The Watch Thread - Part 8

Seannie

Yah, and continue paying top dollar for overpriced "assets".

Tell me: how is a HDB 99 yr LEASEHOLD consider "ownership" went it's effectively a 99 yr rental?

Don't believe? Try to obtain a loan from a bank using yr HDB Leasehold as collateral. :s13:

You only own something when you full rights of disposal with no encumbrances.

Uncle teen i never said dont believe u wat.. y u so worked up.. relax la YOLO... be it 69.9% or 59.9%. Anyway no intention to own for 99 years. "HOLD" good enough for me le. 😆

TeenTitan01

Yea, I know what you mean. All my old watches, like Titus, Fossil, Swatch etc see no wrist time now. Even the watches I bought this year, like the Bambino, is in danger of being forgotten with my recent obsession with Seiko divers :s22:

That's why I said a number of posts earlier, must curb the BBB (Buy-Buy-Buy) urge. Whatever catches your fancy, sit on it for a couple months at least. Just "fap" to watch porn (so to speak :s13:). Unless limited edition or super popular models, they're not going away and even then, you can buy pre-owned.

Just buy one good, classic, respectable, will-never-go-out-of-style watch PER CATEGORY eg dress, diver, pilot, chrono, etc

Or you can sub-specialised in Divers from a watchmaker from a specific era.

Anyway, that's just my take. YMMV.

Cheers! :D

xuan87

That's why I said a number of posts earlier, must curb the BBB (Buy-Buy-Buy) urge. Whatever catches your fancy, sit on it for a couple months at least. Just "fap" to watch porn (so to speak :s13:). Unless limited edition or super popular models, they're not going away and even then, you can buy pre-owned.

Just buy one good, classic, respectable, will-never-go-out-of-style watch PER CATEGORY eg dress, diver, pilot, chrono, etc

Anyway, that's just my take. YMMV.

Cheers! :D

Hahah, that's why I put forth the 5 for $2k exercise mah!

To be honest, I understand your logic, I went through the same stage for my audio hobby too. But sometimes.... the heart is stronger than the brain (sound like some love drama LOL)

Sorry gents for being OT again.

Satellite GPS ERP is a good idea (except for privacy advocates), but as usual for the gahmen, it will be priced to fleece. (A dead old man once said, "what's wrong with collecting more money?")

Why a car may be necessary? As you go through your life-cycle, you need a car to:

1. Pak tor (access to secluded spots for some serious couple time mah, no?) ;)
2. Send your newborn/young kids to see doctor when they're sick. :(
3. Haul that load from weekend shopping trips. :D
4. Send your aged parents for their medical checkups, etc. :(

As for wornandwound's exercise, I believe my signature has already answered it in full. :D

Code:
Want an in-house, value-for-money, best bang-for-buck watch?
Just choose Seiko/OrientStar/Citizen.

Walao bro, give give specific example leh!

Strange that you said this, one of the editors in WNW recommended 5 different Seiko :s13:

LondoBell

Sad but true...

I was just looking through CW's trident range the other day! I like both the C60 Trident 600 round and stripes ranges. There are ALOT of color options but some of them are just really weird! Especially the blue bezels, they just seem.... too vivid to me. But what jumped out to me is that the Trident seconds hand, very unique.

Ultimately, even with the occasional 15% off for CW, I feel that the Steinhart OT500 represents better value with its titanium construction, and better movement. Overall, the impression given to me is that the Steinhart is more "sporty", while the CW is more "dressy", if that makes any sense.

yea.. thts y i bought the racing green bezel. looking forward to your wrist shot:D

TeenTitan01

So darn EDMW here with people boasting just on buying a GS... Just buy...what's the big deal.? Do keep to the spirit of this thread... $100 watch also respected...

Talk Ot also ok, TT spoke about cost of living... Ok .. Decent things.... What service Gao Gao and stuff...buy at my level sure service Gao Gao... Even md also come to service you.... But I have never expected anything different from any SA. all are my friends and I look for them Lim kopi in the shop, talk cock...nice right

Group CEO and Executive Chairman of the Board, dai dai kor iceflight has already spoken!

:s12:

Seannie

Buying a $200 watch now will give me more satisfaction than a $10k GS, so bro, no need wait for me,

Small bro, u sure u truly satisfied with a $200 watch a not? Save some more save longer hoot a good one better right? Y save so much for a new house?

Seannie

Group CEO and Executive Chairman of the Board, dai dia kor iceflight has already spoken!

Hahaha not every ceo and executive chairman is as humble. I seen lots with huge airs. Humble ones are rare whom i respect. Usually those humble ones without airs are also the most friendly and people-oriented. Sad but true.

TeenTitan01

Hahah, that's why I put forth the 5 for $2k exercise mah!

To be honest, I understand your logic, I went through the same stage for my audio hobby too. But sometimes.... the heart is stronger than the brain (sound like some love drama LOL)

Walao bro, give give specific example leh!

Strange that you said this, one of the editors in WNW recommended 5 different Seiko :s13:

That gentleman is a wise man. :D

Seannie

Hahah,

So how young bro? Trust me. Dont keep rotate 500 watches already. Just get ready monies we go buy seiko GS. SBGE001 really well made.

TeenTitan01

Correction, good folks!

