The Watch Thread - Part 7

coern

I read that Italy has one of the highest VAT refunds in EU, but since I'm only in Paris, the cost of train tickets etc might not be worth the trip after all.

Guess I'll just bring a card with the best cash rebate to Paris!

globalblue in paris is a flat 12% off the purchase price. in italy, the AD i went to used www.taxrefund.it which offered higher VAT rebate depending on the tier of the purchase. more than 8,000 euros, you get 15% back!

Do some research and email some ADs to check and you could save an additional 1% for a michelin star lunch! ;p

P.S. group buy also have discount... my friend and I bought one rolex each, knocked the price down from 11,500 euros to 11,000 euros. :D

yrh0413

Hello everyone, my very first post in HWZ here. I went through a couple of old chaps of the watch thread and finally gave up trying to read everything. haha.

I'm unable to post any links due insufficient post count.. I've been eyeing the Nomos tangente datum ganreserve for a while now but I have some concerns.

The diameter of the watch is only 35mm but im more used to wearing 42mm and above. Really interested in getting the watch online but I wanna know how it wears on my wrist and sucks that there's no Nomos AD in SG.

I know it's kinda weird but if any bro out there with the tangente can let me try on your watch, pls pls pls pm me. I'll make sure that it's at your convenience. Thanks!!

Before I got my Grand Seiko I was eyeing on the Tangente/Orion/Ahoi. Purposely made a trip North to BKK to view the Nomos(es) in metal.

Honestly... the actual watches are nothing close to the product photos displayed on Nomos website. The white clean dials on Nomos site are actually silver-grey in metal. It feels very light and it does not feel expensive. Have to say their movement on the casebook looks pretty sexy.

I went there with my fiancee, and the first question she asked when we were at the Nomos counter... "wow, these watches $30 each?" :s13: :s13:

cormet

Which is the shop to get Nomos from in BKK? Emailed the AD and price isn't attractive!

gaoxing84

Pang Kang lo!
58C87972-B37E-4D71-88E0-A024B55DFBC7_zpsluxumesq.jpg

Teewhye

Get something at 38mm or 40mm, mine's about 6.25" and the worldtimer is already my limit..
the new metro looks good at 38mm

yeah the metro looks good but out of stock online sia. 3-6 months wait. haha. Maybe the tangomat is more suitable at 38mm ba

Just happened to see this. NOMOS. Lume, new movement and etc. Only left afew at usd 2760. Also, it's 38.5mm

Dont really like the look of the club. thanks though!!

If u don't like it don't get it.

It certainly wears larger, u don't want to lugs to protrude out.
A 40mm wears as big as a 44mm. I owns a nomos myself and it's my daily office beater. On watchuseek u find Ang mo downgrading from a 38mm to a 35mm cause he claim it wears better on his wrist
Don't want a dress watch to be 43mm or 47mm.

But if u feel u must have 42mm go for other brand.
2 or 4mm isn't a high deal to me but can be a deal breaker for u

I like it that's why i want it ma. haha. It's not that I must get a 42mm, just trying to see if anyone has a tangente that I can try on so I know whether it suits me or not.

Or can top up more $$ to get a simple 99.0. They only make 120 a yr. nomos maybe at 20k watch a year

Dont have more $$ to top up.. appreciate your suggestion :s13:

Before I got my Grand Seiko I was eyeing on the Tangente/Orion/Ahoi. Purposely made a trip North to BKK to view the Nomos(es) in metal.

Honestly... the actual watches are nothing close to the product photos displayed on Nomos website. The white clean dials on Nomos site are actually silver-grey in metal. It feels very light and it does not feel expensive. Have to say their movement on the casebook looks pretty sexy.

I went there with my fiancee, and the first question she asked when we were at the Nomos counter... "wow, these watches $30 each?" :s13: :s13:

Hmmm maybe they really photoshop the pictures till swee swee.. lol. I dont have the looks to pull off the watch so it might really look like $30. To my friends my zenith looks like it's $300-$400 only :eek::eek::eek:

Try this stowa lor ... 41mm

Checked out the stowa before already, dont like it as much. thanksss!

crashed

globalblue in paris is a flat 12% off the purchase price. in italy, the AD i went to used www.taxrefund.it which offered higher VAT rebate depending on the tier of the purchase. more than 8,000 euros, you get 15% back!

Do some research and email some ADs to check and you could save an additional 1% for a michelin star lunch! ;p

P.S. group buy also have discount... my friend and I bought one rolex each, knocked the price down from 11,500 euros to 11,000 euros. :D

thanks for the tips. I've compiled a list of ADs, and shall mail them maybe 2 weeks before my trip ;) Cheers!

coern

thanks for the tips. I've compiled a list of ADs, and shall mail them maybe 2 weeks before my trip ;) Cheers!

This is Singaporean mentality, expect people to reply email immediately. :p

Better email now! My hit rate is about 50% and not all ADs answer emails promptly. :D

crashed

This is Singaporean mentality, expect people to reply email immediately. :p

Better email now! My hit rate is about 50% and not all ADs answer emails promptly. :D

I work for a French company so I'm well aware of their "efficiency".. :s13:

patryn33

Light == cheap?
pp AP VC JLC dress watches all light
Without the logo one may go wow $30 each? Lol

patryn33

yeah the metro looks good but out of stock online sia. 3-6 months wait. haha. Maybe the tangomat is more suitable at 38mm ba

Dont have more $$ to top up.. appreciate your suggestion :s13:

the metro is ~usd$3400
Tangente Datum Gangreserve ~us$3.5K
DUW 4401 looks good, I just wish wish nomos adds a swan neckmuch like their buddies at GO and ALS.
NG-071-alt1.jpg

both watches date and pwr res, U looking for watch with such feature?

the Dornblueth & Sohn Calibre 99.0 is ~us$3.5K not reallya whiole lot top top up.
DB-001-alt1.jpg

Shearer9

Wow long no see bros and now it's part 7 alr!
Anw I need some advice here. Anyone has recommendations for a set of couple watch? Thinking of getting for my parents, budget maybe up to 300 each? No need for automatic though that is an option, cos they might not like to wind if they dun wear often.
Any thoughts? :)
TIA! :)

Have you considered Sovil Titus or Citizen?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.