The Watch Thread - Part 8

xuan87

haha only bezel and bracelet. wanted to change dial and hands but i decided to remain the 007 look.
total around make till is close to 400 i think. lol.
lol add abit more can buy sumo. but i guess i prefer poorman kermit lol
ED7F6327-5224-4273-BA5F-E61DE1B2670F_zpscnxyr0fe.jpg

This is really really nice, I like the contrast between the green bezel and black dial. Can call this the James Bond Hulk (007 + Hulk gettit? :D). I think I will attempt the same mod in the future if I can find a cheap 007 though I'll likely pair it with a embossed leather strap.

In LA, it's kinda difficult to get around without one. I definitely don't want them to be on public buses there.

And yes, cars are cheap. We're just used to thinking that cars are luxury items in Singapore. But in a sprawling place with unsafe and dirty public transportation, it's a necessity.

While I was studying in the US many years ago, I bought a huge old Chrysler LFS (size of Mercedes S class) with a friend for US$900 off Craiglist. Even comes with seat warmers! Worked well for 3 months until my friend tried to drive it across the US and the engine caught fire. We just scraped the car on the spot haha.

I also came across a listing for a '87 RX-7 online for US$2300 and almost bought it but didn't in the end as i was afraid of high maintenance for the rotary engine.

Generally, for US$5000, you can get a decent 2nd hand car (like Mazda 6) from a dealership and cheaper if you choose to buy online.

nicjer

You are buying cars for them :eek: You are spoiling them.

Cars overseas are alot cheaper. Lol they need to travel when studying overseas. Lol

I once had this interesting "discussion" with an acquaintance who complained his parents did not want to buy him a car. While I sided with him initially, after a while I just was like, "to you its a want not a need"

I think all parents have these three criteria when buying things for their children, and sometimes I can think a bit like my parents. They are:

1) You can afford it

2) The parents can justify it

3) What was the purpose of the purchase

In LA, it's kinda difficult to get around without one. I definitely don't want them to be on public buses there.

And yes, cars are cheap. We're just used to thinking that cars are luxury items in Singapore. But in a sprawling place with unsafe and dirty public transportation, it's a necessity.

Quite true, but its all very swings and roundabouts. The result of cars being so cheap there, is that parts of LA just happen to resemble the largest carpark/ assembly of non-moving traffic!

gaoxing84

I once had this interesting "discussion" with an acquaintance who complained his parents did not want to buy him a car. While I sided with him initially, after a while I just was like, "to you its a want not a need"

I think all parents have these three criteria when buying things for their children, and sometimes I can think a bit like my parents. They are:

1) You can afford it

2) The parents can justify it

3) What was the purpose of the purchase

Quite true, but its all very swings and roundabouts. The result of cars being so cheap there, is that parts of LA just happen to resemble the largest carpark/ assembly of non-moving traffic!

Those kids who complain that their parents don't buy them a car should be slapped. haha unless their parents are very very rich.

my family don't even own a car hahaha. take train like yatto boss. can see girls and OL. hahahaha

but there are times i wished my parents had a car so i can drive out when i really need it.
but my dad only has a bike. he ask me take bike license then can use, my mum kan him hahahahaha :s13:

This is really really nice, I like the contrast between the green bezel and black dial. Can call this the James Bond Hulk (007 + Hulk gettit? :D). I think I will attempt the same mod in the future if I can find a cheap 007 though I'll likely pair it with a embossed leather strap.

While I was studying in the US many years ago, I bought a huge old Chrysler LFS (size of Mercedes S class) with a friend for US$900 off Craiglist. Even comes with seat warmers! Worked well for 3 months until my friend tried to drive it across the US and the engine caught fire. We just scraped the car on the spot haha.

I also came across a listing for a '87 RX-7 online for US$2300 and almost bought it but didn't in the end as i was afraid of high maintenance for the rotary engine.

Generally, for US$5000, you can get a decent 2nd hand car (like Mazda 6) from a dealership and cheaper if you choose to buy online.

Sankew, actually i got the idea from a member here. forget his nick. he post that one time. i gian already. didn't materialize till months later when i go k2 bio the watch. lolol didn't know its only $190 for the K series.
so far running good time. great for wearing to club and people mistaking it as rollie hahahaha
It's the poorman kermit. i wanted to change the dial to a more rolex mod but its kinda dumb losing the entire seiko feel to it so i didn't.
plus it was damn expensive. haha looking for skx171 to grab the dial but also too chor. dial itself will cost 68 usd. god! :s22:

my friend bought a 5 series in 2012 from year 2006 for 15-20k only. seriously, i dare to put it as only.
but he sold it. very chor for petrol.
now he's driving a infiniti sports model 2.4 litre brand new, he paid 50k odd. year 2015.

gaoxing84

bro, if u can mod the dial such that no day/date display (green dial lagi better), I take over the 007 from u, then u can cure your itch of the MM300. AiMai! :D

Question to mod experts : can this dial from yobokies fit a 007?