The suggestion to curb the BBB urge DEFINITELY DOES NOT APPLY TO OUR GROUP CEO & EXECUTIVE CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD, dai dai kor iceflight, ok?! :D

gaoxing84

Uncle teen im serious leh, dont laugh. Y u entertain those with fake rollies. Entertain me bettee. If i strike toto i chia u buffet. Or u prefer gimme yur posb a/c no. i trsf.

really is troll. lol.

gaoxing84

Yalor. An exception. Becos its really well made. Even better than the actual one. Lost control over that one. Im bit embarassed now. Forgive my impulse pls. When i saw the replica in the shop i just couldnt help it. My gf say look at others but my eyes only have replica cartier. End up she look v long also agreed with me. In fact the cio boss told us got couples even went to extent of going to and fro the real cartier shop and their shop many rounds to examine and still they cant tell the difference. Now the point is, even GALS cant tell the difference. Cio boh?

talk cock. haha fake fake fake fake. hahahahaha
still can bash fake when you have a fake
still fake :s13:

TeenTitan01

690 bucks. the price says it all omg

Rather pricey for a replica, actually.

At that price, I rather go for a Steinhart, a Squale or a Sumo.

At least I know I own something genuine and respectable among the WIS community.

ps. I just realised all three watches I suggested started with "S"... super! :D

xuan87

So how young bro? Trust me. Dont keep rotate 500 watches already. Just get ready monies we go buy seiko GS. SBGE001 really well made.

Hahaha that's not going to happen in the near future. Maybe 10 years later can come find me, I'll be ready to buy a GS ;)

That gentleman is a wise man. :D

Someone in the comments complained that it's too easy to complete this exercise with all Seikos and I agree! Seiko is my current poison :s13:

Small bro, u sure u truly satisfied with a $200 watch a not? Save some more save longer hoot a good one better right? Y save so much for a new house?

If I buy a Rolex now, I can sell the Rolex a few years later and buy half a Rolex. If I buy a house, I can sell it a few years ago and buy another house plus 10 Rolex (or maybe less Rolex and throw in a PP instead :D)

A $200 watch will give me more satisfaction than a Rolex because I will be getting more value for my money. To give a VERY crude and simplistic example:

1) Breakdown a $10,000 Rolex = $500 (raw material plus assembly cost) + $4500 (overhead cost, distributorship and dealership cost) + $5000 (marketing budget, all the cost of commercials, ads and celebrity endorsement to create the brand)

vs a brand like CW or Steinhart:

1) Breakdown of a $1,000 CW/Steinhart: $500 (raw material plus assembly cost) + $400 (Overhead cost, sell direct) +$100 (minimal ad cost)

Of course, I'm leaving out things like R&D and designing etc but it should show my point.

This is the reason why Christopher Ward started CW. He was in the watch industry and saw that big brands were selling watches at 20 to 50 times the raw material and assembly cost of the watches because of additional costs that come with being a famous brand. He said for CW watches, he's selling them at 2 to 5 times of the actual raw material costs.

This is another reason why microbrands can thrive as a niche product among watch hobbyists, because only watch hobbyists can see the true value in a watch while the general public can only see the branding.

yea.. thts y i bought the racing green bezel. looking forward to your wrist shot:D

The racing green bezel is my 2nd fav! Fav is still a more boring black on black with brown leather strap.

Will post my wrist shot but unfortunately won't be so soon haha.

gaoxing84

Bro xuan87, rmb to factor in storage and limited wrist time, too!

Trust me, in time to come, you'll want/need to consolidate, so choose wisely so you don't end up having to sell at huge loss/donate watches away just to make space and find wrist time.

ya, i got 5 or 6 watches, hard to give them wrist time already.
haha i think a couple of solid one is the way to go.
sometimes have to sell some to make way for new one.

my speedy is seeing significantly less wrist time. i only wear once or twice every 2 weeks.

if i ever hoot mm300, i think my 007 also will see less wrist time. hahaha.

now mostly wearing pebble, 007 and tissot for work. weekend then bust out the pam and speedy (pam more) haha

gaoxing84

Rather pricey for a replica, actually.

At that price, I rather go for a Steinhart, a Squale or a Sumo.

At least I know I own something genuine and respectable among the WIS community.

ps. I just realised all three watches I suggested started with "S"... super! :D

but funny that a person can come ask if its fake when the price already says it all.

unless the guy trying to sell at 11k then maybe you come ask.
690 LOL no need talk confirm fake.
because no idiots will sell a SD or any rolex at like 5% of its value. haha

soilwork

Bro soilwork, the dai kors and the dai lohs here are the people with the impressive watches and atas life. And good for them I say! I've to make do with affordable watches. Call me uncle I happy liao. :)

MINDEAF can always throw anyone under rifleman, then have to LLST liao (oops, you excuse arms, so maybe you more heng). Just lie low and hope that you don't get call back until 40yo, then wait to MR/ROD. :D

hahaha i still crossing my fingers they call me back

Be it RM, seiko, casio. To respect all watches and that is respecting the person as well :) like what you say, i am happy i can talk to people whom own 100 watches, people whom own RM and people passionate about seikos etc etc. all are dai kors in their own ways and thumbs up to you guys :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.