them for that.

but with its move into fashion and jewelry, and having tudor fill in the price vacated by entry level rolexes, things are changing and there are uncertainties in that segment.

But this is absolutely gorgeous, gutted but understand why this is only in white gold
RPR_gmt-master-ii_0008.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.