IMG_1235.jpg

Update : damn ... yobokies replied no more sandwich dial available.

ownself mod la. haha the watch i paid 190 with rubber strap
change to super oyster bracelet 68usd
change bezel 24usd.

ok ma. haha

gaoxing84

been there done that.

took public bus in orlando, my gf was talk alittle loud, kena kan by some italian/mexico guy. he shouted from the front to ask us to STFU. hahaha

lucky i was there. if not gg. haha heng i also not say very small size. when need, maybe still can hold up a fight. hahahaha :s13::s22:

other than NYC, the rest of the people in US owns a car.
can drive across states for holiday.
haha

like what johnny drama in entourage says "in LA, nobody walks"

nicjer

Those kids who complain that their parents don't buy them a car should be slapped. haha unless their parents are very very rich.

my family don't even own a car hahaha. take train like yatto boss. can see girls and OL. hahahaha

but there are times i wished my parents had a car so i can drive out when i really need it.
but my dad only has a bike. he ask me take bike license then can use, my mum kan him hahahahaha :s13:

my friend bought a 5 series in 2012 from year 2006 for 15-20k only. seriously, i dare to put it as only.
but he sold it. very chor for petrol.
now he's driving a infiniti sports model 2.4 litre brand new, he paid 50k odd. year 2015.

Actually its also the same for me. Even if the parents wanted to buy a car, and asked me if i wanted one, knowing my interest in them, I would also propose sharing. Not cheap, no point adding to traffic jam, and car money = Watch Money!!

100k = hell lot of nice watches for so many purposes

Depends on which side of the carriage you stand, and what time you travel. Everytime I go out on the train/bus, all the girls run away :s13::s13: :( Just as well for me to plug in to music and tune out. Money saved on car = buying good portable audio.

Maybe he sold it also due to "impending doom"? The 5 series is a very sweet used car, but countless BMW owner forums and even club magazines always mention things going wrong as the car ages.

the Infiniti seems like a better choice in that aspect. Although I think their "execution of luxury" is not as up there as Lexus or the Germans, I prefer their price of entry, and the promised reliability. Plus the car's actually close enough, having sat in some before.

@coern If you did buy the Q50, how is it shaping up to be so far?

gaoxing84

Actually its also the same for me. Even if the parents wanted to buy a car, and asked me if i wanted one, knowing my interest in them, I would also propose sharing. Not cheap, no point adding to traffic jam, and car money = Watch Money!!

100k = hell lot of nice watches for so many purposes

Depends on which side of the carriage you stand, and what time you travel. Everytime I go out on the train/bus, all the girls run away :s13::s13: :( Just as well for me to plug in to music and tune out. Money saved on car = buying good portable audio.

Maybe he sold it also due to "impending doom"? The 5 series is a very sweet used car, but countless BMW owner forums and even club magazines always mention things going wrong as the car ages.

the Infiniti seems like a better choice in that aspect. Although I think their "execution of luxury" is not as up there as Lexus or the Germans, I prefer their price of entry, and the promised reliability. Plus the car's actually close enough, having sat in some before.

@coern If you did buy the Q50, how is it shaping up to be so far?

Don't know leh. Maybe he think too chor to maintain. He wanted to buy evo but manual he sian. Haha. He say he lazy to drive manual. Lol
I sat in his infiniti before. Quite comfortable and quite powerful. Lol

Saw Honda fit/jazz in US, 2.4L or somewhere around. Damn dual the engine. I see already omg Siao Bo.

Haha. Only at times when I need head out at night, wish I had a car. Taxi can be quite chor but now got uber, cheaper also.

Cars in sg is really cannot buy unless absolutely need it or can afford without worries.

If stay in other countries, really can buy cars and tune. Sure damn fun.

Seannie

Haha. Only at times when I need head out at night, wish I had a car. Taxi can be quite chor but now got uber, cheaper also.

If stay in other countries, really can buy cars and tune. Sure damn fun.

:eek: young & havoc

Seannie

lucky i was there. if not gg. haha heng i also not say very small size. when need, maybe still can hold up a fight. hahahaha :s13::s22:

bigger size doesnt mean can hold a fight well. bruce lee small size but still can beat angmohs into a pulp. for me, run fast better. Outrun enemy no need to fight is best. Peace. :D

Seannie

havoc meh? i cannot afford rolex like you. satki shu shu :s13:

yes.. shu shu had a tough life.. have to think very long very gao before any action. :D my boss just told us economy not good leh, say graduate go law firm only get $2.8k pay. :eek:

gaoxing84

yes.. shu shu had a tough life.. have to think very long very gao before any action. :D my boss just told us economy not good leh, say graduate go law firm only get $2.8k pay. :eek:

lol you think my life easy ah hahahahaha

you just buy la. don't think. by the time you think, GS and Rolex up price. then i lol

Seannie

Its true. Lastime when im in jb, i was robbery target for 4 times. Twice i kena ambushed by a group i was surrounded couldnt run so i gave in to their requests just hand my money to them, once with knife put to my neck the other time no weapon. The other 2 times i was trailed by motorbikes, but managed to outrun them before they strike. 😅 dont fight when u can run.

Seannie

lol you think my life easy ah hahahahaha

you just buy la. don't think. by the time you think, GS and Rolex up price. then i lol

Singapores economy is expected to grow between 2.0 and 2.5 percent this year, after growth of 2.9 percent in 2014, 3.9 percent in 2013, 2.5 percent in 2012, and 6.0 percent in 2011, citing figures from the Ministry of Trade and Industry. Another 4 years and full blown crisis. Shushu scared lo.

gaoxing84

Singapores economy is expected to grow between 2.0 and 2.5 percent this year, after growth of 2.9 percent in 2014, 3.9 percent in 2013, 2.5 percent in 2012, and 6.0 percent in 2011, citing figures from the Ministry of Trade and Industry. Another 4 years and full blown crisis. Shushu scared lo.

ok lor. then don't say or think of buying ok? :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.